tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma

JASON MOMOA

Road To Paloma

Movie
Thriller

[35/100]   

Anchor Bay
07/04/2015, Didier BECU

EN

You can of course blame Dennis Hoppe, but every movie about a motorcyclist who seeks freedom, is automatically compared to Easy Rider. In the case of the Indian Wolf (Jason Momoa, who also directed the film) you have to take that freedom very literally, because he is on the run for the FBI after he murdered the man who killed and raped his mother. During his journey he meets Cash (Robert Homer Mollohan, who co-wrote the script) and together they go to the Rocky Mountains, because Wolf wants to scatter his mother's ashes there. During the trip lot of things happens but unfortunately far too little to hold the attention of the viewer.

You can actually compare the movie with those awful T-shirts that you can buy for 5 euro, showing an Indian and a wolf. It is such a cliché that you almost have to be crazy to still see the beauty of it. That is also the case with this road movie of Momoa.

It is not just the images you have seen hundreds of times before, Momoa also finds it necessary to add cliché poetry. The only bright spot is the appearance of Lisa Bonet, who is in real life the wife of Momoa. We assume that Road To Paloma isonly fodder for motorcyclists who love the Indian lifestyle.

Didier BECU
07/04/2015


NL

Je kan er natuurlijk Dennis Hopper de schuld van geven, maar iedere film over een motorrijder die de vrijheid opzoekt wordt sowieso vergeleken met Easy Rider. In het geval van de indiaan Wolf (Jason Momoa, die de film ook regisseerde) moet je dat zeer letterlijk nemen want hij is op de vlucht voor het FBI nadat hij de man heeft vermoord die zijn moeder doodde en verkrachtte. Tijdens zijn rit ontmoet hij Cash (Robert Homer Mollohan, die meeschreef aan het script) en samen trekken ze naar de Rocky Mountains omdat Wolf de as van zijn moeder daar wil uitstrooien. Tijdens zijn tocht gebeurt er natuurlijk van alles, maar jammer genoeg veel te weinig om de aandacht van de kijker vast te houden.

Road to Paloma kun je eigenlijk het best vergelijken met die afschuwelijke T-shirts die je voor 5 euro koopt met daarop een indiaan en een wolf. Het is zo’n cliché dat je bijna gek moet zijn om daar nog de schoonheid van te zien. Dat is ook het geval met deze roadmovie van Momoa.

Het zijn niet alleen de beelden die je al honderden keren hebt gezien, ook vindt Momoa het nodig om zijn film vol te pompen met tenenkrommende poëzie. Het enige lichtpunt dat overblijft is de verschijning van Lisa Bonet, die in het dagelijkse leven de echtgenote van Momoa is. We veronderstellen dat Road To Paloma louter voer is voor motorrijders die dwepen met Indianen. 

Didier BECU
07/04/2015


07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
08
Industrial Band PANIC LIFT Presents Themed Series & Limited Edition EPs
01
08
This month, 38 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...

PHOTOS

01
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
01
08
WISBORG
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

01
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.