tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

17/12/2012 : JOB KARMA - Review of the concert at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012

JOB KARMA

Review of the concert at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012

Concert
Dark AmbientIndustrial

[85/100]   
17/12/2012, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

The second band on the BIM Fest lineup was Job Karma, an audiovisual project from Wroclaw that explores the trans-ambient area of postindustrial aesthetics. The band was formed in 1997 by Maciek Frett and Aureliusz Pisarzewski. On stage, the two musicians are very discrete, concentrated on their work on laptops and controllers. The most striking aspect besides the music are the visual aspect, outstanding cartoonesque video art designed by Arek Baginski to show the the relations human - machines and machine - sacrum. They picture the collapse of values at the cost of growing commercialization of everyday individual and social existence. It made me think of the wonderful animations of Gerald Scarfe in Pink Floyd's The Wall.

In the musical domain, Job Karma combines the analog and digital sound of electronic instruments with looped sequences. There's also a vintage radio receiver standing on a foot, with which the musicians create analog effects. The band played mostly tracks from their album "Punkt" but also one track from "Tschernobyl": HYDROXIZINUM CITY. Check a video excerpt of "Hel" as they performed it:

"Job" means "fuck" in Russian so the name of the band can be translated in "fucking karma"... A striking name which perfectly reflects the band's polarity "ambient" vs "industrial". It's soft music but it conveys all the violence of modern society. A very impressive set and the first surprise of the festival.

Setlist: Raf, You Are The Key, Brain Processing, Bronte, Hel, Terrorvizja and Hydroxizinum City.

Note that Job Karma also played on Day 2 with the "7JK" project they share with Matt Howden from Sieben.

Check the pictures of the concert by Xavier Marquis here.
Before the BIM Fest, Job Karma gave an interview to peek-a-boo: read it here.

http://www.jobkarma.pl

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
17/12/2012


Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace
23
07
NORMA LOY
STRANGE SUMMER' (BAPHOMET)
22
07
ALLES
My