tempobet yeni adresi
like this 7 inch review

10/12/2016 : HIDDEN PLACE - Nei versi di Prévert/Reazione

HIDDEN PLACE

Nei versi di Prévert/Reazione

Music7 inch
Dark WaveGothicMinimal

[92/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

Italy evokes many images, but for some reasons, I will always appreciate the country for its genius dark music. Almost every genre (from neo-classical to neo-folk) contains great Italian names, and in the league of electronic dark wave genre, Hidden Place definitely is the band you have to put on top of your list.

The band is still underground, but more than ten years around. Anyone who has albums like Novecento (out on Calembour, the label by The Frozen Autumn) or Weather Station in his collection (if not, you should) is aware of the fact that this band has a quite diverse sound.

The newest release by this Italian band is a 7” (on white vinyl, and limited to 199 copies) that features two tracks in Italian. You don’t understand Italian, you say? Neither do I, and I fell in love within the very first seconds.

Nei versi di Prévert is the A-side. The electronic synths have a quite contemporary sound (think of Kavinsky), but the cold wave guitars add a dark touch. It definitely is a danceable song with two faces as this cold wave song also has some Italo disco influences, and no, we’re not saying this because of the Italian origin. The melody is irresistible, the vocals by Sara Lux are perfect and at the end the doomy keyboards come in. Perfect!

The B-side Reazione is another gem. Obviously you have to categorize it as electronic dark wave (what else would you choose?), but the nervous drum beats give it a kind of punky touch. A song that is full of adrenalin, while (again) the doomy keyboards make it all sound dark.

Those two new songs are once again a perfect proof that Hidden Place is a band you better take care of (at least if you’re keen on original dark wave) and it’s another step forwards. We’re waiting for that album now... after all it could be a perfect one!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
RABIA SORDA • King Of The Wasteland
WHISPERING SONS + BLEIB MODERN • In Utero, Mechelen-Kamikaze (07/05/16)
DER KLINKE • Eernegem, B52 (07/05/2016)
SOUNDGAZER • Two Graves
FROM THE FIRE • Through The Oceans Of Time
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
COCAINE PISS • Sex Weirdos
VIEON • Fly By Light
VICTOR LOVE • Technomancy
ESKOBAR • Magnetic

 

Other reviews from HIDDEN PLACE
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)
HIDDEN PLACE • Novecento
HIDDEN PLACE • WEATHER STATION early works

 

Same combination of genres: DARK WAVE + GOTHIC + MINIMAL
CLAIR OBSCUR • Sans Titre, 1992

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
WE HAVE BAND
Watertight
17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn