tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

12/10/2014 : JEROME SALLE - Anthony Zimmer

JEROME SALLE

Anthony Zimmer

MovieMovie classics
CrimeThriller

[79/100]   
12/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Does Anthony Zimmer sound a bit obscure? And yet, without realizing it, changes are big that you’re familiar with this story. This French crime movie from 2005 was remade by Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck (yes, him from Das Leben Der Anderen). The bell doesn’t ring yet? We’re talking about The Tourist with Johnny Depp and Angelina Jolie.

But let’s stick to the original. A simple reason might be because Sophie Marceau is a bigger beauty as Brad Pitt’s wife. That, and of course because the original French movie is much better too! Sophie Marceau is perfect as femme fatale Chiara Manzoni who upsets the ordinary life from the quite nerdy François Taillandier (Yvan Attal). François is by train on his way to his country cottage, but in no time he ends up with the handsome brunette in the prestigious Carlton-hotel in Nice. The poor sod has not many reasons to start laughing as he’s involved in a quite danger cat and mouse act.

Anthony Zimmer is a nice movie that has to be remembered in the first place for the excellent acting. The story is standard, but far too predictable and even a bit pointless. But that’s only a minor point (we’re not kidding). Yvan Attal (a superstar in France and the lucky one who ends up every day in bed with Charlotte Gainsbourg) plays perfect. And then there’s of course Sophie Marceau: the woman who is made for the silver screen and even if I consider her as my heroine, I think I’m on the right track by stating that she’s one of the most underrated European actresses. Just ask Andrzej Żuławski!

Surely worth a watch, that one! It’s strange to notice but if you want to have this French movie on Blu-ray then you have to go to Germany for that. It’s released over there as Fluchpunkt Nizza, the regular DVD is available in France though.

Didier BECU
12/10/2014


NL

Ook al zegt de titel Anthony Zimmer je niets, zou het best kunnen dat je het verhaal wel kent. Deze misdaadthriller uit 2005 werd immers vijf jaar later door Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck (jawel, van Das Leben Der Anderen) in een Amerikaans jasje gegoten. Indien het filmbelletje nog niet rinkelt hebben we het natuurlijk over The Tourist met Johnny Depp en Angelina Jolie.

Maar laat het ons alsnog op het origineel houden, al was het maar voor Sophie Marceau die zoveel mooier is (en beter acteert) dan de echtgenote van mijnheer Pitt. De Française speelt de uitgekookte femme fatale Chiara Manzoni die het leven van de wat sullige, nietsvermoedende François Taillandier (Yvan Attal) totaal overhoop gooit. François is met de hogesnelheidstrein op weg naar een buitenverblijf, maar voor hij het weet zit hij samen met de knappe brunette in een poepsjieke suite van het Carlton-hotel in Nice. De arme drommel heeft wel weinig reden tot juichen, want voor hij het beseft zit hij verstrikt in een uiterst gevaarlijk kat-en-muisspel.

Anthony Zimmer is een onderhoudende film die vooral uitblinkt door zijn acteerprestaties. Het verhaal is interessant, maar net iets te voorspelbaar. Gelukkig is er wel Yvan Attal (een superster in Frankrijk en de man die dagelijks de lakens met Charlotte Gainsbourg deelt). En dan is er natuurlijk Sophie Marceau: een vrouw die voor het witte doek is geboren en wellicht de meest onderschatte actrice in Europa is.

Zeker het bekijken waard dus en zelfs meer dan dat. De film is vreemd genoeg alleen maar in Duitsland op Blu-ray te vinden onder de titel Fluchpunkt Nizza, de reguliere dvd vind je in Frankrijk.

Didier BECU
12/10/2014


12/10/2014 : JEROME SALLE - Anthony Zimmer 12/10/2014 : JEROME SALLE - Anthony Zimmer 12/10/2014 : JEROME SALLE - Anthony Zimmer 12/10/2014 : JEROME SALLE - Anthony Zimmer 12/10/2014 : JEROME SALLE - Anthony Zimmer 12/10/2014 : JEROME SALLE - Anthony Zimmer 12/10/2014 : JEROME SALLE - Anthony Zimmer 12/10/2014 : JEROME SALLE - Anthony Zimmer 12/10/2014 : JEROME SALLE - Anthony Zimmer 12/10/2014 : JEROME SALLE - Anthony Zimmer 12/10/2014 : JEROME SALLE - Anthony Zimmer 12/10/2014 : JEROME SALLE - Anthony Zimmer 12/10/2014 : JEROME SALLE - Anthony Zimmer 12/10/2014 : JEROME SALLE - Anthony Zimmer 12/10/2014 : JEROME SALLE - Anthony Zimmer 12/10/2014 : JEROME SALLE - Anthony Zimmer

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace
23
07
NORMA LOY
STRANGE SUMMER' (BAPHOMET)