tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

30/10/2015 : HORSKH - Dawn (Extended Version)

HORSKH

Dawn (Extended Version)

MusicCD
EBMIndustrial

[82/100]   

Audiotrauma
30/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Sometimes, you wonder whether it pays to spend your time in reading the long endless list of (often useless) messages on the social media. The answer is yes. So, I recently discovered by coincidence the French band Horskh.

It is indeed a name that is nearly impossible to remember, but once the thumping beats have reached your brains, you always will remember what the music of Bass and Briou stands for. This duo from Besançon makes an explosive potpourri of electronic sounds with drums, guitars and synths.

This EP (well, there are thirteen tracks on it!) is released on Audiotrauma and already from the first song (Magma) you’re senseless by the beats. The song has the rhythm of Nitzer Ebb, the beats of Suicide Commando and to make it complete, there’s a huge sense of melancholy in it.

The duo really draws inspiration from all possible (electronic) styles. Protocol is extremely aggressive and the beats are merciless attacks at the brain, while Trajectory is a sing-along tune (albeit one with distorted beats) that could do well on the alternative dance floor. Tainted is experimental stuff that makes Horskh sound like the industrial institution Imminent Starvation, and if that is not enough, on Host they sound like Combichrist on acid.

In addition to the eight original songs, five other tracks get a remix. Normally, after listening to an EP, one must say that he looks forward to what will follow in the future, but we already can confirm that Horskh is at the front row of EBM/indus acts to keep an eye on!

Click here for the Facebook page.

Didier BECU
30/10/2015


NL

Soms stel je je wel eens de vraag of het loont om je tijd te steken in het lezen van de ellenlange lijst van (vaak nutteloze) berichten op de sociale media. Ja, dus. Zo stootte ik onlangs heel toevallig op de Franse band Horskh.

Het is inderdaad een naam die bijna onmogelijk te onthouden is, maar eens de dreunende beats je hersenen hebben bereikt, zal je je wel altijd blijven herinneren waar de muziek van Bass en Briou voor staat. Dit duo uit Besançon tovert immers uit zijn drums, gitaren en synths een explosieve potpourri van elektronische geluiden.

Deze ep (nou ja, er staan dertien nummers op!) is uitgebracht door Audiotrauma en slaat je vanaf het eerste nummer (Magma) met zijn beats compleet murw. Het nummer heeft het ritme van Nitzer Ebb, de beats van Suicide Commando en er zit ook nog een flinke brok melancholie in.

Het duo haalt werkelijk zijn inspiratie uit alle mogelijke (elektronische) stijlen. Zo is Protocol uiterst agressief en zijn de beats genadeloze aanslagen op je brein, terwijl Trajectory een meezinger is (alhoewel eentje met distorted beats) die het goed zou doen op de alternatieve dansvloer. In Tainted wordt er wat lustig geëxperimenteerd waardoor Horskh plots indus wordt zoals Imminent Starvation, en alsof dat niet genoeg is klinken ze op het krankzinnige Host bijna als Combichrist.

Naast 8 originele nummers, krijgen vijf andere tracks een remixbehandeling. Normaliter zouden we bij het beluisteren van een ep moeten zeggen dat we volop uitkijken naar wat volgt, maar met Dawn weten we nu al dat Horskh op de voorste rij staat van de in de gaten te houden EBM/indus-acts.

Klik hier voor de Facebookpagina.

Didier BECU
30/10/2015


 

Next reviews
THE COLORIST FT. EMILIANA TORRINI • Gent, De Handelsbeurs 29/10/2015
WOLFGANG FLUR • Eloquence-Complete Works
PACO ALMAZáN GUILLéN (VOX HUMANA) • Ten Album That Changed My Life
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Pistes Noires-Hommage Electronique-Pop A Etienne Daho
EL GUERRILLERO ROJO • Manifiesto LP 1983-1984
THE SHOES • Chemicals
BRUNO KRAMM (DAS ICH) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
DIARY OF DREAMS • Grau Im Licht
SPATIAL RELATION • Beyond The Zero
THE BRITISH IBM • Psychopaths Dream In Black And White

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + INDUSTRIAL
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
HEXHEART • Midnight on a Moonless Night
SYD 31 • Drowning In Air EP
OBSZÖN GESCHOPF • The Vault Of Nightmares
FATAL CASUALTIES • Psalm
DER KLINKE • The Gathering Of Hopes
MOVEMENT TEN • Build Them And They Will Come

 

Same genre: EBM
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet
PESCH • Melba
IN ABSENTIA • Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
AD:KEY • I can't feel you
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FRONTMASCHINE • Wrong fate EP
ROUGE • Ultimatum
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Burn Forever
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret