tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : HIGH FIGHTER - Scars and Crosses

HIGH FIGHTER

Scars and Crosses

MusicCD
DoomsludgeStoner Rock

[85/100]   

Svart Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

After the EP The Goat Ritual from 2014, we now get the first album by High Fighter which is based in Hamburg. Immediately I notice Mona Miluski’s strong voice that fits perfectly with the gritty guitar play which reminds me of Kyuss. Indeed, the style is somewhere between stoner, doom and sludge.

The six minutes long opener A Silver Heart grabs me by the throat from the very beginning as it contains all the elements that make these band such a good one: well build up songs, nice guitar work and rhythm section. Darker Days is less complex and has ambition to become a single. The Gatekeeper starts with a beautiful distorted guitar line. It is a venomious song. Blinders contains some fine breaks, grunts and growls. A song that explores all the sides of High Fighter’s own universe. Also the last song Scars and Crosses is a strong track with a lot of rhythmic changes, stoner riffs and variation.

This is a good debut which shows High Fighter has a lot of potential and deserves an own place in the stoner genre.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Na de in 2014 verschenen EP The Goat Ritual is er nu het album van de Hamburgse band High Fighter. Wat meteen opvalt is de sterke stem en fijne zang van Mona Miluski die mooi samen gaat met het gruizige gitaarspel dat nu en dan aan Kyuss doet denken. De stijl ligt dan ook ergens op de kruising van stoner, doom en sludge.

De muziek grijpt me meteen bij de keel bij de zes minuten durende opener A Silver Heart die zowat alle elementen bevat die deze band goed maakt: een mooie opbouw, sterke vocals en fijn gitaarspel en ritmesectie.

Darkest Days is iets minder complex, maar heeft een snedige uptempo song met single ambities. The Gatekeeper start met een mooie distorted gitaarlijn en trekt de song op gang. Het is een venijnige track geworden. Blinders bevat leuke breaks, grunt en growls. Een song die alle kanten van hun eigen universum lijkt op te zoeken. Ook de afsluiter Scars and Crosses is sterk met veel tempowissels, stoner-riffs en afwisseling.

Een geslaagd debuut dat toont dat High Fighter voldoende in huis heeft om een eigen plaatsje in het stonermetalgenre op te eisen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : HIGH FIGHTER - Scars and Crosses 10/12/2016 : HIGH FIGHTER - Scars and Crosses

 

Next reviews
PROJECT PITCHFORK • Wonderland/One Million Faces (Remastered And Extended)
BLACK HEART • All Is Lost
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
MONOLITH • Domination
STEVE VAI • Leuven, Het Depot (17/06/2016)
DINOSAUR JR. • Sint-Niklaas, De Casino 16-06-2016
LISA CUTHBERT • Kinky Star, Ghent (15/06/2016)
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
SAMARIS • Antwerp, Trix (15/06/2016)
DATE AT MIDNIGHT • Songs To Fall And Forget

 

Same genre: DOOM
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
AMBER ASYLUM • Sin Eater
ORGAN • Tetro
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
GJÖLL • The Background of Perpetual Discontent
MY DYING BRIDE • Feel The Misery

 

Same genre: SLUDGE
30,000 MONKIES • I Ate Myself To Grow Twice As Big
STEAK NUMBER EIGHT • Kortrijk, De Kreun (18/03/16)
CRANIAL • Dead Ends
MASSA • MASSA (EP)
BARONESS • Purple
AHAB • THE BOATS OF THE GLEN CARRIG
MEMBRANE • Reflect Your Pain
EMPUSAE & MARC T • Deugden Van Angst En Het Kwaad
LE SEUL ELEMENT • Meradiam
DESERT STORM • Omniscient

 

Same genre: STONER ROCK
RULE OF THUMB • Rule Of Thumb
7WEEKS • A Farewell To Dawn
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
KING GOBLIN • Cryptozoology
CENTIPEDE • Sarnath
HANGMAN'S CHAIR • This is not Supposed to be Positive

Music reviews

07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret
08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo
07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party
05
05
SEVERE ILLUSION
Contribution