tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

07/08/2014 : HEIMATAERDE - Kaltwaerts

HEIMATAERDE

Kaltwaerts

MusicCD
Dark ElectroElectro RockFolk / Ethnic / TribalMedieval

[95/100]   

Out Of Line
07/08/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Since I noticed their remix of a XMH track I told our editor that I wanted to review them: the way they (deconstructed and reconstructed) mixed: bagpipes, electro and guitars were just so appealing! I wanted more!

The Medieval-Electro-pioneers open up a new chapter of their saga, driving the listener on a journey into the eternal frost on a unique foundation of synthetic beats and deep sequencers, garnished with medieval instruments, walls of guitars and choral chants.

The new chapter in the fantastic journey of Ashlar von Megalon and his fearless friars seamlessly continues the story of the previous album releases of Heimataerde. On “Kaltwaerts” (= into the cold), the dark antagonist Zebaoth has captured friar Andreas and is now setting out to bring fear and horror unto the world. The brotherhood wants to stop this evil force at all costs and embarks into the cold to destroy the demon once and for all times and to rescue the friar. In this, Heimataerde manage to shake the floor yet again with a unique mix of club-compatible Electro-sounds and medieval atmosphere, while captivating the listener with an epic and moving story, at the same time. The mix of modern sounds, fantasy and long past eras has turned out even bigger, more powerful and fascinating, this time around.

Reviewing this great one without handing out the above information is simply not done. I enjoyed it from the very start until the last note! It still sounds fresh and new with all the above mentioned elements!

The opening track for example: 'Es ist nicht vorbei' has great vocal chants and a soft but very hypnotic sound, almost a sacred track! The percussions are also greatly appreciated! Whilst the next track offers us: electro, dubstep, guitars and chanting that powers up a great clubber 'Bruderschaft'. This is just another proof of their great mastering of crafting a musical jewel! An even greater clubber (with great electric violins) is the main title track 'Kaltwaerts'.

'Keine Helden' is one of the most remarkable tracks on the album: it sounds like a techno track until the bagpipes jump in, but return to what we call in Belgium 'Botsautomuziek'! If our own national music station don't like this one, than they can go screw themselves and dance alone on their track 'Dance with the Devils' (Ghunter D)! Pure fun in club land!

'Verdammt Nochmal' is more into melancholy and that is again my biggest musical love! A lot of bans can learn a lot from a track like 'Heut ist ein guter Tag', just listen to the mix of all the influences and instruments! Pure gold! 'In der Dunkelheit' has even some Goethes Erben influence! More melancholy, bagpipes, guitars and electro with 'Schwesterlein'. I cherish the melodic sound and the rhythm! No clue what the instrument is, but it has a certain Arabic touch.

 'Weiß schwarz' could be the next Rammstein! Just listen to the track! The singing Arabic lady adds a nice extra! In 'Einfach so' is a nice one as last regular track as with 'Rossreiter' the end story is told.

I had my fun and don't regret it! I hope they keep growing and keep looking for a wider and newer sound!

 

Track listing:

Album CD:

  1. Es ist nicht vorbei

  2. Bruderschaft

  3. Kaltwaerts

  4. Die Wanderschaft

  5. Sohn

  6. 1000 Meere weit

  7. Keine Helden

  8. Verdammt noch mal

  9. Heut ist ein guter Tag

  10. In der Dunkelheit

  11. Schwesterlein

  12. Weiß schwarz

  13. Einfach so

  14. Rossreiter

Filip VAN MUYLEM
07/08/2014


 

Next reviews
ATTRITION • One Horse Rider : Reprise
AKIVA GOLDSMAN • Winter's Tale
DARREN ARONOFSKY • Noah
ALEX GIBNEY • The Armstrong Lie
MICHAEL MANN • Thief
DAVID CRONENBERG • CINEMA: Maps To The Stars
RAINER WERNER FASSBINDER • ARTICLE : Fassbinder-A rebel with a cause.
FRED WALTON • April Fool's Day
VOGON POETRY • More things to do in zero gravity EP
CASTLEFEST 2014 • People, people and atmosphere

 

Other reviews from HEIMATAERDE
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
HEIMATAERDE • Hick Hack Hackebeil

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo

 

Same genre: MEDIEVAL
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EPHYRA • Along The Path
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Mother Moon
SCHWARZBLUT • Judas EP
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret