tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland

JERUSHA HESS

Austenland

Movie
Comedy

[55/100]   

SONY SPHE
01/05/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Just imagine this: you’re a fan and somewhere there’s a theme park in where you can live like your idol. Well, Elvisfans can go to Graceland and for Jane Hayes (Keri Russell) who happens to be a huge admirer from Jane Austen there’s Austenland. The woman has read her books a thousand times and in her own created world she daily dreams about her own Mr. Darcy. Who knows she finds him in Austenland. Therefore she sells everything she has and buys a ticket. Unfortunately she’s a bit stingy and buys one of the cheaper versions. That means she’s part of the low class. Mrs. Wattlesbrook (Jane Seymour) who works on the scripts makes her prince charming the stable boy (Bret McKenzie), not exactly the romance Jane knows from Pride And Prejudice

The big riddle for me is to find out for whom this film is actually made. I suppose this romcom is a bit too silly for the Austen-fans and on the other hand I can imagine that fans from romantic movies won’t be longing for passages that come out of the books from these British novelist. The script is a bit messy and some dialogues are quite stupid, and to top it all: the performances are not exactly what you’d call great! Keri Russell does what’s expected to do, but after some time she gets irritating. Strangely enough this movie gained some fame at the prestigious Sundance-festival. We’re not that excited cos after an hour and half you completely forgot it. So perhaps you better watch The Jane Austen Book Club by Robin Swicord if you want to dive in the world from Austen-devotees.

Austenland is out on DVD on Sony Home Entertainment

Didier BECU
01/05/2014


NL

Stel je voor: je bent fan van iemand en er is zowaar een volledig attractiepark rond die persoon gebouwd, dan wil je dat toch bezoeken, niet? In Vlaanderen konden fans van cowboy Bobbejaan Schoepen destijds hun hartje in Lichtaart ophalen, maar Jane Hayes (Keri Russell) kan dat sinds kort ook. Haar leven staat volledig in het teken van de Britse schrijfster Jane Austen. Niet alleen heeft zij ontelbare keren haar boeken verslonden, ook heeft zij een eigen droomwereldje gecreëerd waarin zij wacht op de ware Mr. Darcy. En misschien vindt zij die wel in het Britse Austenland: een themapark dat gebouwd is rond Jane Austen! Jane verkoopt haar hele hebben en houden voor een peperduur toegangskaartje. Helaas kiest zij voor het “koperen pakket”. Dat betekent dat de vrouw tot de lagere klasse behoort. Mrs. Wattlesbrook (Jane Seymour) die de scenario’s voor de bezoekers van het themapark bedenkt, kiest er dan ook voor dat de droomprins van de goedkope kaartjes slechts een staljongen (Bret McKenzie) is. Niet bepaald de romantiek die Jane uit Pride And Prejudice kent dus…

Het grote raadsel is voor welk doelpubliek deze film is gemaakt. Wellicht is deze romcom te dwaas en net iets te modern voor Austen-fans en hebben liefhebbers van romantische onzin geen behoefte aan Austen-dialogen. Het scenario is niet alleen rommelig, maar sommige scènes zijn op minst tenenkrommend. Ook de acteerprestaties zijn niet van een hoog niveau. Keri Russell doet wat van haar wordt verwacht, maar begint na een tijdje toch te irriteren. Vreemd genoeg scoorde deze film behoorlijk op het befaamde Sundance-festival. Na anderhalf uur ben je deze ongein vergeten. Wie het toch niet kan laten om een prent over de obsessie van Jane Austen te zien, houdt het dus misschien maar beter op The Jane Austen Book Club van Robin Swicord.

Austenland is vanaf nu op dvd verkrijgbaar via Sony Home Entertainment.

Didier BECU
01/05/2014


01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland

Music reviews

07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!
03
05
On this day, 16 years ago Nine Inch Nails released [WITH_TEETH]!
02
05
32 years of Disintegration!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo
07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party
05
05
SEVERE ILLUSION
Contribution
04
05
KIM WILDE
Cambodia
03
05
SYD 31
Bulldoze Everything
02
05
THE CURE
10:15 Saturday Night