tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

16/12/2015 : HARBOUR OF SOULS - Mountain Of Fire

HARBOUR OF SOULS

Mountain Of Fire

MusicCD (EP)
Hard RockMetal

[75/100]   

Self-released
16/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Zeeland (located in the south-west of the Netherlands-ed.) has more to offer than water, wind and the beach. Just listen to Mountain Of Fire, the EP by Harbours of Souls. This five piece hard rock/heavy metal band started as a hobby project in 2010 when they supported Peter Pan Speedrock in their home town. After many positive reactions and some more gigs, the band recorded an EP in Eindhoven with producer Pieter Kloos.

We hear some great riffs and groovy hard rock. On the opener Mountain of Fire it feels like you’re back in the glory days of 70's hard rock. You know bands like Van Halen, Led Zeppelin, Rainbow or Black Sabbath. It is clear where their inspiration comes from, but in the case of Harbours Of Soul that never is a disadvantage.

The EP is produced in a perfect way, while the vocals, that are reminiscent of the young Bruce Dickinson or David Lee Roth, are excellent too! If you like nostalgia or just some good old hard rock/heavy metal, then the four songs on Mountain Of Fire surely will please you! I do not know how they sound live, but with this type of music, I’m sure they must be able to throw a party!

Wim GUILLEMYN
16/12/2015


NL

Dat Zeeland meer te bieden heeft dan water, wind en strand wordt na het beluisteren van deze ep van Harbours of Souls nog maar eens mooi bewezen. Deze vijfkoppige hardrock-/heavymetalband begon in 2010 als een hobbyproject in het voorprogramma van Peter Pan Speedrock in hun eigen stad. Na heel wat positieve reacties en meer shows trok de band dit jaar naar Eindhoven om er samen met producer Pieter Kloos een eerste ep op te nemen.

We horen vette riffs en groovy hardrock. Op de opener Mountain of Fire waan je je even weer in de hoogdagen van de jarenzeventighardrock. Je weet wel: Van Halen, Led Zeppelin, Rainbow of Black Sabbath. Het is duidelijk waar ze de mosterd gehaald hebben, maar voor Harbours Of Soul is dat allesbehalve een nadeel.

De ep heeft een stevige productie en met de zang, die doet denken aan de jonge Bruce Dickinson of David Lee Roth, zit alles goed! Vier lekkere songs met een ruig geluid als basis.

Indien je van nostalgie of gewoon oerdegelijke hardrock/metal houdt, dan zal deze ep je ongetwijfeld plezier bezorgen. Ik weet niet hoe ze live klinken, maar met deze muziek kunnen ze wellicht voor een feestje zorgen!

Wim GUILLEMYN
16/12/2015


 

Next reviews
MAUTIV • 1
THE GRAND GESTURES • Happy Holidays
ZOE ZANIAS (KELUAR) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
HELLHUMM • Random Damage Industry
ORANGE SECTOR • Monoton
SEIJ MINUS AÇ • Black Acuity Suddenly Diagonal
DEATH IN ROME • Barbie Girl/Pump Up The Jam
KRISTOFFER BOLANDER • I Forgive Nothing
ANDREW PETTIT • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
NOVEMBRE • Novembre

 

Other reviews from HARBOUR OF SOULS
HARBOUR OF SOULS • Mountain Of Fire

 

Same combination of genres: HARD ROCK + METAL
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
HIGHRIDER • Armageddon Rock
FIELDS OF TROY • Hardship
HEART ATTACK • Heart Revolution
DIEMONDS • Never Wanna Die
HUNTRESS • Static
CRUCIFIED BARBARA • In The Red

 

Same genre: HARD ROCK
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
CATHUBODUA • Opus I: Dawn
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
STEVE VAI • Leuven, Het Depot (17/06/2016)
JENNA JACOB • No Turning Back

 

Same genre: METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden
PSYCHO GENERATION + OST+FRONT • Eernegem, B52 (22/04/2016)

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
06
CARBON MARTYR Addresses Mankind & Technology With Debut Album
11
06
Darkwave Duo Band HANGING FREUD Speaks Of Loss And Transformation with 'Persona Normal'
11
06
30 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
10
06
30 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 43 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since in was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
06
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
11
06
ANIMAUX ANIME
Power
11
06
PATIENCE
The Church (Night School, 2016)
10
06
MIIKE SNOW
Genghis Khan
09
06
FAUNA TWIN
Water On Mars
08
06
PERSEPHONE
Downfall
07
06
CREMATORY
Ravens Calling