tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

04/02/2013 : INKUBUS SUKKUBUS - The Goat

INKUBUS SUKKUBUS

The Goat

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalGothic Rock

[89/100]   

Resurrection Records
04/02/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

If there is one Pagan Gothic Rock band that will always survive and make music then it will be for sure Inkubus Sukkubus. I lost the count, but somebody told me that this is probably their 14th album! On another note: I just did 6 interviews for Trolls et Légendes (a huge indoor festival) and it's clear that they have never played there, however they would fit in this perfectly! But you'll get the same weekend the chance to catch them in a small club (and I know that they are at best in some small and intimate place) in Belgium: 30 march 2013 at Café Bizarre in Dentergem.

'The Goat' is the first song on this one and directly a major hit! Love the chant during the chorus, just like the guitar! A nice ritual chant that sounds really rocking! We are already bewitched! 'Sweet Fallen angel' is as sweet as Candia can sing and shows off how fragile her voice can be. This is one of the songs (together with the acoustic 'Pagan Born' & 'Forever') that will stay in my head because of the magic of her voice!

I would love to see them play an accoustic set, for sure after these songs! 'Gone' has a tragic sound and grasps you by the throat. 'Two penny whore' & 'Rites of Pan', 'Fire & Ice' are a good stage rockers and I can see them performing it live with a lot of passion and the crowd going wild for it!

'Melancholy blue' is the last song and gave me an 80's impression, even with a touch of The Bangles. I'm leaving it up to you if I'm wrong on that. I also feel some X-mass blues in it. But then there is this rocking twist in the end that changes the direction of the song completely, which is so surprising and aslo lyrically it goes more about a falling angel falling from the sky!

In the end this album has a lot of variation and passion, one of the best albums of Inkubus Sukkubus!

More than worthwhile mentionning is the nice album artwork! I hope to hear more about it during the interview. that soon will be published on these pages..

Filip VAN MUYLEM
04/02/2013


 

Next reviews
JOSH WHITEMAN • Shadowplay, The Making of Anton Corbijn
MS30 • T.I.A.
E-CRAFT • The roots
STEPHEN MILBURN ANDERSON • Cash
AN PIERLE • Strange days
MODULATE • Robots EP
QUENTIN DUPIEUX • Wrong
IEN OBLIQUE • Drowning world
NIVEAU ZERO • Jasmine
SAFY NEBBOU • Comme Un Homme

 

Other reviews from INKUBUS SUKKUBUS
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Mother Moon
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Review of the concert at the Café Bizarre in Dentergem on 30th March 2013
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Dark Goddess

 

Same combination of genres: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL + GOTHIC ROCK
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
MRDTC, 6COMM, BRAIN SEKTOR, A SPLIT-SECOND, 32CRASH, THE YOUNG GODS & MONOLOITH • BIM FEST, Trix, ANtwerp, 21/12/2013
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Review of the concert at the Café Bizarre in Dentergem on 30th March 2013
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • 30/3/2013 at Mons, Belgium | Saltatio Mortis, Daemonia Nymphe, Folk Noir & Asynje

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
PIG • Pain Is God
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret
08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo