tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : HAUTVILLE - Mater Dolorosa

HAUTVILLE

Mater Dolorosa

MusicCD
NeoclassicalNeofolk

[86/100]   

SPQR label
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

Music can be wonderful, even if you don’t you understand the lyrics. Yours truly is not proud that he does not speak Italian, but at least I understand the beauty and the emotion of the music. In 2006 Hauteville began as an acoustic project, but the Italian band is a neo-folk band now. Mater Dolorosa is the fourth release in four years and just like the previous one (Le Moire), it has been released on the famous SQPR label.

Dis Pater immediately seeks the way to your heart. The heavenly voice of Simona Bonavita is beautiful, the acoustic neofolk guitar by Leonardo Lonigro and the keyboards by Francesco Dinella sound just perfect. Neoclassical music with a dash of neofolk, and done as only Italians can.

On this kind of releases you often hear a bunch of similar songs, but Hauteville tries to be different on each track, and it always sounds moving. Artemide is almost classic and can be compared with the best of the compatriots of Ataraxia.

In Pietà E Constanza, you hear that the members used to be in prog rock bands, the delicious guitars refer tot the 70s. The song has a hippie feel, but that goes for all neofolk releases in a way. There is also tragedy on this CD. Le Ombre begins with a monologue and grows into a divine track with heart-breaking strings. Title track Mater Dolorosa sounds even more touching thanks to the guest vocals of tenor William Matteuzzi.

La Sposa is more traditional folk, but due to the symbiosis of the French and Italian language, it remains special. What we did not hear on this exceptional release is the sound of the trumpet. Giuilo Amico Padula uses them on Per Niente Non Sentire.

In the closing track we hear the fragile voice of Simona with a minimal piano (by Arturo Stalteri): simple, fragile, but pure beauty.

On this CD with eight tracks, you hear neoclassical (or if you like neofolk) of a very high standard!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
MARIO USAI (CLAN OF XYMOX) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
FABRICE RAJNA (FACTICE FACTORY) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
DECODED FEEDBACK • Dark Passenger
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
THE ASSOCIATES • The Affectionate Punch
AMBASSADOR 21 • Revelation
A-WA • Habib Galbi
BOOTBLACKS • Veins
DOUBLE ECHO • Ancient Youth
NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same combination of genres: NEOCLASSICAL + NEOFOLK
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
DARK AWAKE • Imago Typhonis
SIEBEN • Briton EP
JESSICA BARAN-SUREL • Aremorica – Land of Elves
ROMA AMOR • Una Turbida Estate
VERNEY 1826 • The Ghosts Of Yesterday
JOZEF VAN WISSEM • It Is Time For You To Return
AMBER ASYLUM, CAMERATA MEDIOLANENSE, EMPYRIUM, DARKHER, TENHI • Prophecy Fest @ Balver Höhle in Balve 19/09/2015
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Black Summer Choirs

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016

 

Same genre: NEOFOLK
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
DEATH IN JUNE • THE CORN YEARS
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Ménage à quatre
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
ROME • The Hyperion Machine

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)