tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth

JEFF BAENA

Life After Beth

Movie
ComedyHorror
Universal Pictures
08/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

If you are not sick of the unstoppable train of zombie movies, then perhaps you can add Life After Beth by Jeff Baena to that list. This director does nothing new, on the contrary, but if you think it’s okay to switch off your brains during 90 minutes then this horror comedy is actually funny to watch.

Zack (Dane DeHaan) is a nice guy who wants to do everything for his sweetheart Beth (Aubrey Plaza), but unfortunately a fatal snakebite ends their happy situation. Zack can’t accept this. But, what happens after a while? Beth comes back as a zombie. Her parents want to keep this a secret, but for Zack this is not a problem: Beth stays the love of his life, even if she stinks out of her mouth and acts anything but normal.

It seems indeed like nonsense as Charmed or The Vampire Diaries, but Life After Beth is much better and this is largely the merit of the cast who are acting excellent. Besides the two lovers, we also see the always great John C. Reilly as Beth's father and there is even a small role for Anna Kendrick, and the latter is of course reason enough to see this movie!

 

 

Didier BECU
08/09/2015


NL

Indien je ondertussen nog niet misselijk bent geworden van de niet te stoppen vloed van zombiefilms, dan kan daar misschien Life After Beth van Jeff Baena nog bij.. Deze regisseur doet niks nieuws, integendeel, maar als je er niets op tegen hebt om anderhalf uur je hersenen uit te schakelen dan is deze horrorkomedie best leuk.

Zack (Dane DeHaan) is een brave kerel die alles voor zijn liefje Beth (Aubrey Plaza) wil doen, maar helaas beslist een slangenbeet anders over hun geluk. Beth sterft, en Zack kan dit maar niet aanvaarden. Maar wat blijkt achter een tijdje? Beth is teruggekomen als zombie. Haar ouders willen dit natuurlijk geheim houden, maar voor Zack is er geen vuiltje aan de lucht: Beth blijft zijn liefje, ook al stinkt ze uit haar bek en is ze allesbehalve normaal.

Het lijkt inderdaad veel op onzin zoals Charmed of The Vampire Diaries, toch scoort Life After Beth heel wat hoger op de lader en dat is grotendeels de verdienste van de cast die knap acteerwerk aflevert. Naast het verliefde koppeltje, zien we ook nog de altijd fantastische John C. Reilly als Beths vader en er is zelfs een klein rolletje voor Anna Kendrick, en dat laatste is eigenlijk al reden genoeg om deze film te bekijken!

 

 

Didier BECU
08/09/2015


08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
WE HAVE BAND
Watertight
17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn