tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/10/2015 : HANGMAN'S CHAIR - This is not Supposed to be Positive

HANGMAN'S CHAIR

This is not Supposed to be Positive

MusicCD
DoomStoner Rock

[80/100]   

Musicfearsatan
06/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This doom/stoner rock band from Paris just made its fourth album. The first thing you notice is that it sounds a bit lighter than their previous work. The vocals are almost completely clean and much more melodic than before. That is something remarkable in this genre, although they retain their own style and individuality.

Despite the fact that the songs remain quite heavy, the different approach gives the songs a much wider and more attractive sound. At times, the long pieces remind us of Steak Number Eight (Belgian band-ed.). Their music also contains some influences from bands such as Mastodon (the guitars) or Alice in Chains (the vocals). The clean vocals fit very well with the dark and gloomy atmosphere.

A good album that is available as a double LP. A tour is expected in 2016.

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/10/2015


NL

Deze doom-/stonerrockband uit Parijs is ondertussen aan zijn vierde release toe. Het eerste wat opvalt is dat dit album wat lichter klinkt dan hun voorgaande werk. Ook de vocalen zijn bijna helemaal clean en veel melodieuzer dan vroeger, wat opvallend is in dit genre, ofschoon ze hun stijl en eigenheid behouden.

Ondanks het feit dat de songs vrij zwaar blijven, is er deze keer voor een andere benadering gekozen waardoor de nummers een wijder, maar ook aantrekkelijerk geluid krijgen. Bij momenten doen de lange en uitgesponnen stukken je wat aan Steak Number Eight denken. Ook bevat hun muziek heel wat invloeden van bands zoals Mastodon (het gitaarwerk) of Alice in Chains (de zang). De cleane zang past trouwens zeer goed bij de donkere en sombere sfeer.

Een goed album dus dat verkrijgbaar is als dubbel-lp. Een tournee wordt in 2016 verwacht.

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/10/2015


06/10/2015 : HANGMAN'S CHAIR - This is not Supposed to be Positive 06/10/2015 : HANGMAN'S CHAIR - This is not Supposed to be Positive

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret
08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo