tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

31/03/2012 : HENKE - Herz (EP)

HENKE

Herz (EP)

MusicCD
Dark WaveGothic

[86/100]   

SPV
31/03/2012, Ward DE PRINS

EN

I never liked the EPs of Henke. And so also this one, Herz. There’s only one reason for it: Henke’s compositions are always great and an EP is way too short to bring or give you the perfect mood for it, and it always leaves you hungry yearning for more.

However, playing in on repeat, gave me the intensity a release of Henke deserves.

Title track Herz opens the EP. Romantic piano playing and violins build up a slow & beautiful ballad where Henke pontificates about the human heart and the feeling of loss & solitude.

That same feeling can be found in Heroes, a masterpiece from David Bowie. Normally I would recommend people not to try to cover the true great classic rock songs, but Oswald Henke reconstructs the song in his own beautiful way. In Oswalds recreation, the basics of the song remain the same as the original, but he gently whispers the words toward his opponent, Sonja Kraushofer (Coma Divine, L'Âme Immortelle). She takes over the female part with powerful and highly intense vocals. The result is a creation of its own: simply "Helden".

Third (and last ) new song on the EP is Orangenschiffchen. In the tradition of some Goethes Erben songs, Mr. Henke builds up a beautiful song around a rather obvious theme as an orange boat. Several changes of pace and a truly great arrangement make also this song intense.

The following song is a live recording of Weil ich es kann. It proves that Henke remains a great live performer: the intensity and beautiful details of original songs never get lost if Henke performs them live.

The final track is a remix of the title track, Herz. This ambient like remix is not bad, but it brings no added value to the EP. Personally, I would have skipped it on this great EP.

But we forgive him for this minor mistake, since Henke is a Hero, and not only for one day.

So check out this great EP

Du

Könntest Du schwimmen
Wie Delphine
Delphine es tun
Niemand gibt uns eine Chance
Doch können wir siegen
Für immer und immer
Und wir sind dann Helden
Für einen Tag

Ich
Ich bin dann König
Und Du
Du Königin
Obwohl sie
Unschlagbar scheinen
Werden wir Helden
Für einen Tag
Wir sind dann wir
An diesem Tag

Ich
Ich glaub' das zu träumen
die Mauer
Im Rücken war kalt
Die Schüsse reissen die Luft
Doch wir küssen
Als ob nichts geschieht
Und die Scham fiel auf ihre Seite
Oh, wir können sie schlagen
Für alle Zeiten
Dann sind wir Helden
Nur diesen Tag
Dann sind wir Helden
Dann sind wir Helden
Dann sind wir Helden
Nur diesen Tag

Dann sind wir Helden

Ward DE PRINS
31/03/2012


NL

Ik heb nooit gehouden van de EP’s van Henke. En zo ook deze niet, Herz genaamd. De reden is vrij eenvoudig: Henke’s composities zijn altijd briljant en een EP is per definitie veel te kort om de juiste mood  te creëren of je in de juiste mood te brengen. Het laat je altijd op je honger zitten, hunkerend naar meer.

Hoe dan ook, als ik het schijfje continu op repeat plaats geeft het me de intensiteit en mood die een release van Henke verdient.

Het titelnummer Herz opent de EP. Romantisch pianospel en aanzwengend vioolspel bouwen op tot een mooie ballad, waarbij Oswald verhaalt over het menselijke hart en diens gevoelens van verlies en eenzaamheid.

Datzelfde gevoel kan teruggevonden worden in Heroes, een meesterwerk van David Bowie. Normaal gezien zou ik een artiest afraden om een poging to ondernemen om een dergelijke klassieker te coveren, maar Henke geraakt er mee weg, en hoe! Muzikaal volgt hij redelijk het origineel, al klinkt alles wel iets donkerder, maar de transformatie naar een duet met Sonja Kraushofer (Coma Divine, L'Âme Immortelle) werkt. Oswald fluistert zijn deel en Sonja mag krachtig en intens uithalen. Een meer dan geslaagde cover !

