tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/03/2015 : ILLUMINATA - Where Stories Unfold

ILLUMINATA

Where Stories Unfold

MusicCD
Symphonic Metal

[80/100]   

Self-released
25/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

I must admit that I’m charmed by some good symphonic metal that can be used as a soundtrack. This band from Austria makes such music. The hype of female fronted bands is over, as after the breakthrough from bands as Within Temptation and Nightwish there was just an oversupply. This band convinced me because it is no rip off of earlier mentioned bands.

They were founded in 2006 and this is their fifth self-released album. You hear a lot of music that could be used as a soundtrack for a blockbuster like eg. The Pirates of the Caribbean. A mixture of an excessive orchestration and metal/gothicrock. Katarzyna, who does the vocals, has a high and fine voice, typical for the genre. I suspect she is classically trained. They worked for this album with a Czech choir and orchestra.

Violets Compass is a well build up song with nice singing. Arbitrary Asylum begins like a Vangelis tune, but a metal guitar riff breaks the atmosphere. The atmosphere of fairy tales is found in both the lyrics and the music: Twinkle twinkle light of morn, My eyes frayed my fabric torn. Sometimes you think you listen to a Disney soundtrack or a musica as in The Brass Ring.

With the symphonic and cinematic elements this band makes the difference. The guitars and the metal elements are here only to support the songs. The pure metal fans probably won’t like this album, but with an open mind you will discover a bunch of descent songs.

Wim GUILLEMYN
25/03/2015


NL

Symfonische metal of filmische gitaarmuziek kunnen mij wel bekoren. Deze Oostenrijkse band maakt dergelijke muziek. Female fronted metal bands zijn een beetje uit het beeld verdwenen, ofschoon we er na de doorbraak van Within Temptation en Nightwish mee om de oren werden geslagen. Deze band weet mij wel te overtuigen omdat hij geen doorslagje van eerder genoemde bands is.

Ontstaan in 2006, is dit hun vijfde release, en opnieuw volledig in eigen beheer gemaakt. Je hoort op het album veel muziek die in een grote blockbuster zoals Pirates of the Caribbean (om maar iets te noemen) kan worden gebruikt. Een overdaad aan orchestratie, vermengd met metal en gotich rock. Katarzyna, die de vocals doet, heeft een hoge, fijne stem, wat ook wel een beetje typisch is voor het genre. Ik vermoed, gezien haar manier van zingen, dat ze klassiek geschoold is.

Violets Compass is een mooi opgebouwde en gezongen song. Arbitrary Asylum begint als een Vangelis-nummer, maar breekt dan de opgebouwde sfeer met een zware metalriff. Een heel sterke song. De sprookjessfeer wordt hier en daar opgewekt in zowel de tekst als de muziek: twinkle twinkle light of morn, My eyes frayed my fabric torn. Soms denk je aan een Disney-soundtrack of een musical, zoals in The Brass Ring.

Het symfonische en filmische aspect onderscheidt ze van de rest. De gitaren en de metal zijn hier eerder ter ondersteuning en staan in dienst van de song. Bij veel symfonisch metal bands is het net andersom. De pure metalfans gaan waarschijnlijk moeite hebben met dit album omdat de orchestratie overheerst, maar wie wat meer gewoon is, zal hier een aantal mooie songs ontdekken.

Wim GUILLEMYN
25/03/2015


25/03/2015 : ILLUMINATA - Where Stories Unfold 25/03/2015 : ILLUMINATA - Where Stories Unfold

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
06
Industrial Band SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! Unleashes New Full-Length Album, 'Feral'
16
06
Dark erotronics by Death Loves Veronica
15
06
ASCII-DISKO returns after 10 years of silence
15
06
Today it’s exactly 42 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Tanz Der Automaten now on vinyl!
13
06
American Gothrock-band Sonsombre launches 'Revival'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since in was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
06
THE POGUES FEATURING KIRSTY MACCOLL
Fairytale Of New York
19
06
0KONTROL
Traitors
18
06
?ANIMA? FEAT. UTAU YUME
Beyond The Fallen
17
06
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
16
06
SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE)
Persona Non Grata
15
06
PURE GROUND
Second Skin
14
06
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)