tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

05/08/2015 : JEAN-BAPTISTE LEONETTI - Beyond The Reach

JEAN-BAPTISTE LEONETTI

Beyond The Reach

Movie
Action

[30/100]   

E1
05/08/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It often happens that you have some questions about a film. What is its real goal, what do they want to say or how can someone be so stupid to put money into such a vehicle? Questions you have in mind when you are watching Beyond The Reach. Michael Douglas remains a movie icon that no one will forget, but it seems as if he (at least if you don’t count the sublime Behind The Candelabra by Soderbergh) accepts almost all the roles he is offered. He certainly does not have to do it for money (his fortune is estimated at 200 million dollars), but when it only serves to stretch his filmography, then there should be someone (Catherine Zeta-Jones?) to stop him, because his film career is getting sillier every day.

Beyond The Reach was almost worldwide released to DVD and once you start watching this boring film, you know why. A scenario that does not make sense, dreadful dialogues, undeveloped plots and dull performances are the main elements of this action movie that has a promising start, but bores very quickly.

Madec (Michael Douglas) is a guy that every normal man would hate. He is immensely rich, he thinks he's funny and to kill his time, he hunts in the American desert bighorn sheep. With his imposing expensive Mercedes jeep and his ultramodern weapons, Madec finds himself an important man. Together with his guide Ben (Jeremy Irvine), he revisits the desert, but it goes wrong when the businessman accidentally shoots down an old miner. Suddenly Madec’s empire collapses. He first tries to blame Ben for the murder, and when that plan fails, he offers him a good paid job for the rest of his life. Madec is stunned when he realizes that the young guide refuses to accept his offer. It is the beginning of a (sloppy and incredibly annoying) cat-and-mouse game.

Didier BECU
05/08/2015


NL

Het gebeurt wel vaker dat je je bij een film vragen stelt. Hoe komen ze er bij, wie heeft er wat aan of hoe dom kan iemand zijn om in een vehikel geld te pompen? Michael Douglas blijft een filmicoon die niemand zal vergeten, toch lijkt het erop alsof hij (op de sublieme Behind The Candelabra van Soderbergh na) zowat alle rollen accepteert die hij aangeboden krijgt. Voor het geld moet hij het zeker niet doen (zijn fortuin wordt op een slordige 200 miljoen dollar geschat), maar als het alleen maar dient om zijn filmografie te rekken, zou er toch iemand (Catherina Zeta-Jones?) hem een halt moeten toeroepen want zijn filmcarrière wordt eerlijkheidshalve met de dag onnozeler. 

Beyond The Reach werd bijna wereldwijd rechtstreeks op dvd gedropt en eens je aan deze saaie filmrit begint, weet je ook waarom. Een scenario dat nergens op slaat, barslechte dialogen, onuitgewerkte plots en saaie vertolkingen zijn de hoofdelementen van deze (nou ja) actiefilm, die na een veelbelovende start ontzettend snel begint te vervelen. 

Madec (Michael Douglas) is een vent die ieder normaal mens zou moeten haten. Hij is steenrijk, hij vindt zichzelf de plezantste thuis en om zijn tijd te doden knalt deze macho in de Amerikaanse woestijn voor zijn plezier dikhoornschapen neer. Met zijn imponerende peperdure Mercedes-jeep en zijn ultramoderne wapens vindt Madec zich een hele vent. Samen met z'n gids Ben (Jeremy Irvine) trekt hij er nog maar eens op uit, maar het loopt fout af als de zakenman per abuis een oude mijnwerker neerknalt. Plotseling valt Madecs imperium in duigen en breekt het angstzweet hem uit. Hij probeert eerst de schuld in Bens schoenen te schuiven, en als dat hem niet lukt, stelt hij Ben voor de rest van zijn leven een vet betaalde job voor. Madec is verbijsterd als hij merkt dat de jonge gids weigert om op zijn voorstel in te gaan. Het is het begin van een (slordig en ongelooflijk vervelend) kat-en-muisspel.

Beyond The Reach wordt verondersteld een spannend kat-en-muisspel te zijn, maar jammer genoeg is de kat na een kwartiertje in slaap gedommeld waardoor er alleen maar verveling overblijft.

Didier BECU
05/08/2015


05/08/2015 : JEAN-BAPTISTE LEONETTI - Beyond The Reach 05/08/2015 : JEAN-BAPTISTE LEONETTI - Beyond The Reach 05/08/2015 : JEAN-BAPTISTE LEONETTI - Beyond The Reach 05/08/2015 : JEAN-BAPTISTE LEONETTI - Beyond The Reach 05/08/2015 : JEAN-BAPTISTE LEONETTI - Beyond The Reach 05/08/2015 : JEAN-BAPTISTE LEONETTI - Beyond The Reach 05/08/2015 : JEAN-BAPTISTE LEONETTI - Beyond The Reach 05/08/2015 : JEAN-BAPTISTE LEONETTI - Beyond The Reach 05/08/2015 : JEAN-BAPTISTE LEONETTI - Beyond The Reach 05/08/2015 : JEAN-BAPTISTE LEONETTI - Beyond The Reach 05/08/2015 : JEAN-BAPTISTE LEONETTI - Beyond The Reach 05/08/2015 : JEAN-BAPTISTE LEONETTI - Beyond The Reach 05/08/2015 : JEAN-BAPTISTE LEONETTI - Beyond The Reach 05/08/2015 : JEAN-BAPTISTE LEONETTI - Beyond The Reach 05/08/2015 : JEAN-BAPTISTE LEONETTI - Beyond The Reach 05/08/2015 : JEAN-BAPTISTE LEONETTI - Beyond The Reach

Music reviews

05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny
19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby
18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!
03
05
On this day, 16 years ago Nine Inch Nails released [WITH_TEETH]!
02
05
32 years of Disintegration!
02
05
43 years 'United'! TG's debut single!
01
05
Dark Ambient Act LONG THE NIGHT Reveals The Ominous & Melancholic Illusion
30
04
Dark Ambient Act IN THE ABSENCE OF WORDS Reveals Their Compilation, A Collection I

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party
05
05
SEVERE ILLUSION
Contribution
04
05
KIM WILDE
Cambodia
03
05
SYD 31
Bulldoze Everything
02
05
THE CURE
10:15 Saturday Night
01
05
BOYTRONIC
Time After Midnight
30
04
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
God Is Dead