tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

11/09/2014 : HARMONY KORINE - Spring Breakers

HARMONY KORINE

Spring Breakers

MovieMovie classics
Coming Of AgeCrime

[95/100]   

Belga Films
11/09/2014, Didier BECU

EN

If you’re not an American changes might be high that you don’t know what a spring break is. Well, it’s a term for students. Somewhere in the middle of the year some take a break and party like a pig. The best place for that is of course the sunny beach from Florida. Everyone who once found the courage to watch 30 minutes of the dreadful MTV-product Jersey Shore knows what we’re talking about: brains at zero, drinking yourself in a coma and grab every woman you can!

In all honesty, the cover from Spring Breakers looks rather like a product you better avoid at all costs: four breathtaking babes in a daring bikini-pose. But beneath them is the name of Harmony Korine written: the man who since he wrote the script from Kids introduced us to a different kind of American youth. The same can be said about Spring Breakers: a movie that paralyses the viewer from the first to the very last second.

Four teenage girls (Selena Gomez, Vanessa Hudgens, Ashley Benson and Rachel Korine) are dreaming of the spring break of their life. The only thing they need is some cash. No worries though as they rob a local hamburger restaurant with a water pistol (!). Everything seems to go quite easy, but once they arrive in Florida things are getting morbid. The parties are extremely cool, but they cross the path of the criminal gangsta rapper Alien (James Franco): his room has more guns than a police station and he plays Scarface by De Palma on repeat! Once this macho has the four youngsters in his power, everything is lost. Only the deep catholic Faith can escape, the other three are doomed…

By using very hard techno Korine creates a dark atmosphere that nervously balances between brutal violence and decadent destruction. The performances are just genius. The director has chosen for the female roles stars who were previously seen in Disney-productions, so in a way their innocence bursts twice. Franco is once again impressive and proves that he belongs along with Matthew McConaughey to the top of his generation. Korine is a master in wrapping things up. The glittering neon lights reminds us of Michael Mann’s Miami Vice op, while the (lovely) Britney Spears-ballads give it an irresistible kitsch touch.

I have noticed that this year I already have watched this movie 5 times. This might say something about the way I’m spending my time, but also about the quality from this not to be missed masterpiece!

Didier BECU
11/09/2014


NL

De springbreak kun je het best vergelijken met wat wij als “de honderd dagen” kennen. Ergens middenin het schooljaar grijpen studenten de kans schoon om zonder pardon het varken uit te hangen. Deze springbreak zoals Amerikanen dat noemen vier je het best aan de zonovergoten stranden van Florida. Wie ooit de moed heeft gevonden om eens een halfuurtje naar het MTV-vehikel Jersey Shore te kijken weet wat we hiermee bedoelen. Het verstand op nul, zuipen en met iedere beschikbare babe lekker de koffer induiken.

Eerlijkheidshalve ziet de hoes van Spring Breakers er ook zo uit: vier bloedstollende meiden in een uitdagende bikinipose. Alleen staat daar ook de naam van ene Harmony Korine onder: de man die sinds hij het script voor Kids schreef als geen ander de Amerikaanse jeugd op de korrel neemt. Dat is in Spring Breakers niet anders, een film die je van de eerste tot de laatste seconde murw slaat.

Vier meisjes (Selena Gomez, Vanessa Hudgens, Ashley Benson en Rachel Korine) willen dat ook allemaal wel eens meemaken, alleen de poen ontbreekt. Niets kan hun evenwel stoppen en op een hondsbrutale wijze overvallen ze met een waterpistool (!) een lokale hamburgertent. Eens in Florida aangekomen loopt het aardig mis. De feestjes zijn wel ongaaf vet, maar de vier tieners stuiten ook op crimineel Alien (James Franco): een gangsterrapper die in zijn woonkamer Scarface van De Palma op repeat heeft staan! Eens de macho de vier jonge meiden in zijn macht heeft zijn ze verloren. Alleen de diepgelovige Faith weet de dans te ontspringen, voor de andere drie is het te laat.

Door middel van loeiharde techno creëert Korine een duistere sfeer die nerveus tussen meedogenloos geweld en decadente destructiedrift balanceert. De vertolkingen zijn ronduit fenomenaal. De regisseur heeft doelbewust voor tienersterretjes die voorheen alleen maar in bijv. Disney-producties te zien waren gekozen: hun onschuld wordt daarmee dubbel aan diggelen geslagen. Franco imponeert en toont dat hij samen met Matthew McConaughey tot de top van zijn generatie behoort. Korine is ook een meester in het verpakken. De neonlichten roepen herinneringen aan Michael Mann’s Miami Vice op, terwijl de ballades van Britney Spears de film een onweerstaanbare kitscherige dimensie geven.

Ik heb me er zelf op betrapt dat deze film dit jaar ondertussen al vijf keer in mijn lader is beland. Het zegt misschien iets over mijn tijd, maar vooral over de kwaliteit ervan. Spring Breakers moet je beleven!

Didier BECU
11/09/2014


11/09/2014 : HARMONY KORINE - Spring Breakers 11/09/2014 : HARMONY KORINE - Spring Breakers 11/09/2014 : HARMONY KORINE - Spring Breakers 11/09/2014 : HARMONY KORINE - Spring Breakers 11/09/2014 : HARMONY KORINE - Spring Breakers 11/09/2014 : HARMONY KORINE - Spring Breakers 11/09/2014 : HARMONY KORINE - Spring Breakers 11/09/2014 : HARMONY KORINE - Spring Breakers 11/09/2014 : HARMONY KORINE - Spring Breakers 11/09/2014 : HARMONY KORINE - Spring Breakers 11/09/2014 : HARMONY KORINE - Spring Breakers 11/09/2014 : HARMONY KORINE - Spring Breakers 11/09/2014 : HARMONY KORINE - Spring Breakers 11/09/2014 : HARMONY KORINE - Spring Breakers 11/09/2014 : HARMONY KORINE - Spring Breakers

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace
23
07
NORMA LOY
STRANGE SUMMER' (BAPHOMET)
22
07
ALLES
My