tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

JIM MICKLE

Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Movie
CrimeThriller
Filmfest Gent
21/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Don Johnson at FilmFest Ghent? I never thought that this would happen. Sadly enough, we didn’t see Sonny Crockett arriving with his Ferrari at the entrance of Kinepolis, but he was featured in the newest movie by Jim Mickle. Agreed, it sounds less spectacular to say, but it’s ace though! Especially because you can say that Cold In July is the revelation of this year in the indiethriller circuit, just like Blue Ruin was last year.

This young American director has caught Michael C. Hall (of course that’s Dexter) to take part in this impressive cast. Hall performs a normal housefather who shoots (without wanting it) a burglar. The local police felicitates the man, but once the dad from the crook (Sam Shepard) and sheriff Jim Bob (Don Johnson in an amazing cowboy outfit) show up, things turn out to be totally different.

Saying more about the adaption from this Joe R. Landsdale-book would be a total sin. Mickle knows very well how to make an ingenious thriller and it shows that artists like William Friedkin were his inspiration. The acting is sublime and even if it’s hard to understand the mumbling from Don Johnson, you can see what an underrated actor this man is. We love (no we adore!) Miami Vice, but in a honest world there should be more for Don than just that! So yes, Cold In July belongs to the top of 2014 and is an absolute must see!

Didier BECU
21/10/2014


NL

Don Johnson op FilmFest Gent? Dat we dat nog mogen meemaken! Neen, jammer genoeg kwam Sonny Crockett niet in levende lijve met een Ferrari op de rode loper afgestormd, maar we zagen hem wel aan het werk in één van de knapste thrillers van dit jaar. Was verleden jaar Blue Ruin de indierevelatie in Gent dan is dat deze keer ongetwijfeld Cold In July: de nieuwe Jim Mickle.

Deze jonge Amerikaanse regisseur kon Michael C. Hall (Dexter, natuurlijk!) strikken voor een heel andere soort rol. Een brave huisvader die plots zonder dat hij het wil een inbreker omver maait. De lokale politie feliciteert hem met de vangst, maar wanneer zowel de vader van de overleden boef (Sam Shepard) als sheriff Jim Bob (Don Johnson in cowboyoutfit) op de proppen komen lijkt het verhaal een heel andere wending te krijgen.

Meer vertellen over deze verfilming van het Joe R. Landsdale-boek zou zonde zijn. Mickle weet perfect wat een goede thriller inhoudt en grijpt graag terug naar de grote voorbeelden uit de jaren 70 en 80. William Friedkin is dus nooit ver weg. De acteerprestaties zijn schitterend en ook al kun je niet altijd het gemompel van Don Johnson begrijpen zet hij alweer een staaltje acteerkunst van de bovenste plank neer. Een film die je in de gaten moet houden als hij in roulatie komt, want Cold In July behoort tot de top van 2014.

Didier BECU
21/10/2014


21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here