tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady

ISRAEL HOROVITZ

My Old Lady

Movie
Comedy

[60/100]   

Imagine Films
23/03/2015, Didier BECU

EN

A film that did quite well in theatres is My Old Lady by Israel Horovitz, who also wrote the eponymous play. Although this is a feelgood films, it is better than most films of the genre and that is mainly due to both the beautiful scenery and great performances.

Mathias Gold (Kevin Kline) travels from New York to Paris. The man has not had an easy life. He hs had a drinking problem and the usual financial problems. Perhaps the solution liesin Paris? From his recently deceased father he inherits a watch, some books and an apartment in the Marais. The bummer thinks that a golden future is waiting for him, but a woman (Maggie Smith) of 92 is living in the flat and she seems to be alive and kicking. The bad news is that his father's apartment has been purchased in the viager-way, an old French system through which one can only gain possession of the residence if the occupant is deceased. Mathias also discovers that Mathilde is more than just the tenant, and what role plays the handsome daughter Chloe (Kristin Scott Thomas)?

A scenario with a lot of clichés and some predictability. Nevertheless, My Old Lady is a pleasant, thrilling movie. Perhaps Kevin Kline does the same as twenty years ago with Meg Ryan in French Kiss, but he still is a great actor. This also applies for Kristin Scott Thomas, though it is hard not to associate her with the vengeful mother in Only God Forgives, and then there is Maggie Smith... who is just Maggie Smith! Where is that bottle of Beaujolais?

My Old Lady is now out on Imagine Films on DVD.

Didier BECU
23/03/2015


NL

Een film die het niet onaardig deed in de bioscopen is My Old Lady van Israël Horovitz, die tevens het gelijknamige toneelstuk schreef. Ofschoon de schrijver-cineast zich met dit flauwe verhaaltje op het te mijden pad van de feelgoodfilms begeeft, is zijn prent beter dan de rest en dat komt vooral door de prachtige decors en vooral door de degelijke vertolkingen.

Mathias Gold (Kevin Kline) reist van New York naar Parijs. Meteen wordt het duidelijk dat de man geen gemakkelijk leven heeft gehad. Hij heeft een drankprobleem achter de rug en ook financieel zit het hem niet mee. Maar misschien brengt Parijs wel soelaas. Zijn net overleden vader heeft hem een horloge, wat boeken en een appartement in de Marais nagelaten. De klaploper denkt dat zijn broodje is gebakken, maar in de flat woont nog een stokoude vrouw (Maggie Smith) van 92, die springlevend lijkt te zijn. Het slechte nieuws is dat zijn vader het appartement op de viager-wijze heeft gekocht, een oud Frans systeem waarbij iemand pas in bezit kan komen van de woonst als de bewoonster overleden is. Mathias ontdekt ook dat de bejaarde Mathilde meer is dan zo maar de huurster, en welke rol speelt die knappe dochter Chloe (Kristin Scott Thomas)?

Een scenario met flink wat clichés dus en heel wat voorspelbaarheid. Desalniettemin is My Old Lady een aangename, sprankelende film waaraan je misschien geen meerwaarde overhoudt, maar je hebt wel 90 minuten bruisende cinema gezien en dat is toch ook iets, niet? Kevin Kline doet misschien net hetzelfde als wat hij twintig jaar geleden met Meg Ryan in French Kiss deed, maar blijft desalniettemin een heerlijke acteur. Dat geldt dat ook voor Kristin Scott Thomas, al blijft zij voor ons voor altijd die wraaklustige moeder uit Only God Forgives en Maggie Smith...wel die is gewoon Maggie Smith! Waar is die fles Beaujolais nu weer gebleven?

My Old Lady is nu via Imagine Films uit op dvd.

Didier BECU
23/03/2015


23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 23/03/2015 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady

Music reviews

05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny
19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby
18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!
03
05
On this day, 16 years ago Nine Inch Nails released [WITH_TEETH]!
02
05
32 years of Disintegration!
02
05
43 years 'United'! TG's debut single!
01
05
Dark Ambient Act LONG THE NIGHT Reveals The Ominous & Melancholic Illusion
30
04
Dark Ambient Act IN THE ABSENCE OF WORDS Reveals Their Compilation, A Collection I

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party
05
05
SEVERE ILLUSION
Contribution
04
05
KIM WILDE
Cambodia
03
05
SYD 31
Bulldoze Everything
02
05
THE CURE
10:15 Saturday Night
01
05
BOYTRONIC
Time After Midnight
30
04
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
God Is Dead