tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

09/12/2016 : HIDDEN IN TREETOPS - Lost

HIDDEN IN TREETOPS

Lost

MusicCassette
AmbientElectronics

[80/100]   

Wool-E Tapes
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

One of the nicest elements of music is its diversity. Nothing is more distressing than music fans who, for whatever reason, are narrow minded. Geert Vandekerkhof is not that kind of guy. Of course, you know him as the frontman of the new wave band Der Klinke or the founder of the minimal electro project Story Off, but he also makes alternative ambient music with Hidden In Treetops.

The music of Hidden In Treetops is completely instrumental and requires more effort than what he does with Der Klinke or Story Off, but once you close your eyes and let yourself be carried away by the electronic sound carpet, a beautiful world opens up before your eyes.

Even though this tape release has fourteen tracks, each with a different character, you better listen to it in one go. Call it a voyage through electronic music, a trip through the history of the synthesizer music with Geert as your guide.

In The White Container and Requiem you hear that Chesko is a fan of Jean Michel Jarre. La Mata At Night is more Warp!-like electronics that flirt with Sabres Of Paradise and Aphex Twin. Sometimes it’s danceable, then simply music to dream away on as in the opening song Low (try to find the background of this title!), that overwhelms you with eerie, mesmerizing and heavy synths.

Hidden In Treetops is dark electronics, and another new musical face of Geert Vandekerkhof.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Een van de mooiste kenmerken van muziek is diversiteit. Niets is meer schrijnend dan muziekfans die zich, om welke reden ook, in één hokje opsluiten. Geert Vandekerkhof kan je daar in ieder geval niet van beschuldigen. Je kent hem natuurlijk als de frontman van de new wave band Der Klinke of de bezieler van het minimal electro-project Story Off, maar alsof dat alles nog niet genoeg is, maakt hij met Hidden In Treetops tevens alternatieve ambiente muziek.

De muziek van Hidden In Treetops is helemaal instrumentaal en vraagt iets meer inspanningen dan wat hij met Der Klinke of Story Off doet, maar eens je je ogen sluit en je laat meevoeren op het elektronische klanktapijt, gaat er een mooie wereld voor je open.

Ook al telt deze taperelease veertien tracks met elk een verschillend karakter, luister je er toch beter in één ruk naar. Noem het een soort van ontdekkingstocht doorheen de elektronische muziek, een trip doorheen de geschiedenis van de synthesizer met Geert als gids.

Zo hoor je in The White Container en Requiem duidelijk dat Chesko een fan is van Jean-Michel Jarre. La Mata At Night is meer Warp!-achtige electronica die flirt met Sabres Of Paradise en Aphex Twin. Soms dansbaar, op andere momenten gewoon muziek om op weg te dromen zoals in de opener Low (zoek zelf maar de achtergrond van deze titel) waarin de beangstigende, betoverende en zware synths je overvallen.

Hidden In Treetops is donkere elektronica, met alweer een nieuw muzikaal gezicht van Geert Vandekerkhof.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
• Record Store Day 2016 at Wool-E Shop
RROYCE • The Principle Of Grace
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Zeal Records: 15 Years The Essence Of Music
TEHO TEARDO & BLIXA BARGELD • Nerissimo
MIST OF DEAD END • Never Explain Anything
MERCURY GIRLS • Ariana
DAS ICH • Mönchengladbach, Kultube (09/04/16)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Not So Cold: The Complete Collection
K-X-P (+ WHISPERING SONS) • Opwijk, JH Nijdrop (13/04/2016)
MOTHERS • When You Walk a Long Distance You are Tired

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + ELECTRONICS
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
SCATTER FACTORY • Scatter Factory
ANTONYMES • Delicate Powers (In the Hands of Others)
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
BRIAN ENO • The Ship
THOMAS KÖNER • Tiento de la Luz
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
SHAPE WORSHIP • A City Remembrancer
BERSARIN QUARTETT • III
HEADDREAMER • Human Frequencies

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
06
Industrial Band SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! Unleashes New Full-Length Album, 'Feral'
16
06
Dark erotronics by Death Loves Veronica
15
06
ASCII-DISKO returns after 10 years of silence
15
06
Today it’s exactly 42 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Tanz Der Automaten now on vinyl!
13
06
American Gothrock-band Sonsombre launches 'Revival'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since in was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
06
0KONTROL
Traitors
18
06
?ANIMA? FEAT. UTAU YUME
Beyond The Fallen
17
06
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
16
06
SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE)
Persona Non Grata
15
06
PURE GROUND
Second Skin
14
06
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)
13
06
LISSA GARRED & JULES MAXWELL
Noyalain (Burn) (Official Video)