tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

16/08/2014 : JALIL LESPERT - Yves Saint Laurent

JALIL LESPERT

Yves Saint Laurent

Movie
Biography

[73/100]   

E1
16/08/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Even when most of the biopics (from Grace Kelly to Mandela) fail in the theatres, film makers keep on digging in the past from icons. Some years after Coco Avant Chanel time has come to tell the story about Yves Saint Laurent. In case you can’t get enough from it, next year a new biopic about this French fashion king will hit the theatres. The movie will be directed by Bertrand Bonello with Saint Laurent as working title. But first we have the version from Jalil Respert in our hands: the director-actor who became famous in France with Le Petit Lieutenant.

Respert chooses the classical way. From every period he takes something and so we happen to know more about the flamboyant, sometimes destructive way of life he had. The vain creature started at an early age as a pupil from Dior. After the death of the famous couturier, Yves Saint Laurent (Pierre Niney) became artistic director of the fashion house, but wanted to have his own brand. Of course that costs money, something he got from his friend and future partner Pierre Bergé (Guillaume Gallienne). Another problem was that France was rejecting the fashion guru as he refused to join the army. It was a delicate time as France was in the middle of a bloody fight with Algeria. Later the fashion king was involved in the nightlife of Paris with all the known excesses.

Yves Saint Laurent is a quite interesting biopic for everyone. That’s quite important as we can imagine that not everybody is keen to watch a movie about a couturier. But that’s not problem as Yves Saint Laurent (especially the first part) is a good attempt that portrays a touching image. The big star is of course Pierre Niney who performs Yves Saint Laurent in a splendid way.

Now out on Entertainment One on both DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
16/08/2014


NL

Ofschoon de meeste biopics (van Grace Kelly tot Mandela) in de bioscoop voor geen meter lopen, blijven filmmakers toch maar uit het verleden van iconen puren. Na Coco Avant Chanel is er nu het relaas van Yves Saint Laurent. En indien u er niet genoeg van zou kunnen krijgen, niet getreurd want volgend jaar verschijnt er alweer een andere biopic over de Franse modegod van Bertrand Bonello in de bioscoop die als werktitel Saint Laurent kreeg. Maar eerst houden we ons zoet met de versie van Jalil Respert, de regisseur-acteur die doorbrak met Le Petit Lieutenant.

Respert kiest de klassieke weg. Uit iedere periode van zijn flamboyante, vaak destructieve levensweg kiest Respert wel iets waardoor je als kijker (en vooral als leek) een aparte kijk krijgt op het leven van de couturier. De ijdeltuit begon op extreem jonge leeftijd als leerling bij Dior en kreeg na diens overlijden zelfs het zeggenschap over het befaamde modehuis. Yves Saint Laurent (Pierre Niney) wilde evenwel een eigen huis. Gemakkelijk was dat niet. Er was niet alleen het geld dat ontbrak, iets wat hij van zijn vriend (en latere partner) Pierre Bergé (Guillaume Gallienne) kreeg. Ook zat Frankrijk op zijn dak door het weigeren van de dienst (op dat moment was het land een bloederige strijd met Algerije aan het leveren). Net zoals Serge Gainsbourg was ook de modeontwerper een graag geziene gast in het nachtleven van de Franse grootstad, met de gekende excessen.

Yves Saint Laurent is een onderhoudende biopic voor iedereen. Dat is wel belangrijk, want waarschijnlijk staat niet iedereen klaar om in het leven van een couturier te springen. Op het einde boet de prent wel wat aan kracht in, toch is Respert erin geslaagd om een aangrijpend portret van de modekoning te schetsen. De grote verdienste gaat hierbij naar vertolker Pierre Niney.

Een knap (klassiek) werkje dus die vooral het eerste uur sterk is. Nu te verkrijgen op Entertainment One op zowel dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
16/08/2014


16/08/2014 : JALIL LESPERT - Yves Saint Laurent 16/08/2014 : JALIL LESPERT - Yves Saint Laurent 16/08/2014 : JALIL LESPERT - Yves Saint Laurent 16/08/2014 : JALIL LESPERT - Yves Saint Laurent 16/08/2014 : JALIL LESPERT - Yves Saint Laurent 16/08/2014 : JALIL LESPERT - Yves Saint Laurent 16/08/2014 : JALIL LESPERT - Yves Saint Laurent 16/08/2014 : JALIL LESPERT - Yves Saint Laurent 16/08/2014 : JALIL LESPERT - Yves Saint Laurent 16/08/2014 : JALIL LESPERT - Yves Saint Laurent 16/08/2014 : JALIL LESPERT - Yves Saint Laurent 16/08/2014 : JALIL LESPERT - Yves Saint Laurent 16/08/2014 : JALIL LESPERT - Yves Saint Laurent 16/08/2014 : JALIL LESPERT - Yves Saint Laurent 16/08/2014 : JALIL LESPERT - Yves Saint Laurent 16/08/2014 : JALIL LESPERT - Yves Saint Laurent

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace
23
07
NORMA LOY
STRANGE SUMMER' (BAPHOMET)