tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : HIDDEN PLACE - Nero Schwarz (Collezione)

HIDDEN PLACE

Nero Schwarz (Collezione)

MusicCD
DarkwaveNew waveSynth Wave

[85/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

You never heard of Hidden Place? Well, then you simply miss one of the finest bands ever. Nothing stops you to discover it now because Nero Schwarz is a brand new compilation with a nice overview of what this Italian band did so far.

Dark, but very diverse. The latest single Nei Versi Di Prevert is a wonderful combination of Italo disco and cold wave. On Without Time you hear Kraftwerk beats, rhythms that make your heart beat faster, because this is dark music at its best with a very poppy side, although the dark voice of Sara Lux gives it a macabre twist.

Hidden Place juggles with various genres and that is what makes it so good. London To Rome has a perverse disco sound, while the indus side of Kirlian Camera of the 90s emerges on Centrali.

Gioco Cromatio (after listening to this album you surely know some Italian words) and Emotional are dark disco pop. Alla Mostra Dei Costruttivisti (Alternate Version) has EBM rhythms and it is clear that the machines rule.

A band that has a big influence on the sound of Hidden Place is Clan Of Xymox, which you hear in the sublime Picture Hall or the final song Reazione.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Nog nooit van Hidden Place gehoord? Wel, dan mis je gewoon één van de mooiste bands die er bestaan. Niets dat je echter tegenhoudt om dat nu wat aan te doen want Nero Schwarz is een compilatie en een mooi overzicht van wat deze Italiaanse band tot dusver deed.

Donker, maar zeer divers. De meest recente single Nei Versi Di Prevert een prachtige combinatie van Italo Disco en cold wave. Op Without Time hoor je de opmars van Kraftwerkbeats, ritmes die je hart sneller doen slaan en je doen likkebaarden, want dit is donkere muziek op haar best met een zeer poppy kantje, hoewel de donkere stem van Sara Lux eerder voor een macaber tintje zorgt.

Hidden Place goochelt met zeer uiteenlopende genres en dat is wat Hidden Place zo goed maakt. London To Rome heeft een pervers discogeluidje, terwijl men op Centrali meer de induskant van Kirlian Camera uit de jaren 90 opzoekt.
Gioco Cromatio (na het beluisteren van deze plaat zal je wel wat Italiaans woordjes rijker zijn) en Emotional zijn donkere discopop. Alla Mostra Dei Costruttivisti (Alternate Version) heeft meer een EBM-ritme en het is duidelijk dat de machines de scepter zwaaien.

Een band die een grote invloed heeft op het geluid van Hidden Place is Clan Of Xymox, dat hoor je zonder meer in het bloedstollende Picture Hall of de afsluiter Reazione.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
WOLVERINE • Machina Viva
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
OBITUARY • Then Thousand Ways To Die
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)
GHOST • Popestar
GROUP A • 70 + a =
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
HANTE • No Hard Feelings
SIMPLE MINDS • New Gold Dream '81 '82 '83 '84

 

Other reviews from HIDDEN PLACE
HIDDEN PLACE • Nei versi di Prévert/Reazione
HIDDEN PLACE • Novecento
HIDDEN PLACE • WEATHER STATION early works

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
CARNAL MACHINERY • Cluster A
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
RINGFINGER • Pressure
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace
23
07
NORMA LOY
STRANGE SUMMER' (BAPHOMET)