tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

09/11/2015 : IAMX - Brussels, AB (07/11/2015)

IAMX

Brussels, AB (07/11/2015)

Concert
09/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

IAMX, the band of Chris Corner, has a new album: Metanoia, that was presented at the AB in Brussels. Normally, performances by IAMX are very energetic. I was wondering if this would be the case now, as the new album is indeed a lot more introverted than the previous ones.

Four screens are scattered across the stage on which visuals are projected. This time there is no guitarist with them on tour, but next to Chris synths there are two keyboardists, a drum and sometimes a bass.

The concert immediately starts at full speed with the powerful I Come With Knives, followed by The Alternative and the very well-received new song Happiness, just like Mercy,coming from their debut album. Whoever, anyone who thought that after his illness Corner would be restrained or quiet on stage was wrong! He is energetic and fully showcases his vocal and entertaining talents.

From his latest album we hear No Maker Made Me and Oh Cruel Darkness Embrace Me among classics such as Volatile Times, Bernadette and Spit It Out. We notice that almost all the songs are reworked, as they all have an uniform sound so they fit better as a whole. There are some problems with his microphone stand, for which he apologized, but for the rest everything goes well.

Just when I get the feeling that gig is losing its power, Corner launches three bombes after Surrender: After Every Party I Die makes the public outrageous (a track that was already available on Bloodsport by Sneaker Pimps in Japan, and later on The Alternative), Aphrodiasiac, that sounds better live and a long, but dazzling version of Your Joy Is My Low. In addition, he asks a handful of fans to join him on stage to dance, it is a beautiful climax.

For the encores the band returns with Bring Me Back A Dog, Kiss + Swallow, that remains a public favorite and with I Am Terrified a brilliant concert is closed. You never notice the introverted character of his latest album on stage. On the contrary, IAMX provided a boost of energy that clearly was appreciated by the audience.

Take a look at Xavier's photoshoot.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/11/2015


NL

IAMX, de band rond Chris Corner, heeft een nieuw album uit: Metanoia, dat ze in de AB kwamen voorstellen. Tot nu toe waren optredens van IAMX altijd heel energiek. Ik was benieuwd of dit nu ook het geval zou zijn, het nieuwe album is immers heel wat introverter dan het vorige.

Een viertal schermen staan over het podium verspreid waarop visuals worden geprojecteerd. Deze keer is er geen gitarist mee op tournee, maar wel twee keyboardspelers naast de synths van Chris, een drum en soms een bas. 

Het concert begint meteen op volle snelheid met het sterke I Come With Knives, dat wordt gevolgd door The Alternative en de bijzonder goed onthaalde nieuwe song Happiness, net als Mercy dat uit hun debuutplaat komt. Wie dacht dat Corner na zijn ziekte eerder ingetogen of rustiger zou zijn op het podium, komt bedrogen uit. Hij is energiek en etaleert volop zijn vocale en entertainende talenten.

Uit zijn nieuwste album horen we No Maker Made Me en Oh Cruel Darkness Embrace Me tussen klassiekers zoals Volatile Times, Bernadette en Spit It Out. Wat opvalt is dat zowat alle songs herwerkt zijn, ze zijn uniform en zijn goed op elkaar afgestemd. Behalve wat problemen met zijn microfoonstandaard, waarvoor hij zijn excuses aanbiedt, verloopt alles goed.

Net als ik het gevoel krijg dat het optreden een beetje stil dreigt te vallen, laat hij na Surrender drie bommen op het publiek los: After Every Party I Die, dat het publiek uitzinnig maakt (een track die in Japan al op Bloodsport van Sneaker Pimps stond, en later ook op The Alternative), Aphrodiasiac, dat live beter tot zijn recht komt dan op plaat en een uitgerekte, maar schitterende versie van Your Joy Is My Low. Daarbij roept hij een handvol fans op het podium om mee te dansen, het wordt een mooie climax.

Voor de bisronde komt hij terug met Bring Me Back A Dog, Kiss+Swallow, dat duidelijk een publiekslieveling blijft en I Am Terrified, waarmee een schitterend concert wordt afgesloten. Het introverte karakter op zijn laatste album viel nauwelijks op. Alle nummers waren wat bewerkt en zorgden voor een energieboost die duidelijk door het publiek werd geapprecieerd. Onbegrijpelijk toch dat IAMX minder bekend is bij het Nederlandstalige publiek dan bij het Franstalige…

Neem ook een kijkje op de fotoreportage van Xavier.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/11/2015


Music reviews

02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror
27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
08
Alaskan Dark Punk/Death Rock Duo, CLIFF AND IVY Bring The Night With New EP!
02
08
Darkwave/Alternative Band VASELYNE Drops 'Waiting To Exhale' - A Story Of Perseverance
01
08
Industrial Band PANIC LIFT Presents Themed Series & Limited Edition EPs
01
08
This month, 38 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...

PHOTOS

01
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
01
08
WISBORG
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
08
NITZER EBB
Let Your Body Learn
04
08
CASPIAN
Rioseco
03
08
THE SPECTORS
Clyde & Bonnie
02
08
STAKBABBER
Black Pony
01
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic