tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : HANTE - This Fog That Never Ends

HANTE

This Fog That Never Ends

MusicCD
Cold WaveMinimalSynth Wave

[86/100]   

Synth Religion
09/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

Hante is the solo project of Hélène de Thoury. A name that might ring a bell among our loyal readers. She used to be involved in the French project Phosphor. Nowadays, Hélène forms Minuit Machine with the fantastic singer Amandine Stioui. At the end of 2015, the Paris based duo released the second lp Violent Rains. My collegue praised that album, and that was absolutely justified. A few months later (January 2016) This Fog That Never Ends followed, Hante's second album.

Opening track Bienvenue En Enfer welcomes us with gloomy synths and a mysterious semi-parlando. In Hate Vs. Love you hear that typical 80's melancholy. In In Cold Water, Hélène's voice sounds melancholic. And the dark Noir sounds nostalgic with metallic percussion.

Burning features Box von Düe of Box And The Twins, a Cologne based band, formerly known as Cocktail Twins. My Destruction has a catchy synth melody reminiscent of Depeche Mode. My personal favourite Infinite Particles Of Us is followed by the slow title track that closes this album.

Musically, Hante and Minuit Machine are quite simular. Both are bleak, dark, melancholic and make minimal synthpop. I really do wonder why Hélène decided to make a solo album, as I think that Amandine could lift a song like Shadow Boxing to a higher level. But I admit that this is quite unfair to say, as after all, there is little to criticize in Helene's vocal performance.

This Fog That Never Ends is a beautiful and vivacious record. No fillers, but 10 strong tracks. Fans of Linea Aspera, Sixth June, Winter Severity Index and Minuit Machine can buy this album without hesitation.

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


NL

Hante is het soloproject van Hélène de Thoury, een naam die bij de trouwe lezers misschien een belletje doet rinkelen. Voorheen was Hélène immers betrokken bij het Franse synthproject Phosphor. Tegenwoordig vormt ze met de fantastische zangeres Amandine Stioui het heerlijke Minuit Machine. Eind 2015 verscheen hun tweede album, Violent Rains. Mijn collega stak volkomen terecht de loftrompet. Enkele maanden later (januari 2016) volgde This Fog That Never Ends, Hantes tweede album.

Openingstrack Bienvenue En Enfer verwelkomt ons met heerlijke sombere synths en een mysterieus semi-parlando. In Hate Vs. Love hoor je die typische jarentachtigmelancholie. In In Cold Water hoort men tevens de melancholie in Hélènes stem en ook het donkere Noir klinkt heerlijk nostalgisch met metaalachtige percussie.

Tijdens Burning wordt Hélène vocaal bijgestaan door Box von Düe van Box And The Twins, de band uit Keulen die voorheen Cocktail Twins heette. De aanstekelijke synthmelodie van My Destruction herrinnert me aan Depeche Mode. Na mijn persoonlijke favoriet Infinite Particles Of Us, volgt de trage titeltrack die het album afsluit.

Muzikaal sluit Hante nauw aan bij Minuit Machine. Sombere, donkere, melancholische en minimal aandoende synthpop. Ik vraag me dan ook af waarom geopteerd is om al deze songs solo uit te brengen. Hoewel Hélène de Thoury vocaal zeker haar mannetje staat, kan ik me toch niet van het gevoel ontdoen dat Amandine bijv. Shadow Boxing naar een nog hoger niveau had kunnen tillen. Al is het misschien unfair van mij om deze vergelijking te maken, want zoals aangegeven valt er weinig aan te merken op Hélènes vocale prestaties.

This Fog That Never Ends is een mooie meeslepende plaat zonder dieptepunten. 10 sterke tracks. Liefhebbers van Linea Aspera, Sixth June, Winter Severity Index en Minuit Machine kunnen zich dit album zonder aarzelen aanschaffen.

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
CREMATORY • Monument
PARRALOX • Wildlife
HELFIR • Still Bleeding
TANKS AND TEARS • Know Yourself
OLD SCHOOL UNION • Perjantai
ULAN BATOR • Abracadabra
DREAM THEATER • Brussels, Vorst Nationaal (13/03/2016)
TRACER • Kavka, Antwerpen (14/03/2016)
THERAPY? • Tides
ATOMIC NEON • The Bodanegra Session

 

Other reviews from HANTE
HANTE • No Hard Feelings
HANTE • Ten Albums That Changed My life

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + MINIMAL + SYNTH WAVE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electric Voice II Compilation
NEWCLEAR WAVES • Newclear Waves

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
SYGO CRIES • End Of A Century
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
ENZO KREFT • Control
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control

Music reviews

26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris
17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
18
07
Today it’s 33 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace
23
07
NORMA LOY
STRANGE SUMMER' (BAPHOMET)
22
07
ALLES
My