tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

10/04/2017 : HAUSCHKA - Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017

HAUSCHKA

Live in the AB, Brussels

07.04.2017

Concert
ClassicalExperimental

[90/100]   
10/04/2017, Ward DE PRINS

EN

Last Friday, prepared piano virtuoso Hauschka presented his new album What If in Ancienne Belgique in Brussels, in the context of the BRDCST festival.

Volkers new album is his look into the future, questions and expectations he has for a world thirty years hence. For its presentation he had two player pianos in addition to the prepared piano.

To avoid having to re-build the energy and absorption of a song, each time from scratch, he chose to play a long set of more than 75 minutes, in which all the songs were transformed in one amazing whole.

On a huge screen slow moving abstract images were displayed behind him while he played the prepared piano and occasionally used the strength of the two pianolas to immerse us slowly yet deeper and deeper into his universe. Music, video and lighting were wonderfully balanced and with a trance-effect we were all far away in his mesmerising future for more than an hour.

Hauschka is a class apart and even though you can hear his stunning compositions on CD or LP, it remains the live experience that demonstrates how magically this man creates and shares his own sound universe with us. I look forward to his next visit to Belgium!

Ward DE PRINS
10/04/2017


NL

Afgelopen vrijdag kwam prepared piano virtuoos Hauschka zijn nieuwe album What If voorstellen in de Brusselse Ancienne Belgique in het kader van het BRDCST festival.

Volkers nieuwe album is zijn blik in de toekomst, vragen en verwachtingen die hij heeft voor een wereld, dertig jaar verder. Voor de presentatie ervan had hij 2 pianola’s (automatisch spelende piano’s) bij, naast de prepared (vleugel)piano waar hij zelf op speelt.

Om niet steeds opnieuw de energie en absorptie van een nummer vanaf nul te moeten opbouwen, koos hij ervoor om één lange set van ruim 75 minuten te spelen, waarin alle nummers tot één verbluffend geheel werden omgetoverd.

Op een enorm scherm achter hem werden trage abstracte bewegende beelden getoond terwijl hijzelf piano speelde en af en toe de kracht van de twee pianola’s mee inzette om ons langzaam steeds dieper en dieper in zijn universum onder te dompelen. Muziek, beeld en belichting waren heerlijk in balans, en met trance-effect waren we allen meer dan een uur even ver weg in zijn betoverende toekomst.

Hauschka is een klasse apart & ook al kan je zijn verbluffende composities beluisteren via CD of LP, toch blijft het de live-ervaring die aantoont hoe magisch deze man zijn eigen klankuniversum creëert & deelt met ons. Ik kijk al uit naar zijn volgende passage in België!

Ward DE PRINS
10/04/2017


10/04/2017 : HAUSCHKA - Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017 10/04/2017 : HAUSCHKA - Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017 10/04/2017 : HAUSCHKA - Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017 10/04/2017 : HAUSCHKA - Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017 10/04/2017 : HAUSCHKA - Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017 10/04/2017 : HAUSCHKA - Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017

 

Next reviews
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
LUDUS • Nue au Soleil (Completement)
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN • Damage and Joy
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN • Some postpunk, indie, coldwave bands to discover at WGT 2017 (Leipzig, D)
TEARFUL MOON • In The Dark Morning
ONCEHUMAN • Evolution
LUXVID • Trench
HOCICO, SHAARGHOT • Magasin 4 - 29 maart 2017
SET BEFORE US • Enigmas

 

Same combination of genres: CLASSICAL + EXPERIMENTAL
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
ANDREW HEATH • Flux
ZEUS B HELD • Logic Of Coincidence
BRUNO SANFILIPPO • Upon Contact (Reworked)
EBERHARD WEBER • Encore
BRUNO SANFILIPPO • Inside Life
CATHERINE GRAINDORGE • The Secret of US All
LINGOUF • Doéme
DAVID SYLVIAN • Died in the Wool

 

Same genre: CLASSICAL
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
MESH • Live At Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
PENGUIN CAFE • The Imperfect Sea
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH • Motetten (JardinDesVoix & Barokensemble Aspetti Musicali o.l.v. Koen Lamberechts, Gent, Sint-Elisabethkerk, 28/05/2016)

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

Music reviews

05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny
19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby
18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!
03
05
On this day, 16 years ago Nine Inch Nails released [WITH_TEETH]!
02
05
32 years of Disintegration!
02
05
43 years 'United'! TG's debut single!
01
05
Dark Ambient Act LONG THE NIGHT Reveals The Ominous & Melancholic Illusion
30
04
Dark Ambient Act IN THE ABSENCE OF WORDS Reveals Their Compilation, A Collection I

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party
05
05
SEVERE ILLUSION
Contribution
04
05
KIM WILDE
Cambodia
03
05
SYD 31
Bulldoze Everything
02
05
THE CURE
10:15 Saturday Night
01
05
BOYTRONIC
Time After Midnight
30
04
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
God Is Dead