tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady

ISRAEL HOROVITZ

My Old Lady

MovieCinema
ComedyDrama
Imagine Films
02/12/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Sometimes beautiful sceneries and solid performances are enough to create a sparkling movie. Anyone who doubts that should see My Old Lady by Israel Horovitz, who also wrote the eponymous play.

Mathias Gold (Kevin Kline) travels from New York to Paris. It is immediately obvious that Mathias has not had an easy life. He has had a drinking problem and financially things aren’t going well either. But perhaps Paris brings some relief. His recently deceased father left him a watch, some books and an apartment in the Marais. The bummer thinks he has a golden future, but in the flat lives a very old woman (Maggie Smith) of 93 who is still alive and kicking. The bad news is that his father's apartment has been purchased in the viager-way, an old French system whereby someone can only gain possession of the residence when the occupant is deceased. Mathias also discoveres that the elderly Mathilde was more than just was a tenant of his father, and what about that beautiful daughter Chloe (Kristin Scott Thomas)?

A scenario with a lot of clichés, and thus also with the necessary predictability. Yet, My Old Lady is an enjoyable movie that may have no big value, but you do have 90 minutes of vibrant cinema and that's already something, right? Kevin Kline might be doing the same thing he did twenty years ago with Meg Ryan in French Kiss, but he nevertheless remains a great actor. Of course this counts for Kristin Scott Thomas too, although she still remains for us that vengeful mother from Only God Forgives and Maggie Smith... well she''s just Maggie Smith! Where's that bottle of Beaujolais?

Didier BECU
02/12/2014


NL

Soms volstaan prachtige decors en degelijke vertolkingen om een flauw verhaaltje te laten sprankelen. Wie daar aan twijfelt moet My Old Lady van Israël Horovitz, die tevens het gelijknamige toneelstuk schreef, maar eens een kans geven.

Mathias Gold (Kevin Kline) reist van New York naar Parijs. Het wordt meteen duidelijk dat Mathias geen gemakkelijk leven heeft gehad. Hij heeft een drankprobleem achter de rug en ook financieel zit het hem niet mee. Maar misschien brengt Parijs wel soelaas. Zijn net overleden vader heeft hem een horloge, wat boeken en een appartement in de Marais nagelaten. De klaploper denkt dat zijn broodje is gebakken, maar in de flat woont een stokoude vrouw (Maggie Smith) van 93 die nog springlevend is. Het slechte nieuws is dat zijn vader het appartement op de viager-wijze heeft gekocht, een oud Frans systeem waarbij iemand pas in bezit kan komen van de woonst als de bewoonster overleden is. Mathias ontdekt ook dat de bejaarde Mathilde meer dan zo maar een huurster van zijn vader was, en wat met die knappe dochter Chloe (Kristin Scott Thomas)?

Een scenario met flink wat clichés dus en met de nodige voorspelbaarheid. Maar toch is My Old Lady een aangename film waaraan je misschien geen meerwaarde overhoudt, maar je hebt wel 90 minuten bruisende cinema gezien en dat is toch ook iets, niet? Kevin Kline doet misschien hetzelfde als wat hij twintig jaar geleden met Meg Ryan in French Kiss deed, maar hij blijft desalniettemin een heerlijke acteur. Natuurlijk geldt dat ook voor Kristin Scott Thomas, ook al blijft zij voor ons nog altijd die wraaklustige moeder uit Only God Forgives en Maggie Smith...wel die is gewoon Maggie Smith! Waar is die fles Beaujolais nu weer gebleven?

Didier BECU
02/12/2014


02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady

 

Next reviews
TERRY GILIAM • The Zero Theorem
NÖVÖ • Zeitgeist
BRETT RATNER • Hercules
REVENGE • One True Passion
ADOLF HITLER • Mein Kampf
LUC BESSON • Lucy
JAKE KASDAN • Sex Tape
NFD • Walking The Dead
BABY FIRE • The Red Robe
THE LONELY SOUL EXPERIENCE • Path Of Blood

 

Other reviews from ISRAEL HOROVITZ
ISRAEL HOROVITZ • My Old Lady

 

Same combination of genres: COMEDY + DRAMA
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
MARCO FERRERI • La Grande Bouffe
MARC FORSTER • Stranger Than Fiction
CLAUDE SAUTET • Garçon
ANTONY BURNS • Home Sweet Hell
• SILICON VALLEY SEASON 1
PAOLO VIRZI • Il Capitale Umano
THOMAS CAILLEY • Les Combattants
EMMA DANTE • Una Via A Palermo

 

Same genre: COMEDY
A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM • A modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Barry Levinson: Rock The Kasbah
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Julian Jarrold: A Royal Night Out
JEFF BAENA • Life After Beth
RAYMOND DE FELITTA • Rob The Mob
JEAN-PAUL RAPPENEAU • Tout Feu, Tout Flamme
MAX LANDIS • American Ultra
ROY ANDERSSON • A Pigeon Sat On A Branch Reflecting On Existence
PHILIPPE LE GUAY • Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage
EDOUARD MOLINARO • Le Téléphone Rose

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Thomas Bidegain: Les Cowboys
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Helen Walsh: The Violators

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour