tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

17/05/2011 : HEKATE - Die Welt der dunklen Gärten

HEKATE

Die Welt der dunklen Gärten

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalNeofolk

[93/100]   

Prophecy Productions
17/05/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

Seven years after their last release, German neofolk band Hekate bring us their fifth album.

“Die Welt der Dunkle Gardens” is more than just a collection of neofolk compositions. The strong production by Patrick Damiani of Rome and the excellent lyrics lift the level of the songs quite high. Susanne Grosche and Axel Menz's vocals, supported by the trademark Hekate percussion, shine through.

The disc begins with "Byronic Hero", their neofolk version of a poem by Lord Byron. Axel's narrative voice immediately sets the mood. “Jardin d'Anaïs” accentuates the melancholic nature of this disc, with Susan revealing in French how she dreams about me (Je rêve de toi, Je ne t'oublie pas. Si tu rêves de moi? Tu m’as dans ta mémoire?). This atmospheric music continues with “In My Garden” and floats gently into “Soul Journey”, with its oriental influences and delicious percussion. You do crave to see them in a sun-kissed concert.

But then dark clouds threaten. Darker and more melancholic, the ensemble continues with a slow-building, mystical “Sanctus”. The sinister, bombastic and explosive “Per aspera ad astra” (through hardships to the stars) is the continuation of, and their musical tribute to painter Karl Wilhelm Diefenbach. The beautiful cover was also inspired by the work of this representative of Symbolism.

The album keeps delivering one gem after another. As the quality of this production is so good, I should really mention every song on it. But that would make this review too long.

The album ends beautifully with “House of God”, focusing on trancelike percussion, Axel's narrative voice and soaring synthesizers finally triumph us (as if we still needed convincing).

Hekate is back with a great album! Surprise yourself (or someone else) quickly!

Ward DE PRINS
17/05/2011


NL

Hekate, de Duitse neofolk formatie brengt zeven jaar na hun laatste release haar vijfde album uit.

“Die Welt der dunklen Gärten” is echter meer dan zomaar een verzameling neofolk composities. Een sterke productie door Patrick Damiani van Rome en de uitmuntende songteksten tillen de songs naar een hoog niveau. De vocalen van Susanne Grosche en Axel Menz, ondersteund door de typische Hekate percussie mogen ook hier weer uitblinken.

Het schijfje begint met “Byronic Hero”, hun neofolk versie van een gedicht van Lord Byron en brengt ons met de verhalende stem van Axel onmiddellijk in de mood. “Jardin d’Anaïs” mag daarna het melancholisch karakter van dit schijfje onderstrepen waarbij Suzanne in het Frans verhaalt hoe ze over me droomt (Je rêve de toi, Je ne t'oublie pas. Si tu rêves de moi? Tu m’as dans ta mémoire?). Met “In My garden” kabbelt deze sfeervolle muziek rustig verder om over te gaan in “Seelenreise” dat met zijn oriëntaalse invloeden en overheerlijke percussie je doet hunkeren naar een zonovergoten concertje van hun.

Maar dan trekken de donkere wolken samen. Grauwer en meer melancholisch vervolgt het gezelschap met het langzaam opbouwende, bezwerende “Sanctus”. Het dreigende, bombastische en explosieve “Per aspera ad astra” (door moeilijkheden naar de sterren) is er de voorzetting van, en hun muzikale hommage aan schilder Karl Wilhelm Diefenbach. Ook voor de mooie hoes heeft het gezelschap zich gebaseerd op de werken van deze vertegenwoordiger van het symbolisme.

Het plaatje blijft de ene parel na de andere opleveren. Om er recht aan te doen zou ik eigenlijk elke song apart moeten vermelden en bespreken, maar dat zou ons toch iets te ver leiden.

Er wordt in mooiheid geëindigd met “House of God”, waarop de fantastische repetitieve percussie, Axels narratieve stem en zweverige synthesizers ons definitief overtuigen (voor zover dat nog nodig was).

Hekate is terug met een parel van een plaatje! Verras snel jezelf (of iemand anders)! 

Ward DE PRINS
17/05/2011


 

Next reviews
OHGR • Undeveloped
SPECTRA*PARIS • FRIDAY THE 13TH | KORTRIJK | DE KREUN | 13/05/2011 | When indus meets beauty
DER PLAN • Normalette Surprise
THE NEON JUDGEMENT • Early Tapes
PAIL • Faith in the void
SIXTH JUNE • Back for a day EP
//TENSE// • No escape 12'inch
TOM'S MIDNIGHT GARDEN • To kill a klown, complete 1984 studio sessions
CHARLES BAUDELAIRE • Les fleurs du mal
SCHLEIMER K • Wounded Wood

 

Other reviews from HEKATE
HEKATE • Black Easter 2016

 

Same combination of genres: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL + NEOFOLK
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
SOL INVICTUS • Mr. Cruel
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO, IN SLAUGHTER NATIVES, ROME, TRIARI, MENTALPLASTIC BODYFILLER, EMPUSAE, DEAD MAN'S HILL & MR. MANUVA • Porta Nigra, 1/6/2013, Aarschot, Belgium
CURRENT 93 • Honeysuckle AEons
BLOOD AXIS • Born Again
ARTEFACTUM • Foxgloves & Bluebells

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015

 

Same genre: NEOFOLK
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
DEATH IN JUNE • THE CORN YEARS
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Ménage à quatre
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
ROME • The Hyperion Machine

Music reviews

07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret
08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo
07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party
05
05
SEVERE ILLUSION
Contribution