tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

10/04/2017 : HAUSCHKA - Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017

HAUSCHKA

Live in the AB, Brussels

07.04.2017

Concert
ClassicalExperimental

[90/100]   
10/04/2017, Ward DE PRINS

EN

Last Friday, prepared piano virtuoso Hauschka presented his new album What If in Ancienne Belgique in Brussels, in the context of the BRDCST festival.

Volkers new album is his look into the future, questions and expectations he has for a world thirty years hence. For its presentation he had two player pianos in addition to the prepared piano.

To avoid having to re-build the energy and absorption of a song, each time from scratch, he chose to play a long set of more than 75 minutes, in which all the songs were transformed in one amazing whole.

On a huge screen slow moving abstract images were displayed behind him while he played the prepared piano and occasionally used the strength of the two pianolas to immerse us slowly yet deeper and deeper into his universe. Music, video and lighting were wonderfully balanced and with a trance-effect we were all far away in his mesmerising future for more than an hour.

Hauschka is a class apart and even though you can hear his stunning compositions on CD or LP, it remains the live experience that demonstrates how magically this man creates and shares his own sound universe with us. I look forward to his next visit to Belgium!

Ward DE PRINS
10/04/2017


NL

Afgelopen vrijdag kwam prepared piano virtuoos Hauschka zijn nieuwe album What If voorstellen in de Brusselse Ancienne Belgique in het kader van het BRDCST festival.

Volkers nieuwe album is zijn blik in de toekomst, vragen en verwachtingen die hij heeft voor een wereld, dertig jaar verder. Voor de presentatie ervan had hij 2 pianola’s (automatisch spelende piano’s) bij, naast de prepared (vleugel)piano waar hij zelf op speelt.

Om niet steeds opnieuw de energie en absorptie van een nummer vanaf nul te moeten opbouwen, koos hij ervoor om één lange set van ruim 75 minuten te spelen, waarin alle nummers tot één verbluffend geheel werden omgetoverd.

Op een enorm scherm achter hem werden trage abstracte bewegende beelden getoond terwijl hijzelf piano speelde en af en toe de kracht van de twee pianola’s mee inzette om ons langzaam steeds dieper en dieper in zijn universum onder te dompelen. Muziek, beeld en belichting waren heerlijk in balans, en met trance-effect waren we allen meer dan een uur even ver weg in zijn betoverende toekomst.

Hauschka is een klasse apart & ook al kan je zijn verbluffende composities beluisteren via CD of LP, toch blijft het de live-ervaring die aantoont hoe magisch deze man zijn eigen klankuniversum creëert & deelt met ons. Ik kijk al uit naar zijn volgende passage in België!

Ward DE PRINS
10/04/2017


10/04/2017 : HAUSCHKA - Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017 10/04/2017 : HAUSCHKA - Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017 10/04/2017 : HAUSCHKA - Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017 10/04/2017 : HAUSCHKA - Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017 10/04/2017 : HAUSCHKA - Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017 10/04/2017 : HAUSCHKA - Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017

 

Next reviews
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
LUDUS • Nue au Soleil (Completement)
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN • Damage and Joy
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN • Some postpunk, indie, coldwave bands to discover at WGT 2017 (Leipzig, D)
TEARFUL MOON • In The Dark Morning
ONCEHUMAN • Evolution
LUXVID • Trench
HOCICO, SHAARGHOT • Magasin 4 - 29 maart 2017
SET BEFORE US • Enigmas

 

Same combination of genres: CLASSICAL + EXPERIMENTAL
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
ANDREW HEATH • Flux
ZEUS B HELD • Logic Of Coincidence
BRUNO SANFILIPPO • Upon Contact (Reworked)
EBERHARD WEBER • Encore
BRUNO SANFILIPPO • Inside Life
CATHERINE GRAINDORGE • The Secret of US All
LINGOUF • Doéme
DAVID SYLVIAN • Died in the Wool

 

Same genre: CLASSICAL
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
MESH • Live At Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
PENGUIN CAFE • The Imperfect Sea
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH • Motetten (JardinDesVoix & Barokensemble Aspetti Musicali o.l.v. Koen Lamberechts, Gent, Sint-Elisabethkerk, 28/05/2016)

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

Music reviews

02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror
27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
08
Alaskan Dark Punk/Death Rock Duo, CLIFF AND IVY Bring The Night With New EP!
02
08
Darkwave/Alternative Band VASELYNE Drops 'Waiting To Exhale' - A Story Of Perseverance
01
08
Industrial Band PANIC LIFT Presents Themed Series & Limited Edition EPs
01
08
This month, 38 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...

PHOTOS

01
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
01
08
WISBORG
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
08
AMMO
Rose + Crown
05
08
NITZER EBB
Let Your Body Learn
04
08
CASPIAN
Rioseco
03
08
THE SPECTORS
Clyde & Bonnie
02
08
STAKBABBER
Black Pony
01
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us