De derde (en laatste nieuwe) song is Orangenschiffchen. In de traditie van sommige Goethes Erben songs bouwt Mr. Henke een prachtig arrangement uit rond een eerder triviaal gegeven als een appelsienenboot. De diverse tempowisselingen en percussie maken de song extra intens.

Als volgende verrassing krijgen we een live opname van Weil ich es kann. Het bewijst (voor zover dat nog nodig is) dat Henke een geweldige live performer is, waarbij de intensiteit en details van de originele songs nooit verloren gaan. Heerlijk!

De uitsmijter van de EP is een remix van het titelnummer, Herz. De ambient-achtige remix is niet slecht maar biedt niet echt een toegevoegde waarde aan het schijfje en had men dus mijns inziens ook best achterwege gelaten.

Maar dat kleine foutje vergeven we hem maar al te graag, want Henke is een Held, en niet voor één dag, en alleen al daarom zou u dit schijfje moeten kopen!

 

Du
Könntest Du schwimmen
Wie Delphine
Delphine es tun
Niemand gibt uns eine Chance
Doch können wir siegen
Für immer und immer
Und wir sind dann Helden
Für einen Tag

Ich
Ich bin dann König
Und Du
Du Königin
Obwohl sie
Unschlagbar scheinen
Werden wir Helden
Für einen Tag
Wir sind dann wir
An diesem Tag

Ich
Ich glaub' das zu träumen
die Mauer
Im Rücken war kalt
Die Schüsse reissen die Luft
Doch wir küssen
Als ob nichts geschieht
Und die Scham fiel auf ihre Seite
Oh, wir können sie schlagen
Für alle Zeiten
Dann sind wir Helden
Nur diesen Tag
Dann sind wir Helden
Dann sind wir Helden
Dann sind wir Helden
Nur diesen Tag

Dann sind wir Helden

Ward DE PRINS
31/03/2012


 

Next reviews
18 SUMMERS • The Magic Circus
INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS • Naiades
M. FALLAN • Contagious
KIM NOVAK • The Golden Mean
GUILT TRIP • Feed The Fire
JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS • The Shape Of Things
THE OUTSIDERS • Close Up
SOAP&SKIN • Narrow
DEAD VOICES ON AIR • Michael And The Angels Fought
THE OUTSIDERS • Calling On Youth

 

Other reviews from HENKE
HENKE • & Aroma di Amore & Dark Poem @ JCC Zappa, Antwerp, April 6th 2013
HENKE • HENKE & Lisa Morgenstern @ Kulturbahnhof Langendreer, Bochum, 28/03/2013
HENKE • Maskenball der Nackten
HENKE • Zeitmemory (single)
HENKE • Seelenfutterung

 

Same combination of genres: DARK WAVE + GOTHIC
HIDDEN PLACE • Nei versi di Prévert/Reazione
WHITE HEX • Gold Nights
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13
IN MITRA MEDUSA INRI • Lucid
HENKE • & Aroma di Amore & Dark Poem @ JCC Zappa, Antwerp, April 6th 2013
HENKE • HENKE & Lisa Morgenstern @ Kulturbahnhof Langendreer, Bochum, 28/03/2013
HENKE • Maskenball der Nackten
HENKE • Zeitmemory (single)
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW • The Rites of the Passage
CLAIR OBSCUR • Sans Titre, 1992

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
06
Industrial Band SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! Unleashes New Full-Length Album, 'Feral'
16
06
Dark erotronics by Death Loves Veronica
15
06
ASCII-DISKO returns after 10 years of silence
15
06
Today it’s exactly 42 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Tanz Der Automaten now on vinyl!
13
06
American Gothrock-band Sonsombre launches 'Revival'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since in was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
06
THE POGUES FEATURING KIRSTY MACCOLL
Fairytale Of New York
19
06
0KONTROL
Traitors
18
06
?ANIMA? FEAT. UTAU YUME
Beyond The Fallen
17
06
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
16
06
SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE)
Persona Non Grata
15
06
PURE GROUND
Second Skin
14
06
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)