tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

25/12/2014 : JIM ABRAHAMS - Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael

JIM ABRAHAMS

Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael

MovieMovie classics
Coming Of Age

[70/100]   

Dutch FilmWorks
25/12/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Perhaps we were all a little in love with Winona Ryder? At least you were if you have experienced the 90’s. The brunette with the pretty little face became indeed famous for another reason (kleptomania) by which we sometimes forget that she is also a good actress. After Beetlejuice and the Jerry Lee Lewis biopic Great Balls Of Fire ! ,Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael was her first major film.

The strangest thing about this coming of age film is the fact that Jim Abrahams is the director. After all, he was the king of parody (something we now call a spoof ). Hot Shots !, Airplane and The Naked Gun: these are all Jim Abrahams products. It is curious that he is the one who made a film about a disturbed teenage girl. The whole school thinks that Dinky Bossetti (Winona Ryder ) is a weird ninny. She is always dresses in black, some even find that the girl stinks. She lives in a village that is completely under the spell of one Roxy Carmichael, an inhabitant who went to Hollywood to seek fame. Dinky imagines that she is the daughter of the star.

The strongest point of this drama is the phenomenal role of Winona Ryder, who made the whole cast (if you don’t count Jeff Daniels) almost pointless. You notice that Abraham wanted more, but that he obeyed the Hollywood Rules that reduce the movie at times to a tasteless pudding. The best example is the scene in which Dinky might be in love with her female ​​teacher. It is a beautiful scene of two minutes, but Abraham does not return to the idea later. The happy ending feels a bit forced either, but if you forget these minor points, then Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael is such a lost movie from the 90’s that deserves to be re-discovered.

Didier BECU
25/12/2014


NL

Wellicht waren we allemaal wel een beetje verliefd op Winona Ryder, niet? Ten minste als je de jaren 90 bewust hebt meegemaakt. De brunette met het mooie snoetje werd weliswaar voor een heel andere reden beroemd (kleptomanie) waardoor we wel eens durven vergeten dat ze ook een steengoede actrice is. Na Beetlejuice en de Jerry Lee Lewis-biopic Great Balls Of Fire! was Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael haar eerste grote film.

Het vreemdste aan deze coming-of-age-film is het feit dat Jim Abrahams de regisseur van dienst is. Hij was immers de koning van de parodie (iets wat men tegenwoordig een spoof noemt). Hot Shots!, Airplane of The Naked Gun: het zijn allemaal Jim Abrahams-producten. Het is dan ook merkwaardig dat net dit heerschap een film maakt over een tienermeisje dat met zichzelf in de knoop ligt. De hele school vindt Dinky Bossetti (Winona Ryder) maar een rare trien. Ze kleedt zich steeds in het zwart, sommigen vinden zelfs dat het meisje stinkt. Ze leeft bovendien in een dorpje dat volledig in de ban is van ene Roxy Carmichael: een dorpelinge die naar Hollywood trok. Dinky beeldt zich in dat ze de dochter van de vedette is.

Het sterkste punt van dit drama is zonder meer de fenomenale vertolking van Winona Ryder die de hele (onbekende, op Jeff Daniels na) onbekende cast naar huis speelt. Je merkt dat Abrahams meer wilde, maar zich toch mooi aan de Hollywoodregels houdt waardoor de film uiteindelijk een beetje aanvoelt als een smaakloze pudding. Het mooiste voorbeeld is dat er op een bepaald moment sprake is van het feit dat Dinky verliefd is op haar lerares. Het is een prachtige scène van een tweetal minuten, maar Abrahams komt er niet meer op terug. Ook het happy end voelt vrij geforceerd aan, maar als je deze minpunten vergeet is Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael zo’n verloren filmpje uit de jaren 90 dat nog wel eens uit de kast mag worden gehaald. 

Didier BECU
25/12/2014


25/12/2014 : JIM ABRAHAMS - Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael 25/12/2014 : JIM ABRAHAMS - Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael 25/12/2014 : JIM ABRAHAMS - Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael 25/12/2014 : JIM ABRAHAMS - Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael 25/12/2014 : JIM ABRAHAMS - Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael 25/12/2014 : JIM ABRAHAMS - Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael 25/12/2014 : JIM ABRAHAMS - Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael 25/12/2014 : JIM ABRAHAMS - Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael 25/12/2014 : JIM ABRAHAMS - Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael 25/12/2014 : JIM ABRAHAMS - Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael 25/12/2014 : JIM ABRAHAMS - Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael 25/12/2014 : JIM ABRAHAMS - Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael 25/12/2014 : JIM ABRAHAMS - Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael 25/12/2014 : JIM ABRAHAMS - Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael 25/12/2014 : JIM ABRAHAMS - Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael 25/12/2014 : JIM ABRAHAMS - Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret
08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo
07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party