tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

04/10/2015 : JOHAN HANSSON (UNITARY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

JOHAN HANSSON (UNITARY)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
04/10/2015, Didier BECU

Some people will always link Sweden with IKEA, but of course the music fan knows better! The country will always be a synonym for splendid metal, magnificent pop and powerful EBM. In the last category we find Unitary, the project of Johan Hansson, who just has a new single out (Unafraid). We ask Johan to reveal us his ten albums!

Ten albums that I treasure and must delve into time and again.

1. TYPE O NEGATIVE ‎– World Coming Down
I lost one of my parents at a relatively young age and this album became really important to me. Two songs deal with the difficulties of watching family members and loved ones die. The music is a perfect mix of goth and doom metal. It's full of interesting details, including the amazing photography and design work.

2. DEPECHE MODE‎– Songs Of Faith And Devotion
My personal favorite from Depeche Mode's entire catalogue. This is an album I've been listening to a lot, maybe more than any other CD. It's like sinking into a lush and comfortable darkness. They were just so competent in everything they did around this time period. This is one album I would need on a desert island.

3. COVENANT– Dreams Of A Cryotank
I'll never forget the first time I heard the chorus of Shipwreck.."I watch myself in the boiling sea..". I was hooked. To me, these were the golden years of this band and Eskil brought something special with his voice and vocal arrangements. Even if not all songs are as great as Shipwreck,  the hit tracks on this album opened my eyes to this genre.

4. ENTOMBED ‎– Left Hand Path
I think I was 13 when I bought this album and it was something completely new to me. It was the melodic part of the opening track that first grabbed me, with a synth line they covered from a 70's horror film. The guitar tone was trendsetting and the riffs flow continuously throughout the album. 

5. APOPTYGMA BERZERK – 7
To me, the most wonderful thing about this album is the ghost track at the end. Groth's voice is loaded with vengeance and makes you wanna break free from adversity. Apoptygma Berzerk is known to have produced a lot of catchy releases but this album, as a whole, is the one that has meant most to me. It has been with me for a long time.

6. VNV NATION ‎– Empires
I spent many sleepless night listening to this album. They are dark and epic songs...the bittersweet lyrics...there is no question about Ronan's exceptional talent. They are pioneers with a style that can't be copied. The most impressive part is the load of great music they put out there, up until about 10 years ago. 

7. KATATONIA ‎– Sounds Of Decay
This is a personal favorite of mine, even though I have been enjoying their music since the start in the early 90s. Sounds Of Decay has solid, great material throughout the whole album. This is actually not the original album release, but I prefer the EP since it's a lot more harsh. There is a very fitting sleeve design too, which is an important factor, I think.

8. JUDAS PRIEST ‎– Painkiller
This is the ultimate heavy metal album right when Judas Priest was, at least in my mind, at its peak. The vocal performance by Rob Halford is just brutal. Each and every track on this album is top notch. They were the elite formation of the genre with this release.

9. LEATHER STRIP – Mix tape
I could not decide on one album by Leather Strip. The rich and ripping bass lines, that I tried to emulate on a few occasions and failed miserably, are wonderful. I also realize how much effort Claus puts into the intros with intriguing soundscapes. This is the only early 90's EBM that really inspired me to make music.

10. MAYHEM ‎– De Mysteriis Dom Sathanas
Religious concepts aside, this was a groundbreaking album in its genre. Everything was produced to perfection, let alone the extraordinary instrumental performances. For an old drummer like myself, the restless grinding just sucks you in. I'm sure most people that were involved in the scene at the time would agree on this being a true metal masterpiece. I actually have in my possession the original T-shirts, which should be quite rare these days. 

Didier BECU
04/10/2015


04/10/2015 : JOHAN HANSSON (UNITARY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 04/10/2015 : JOHAN HANSSON (UNITARY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 04/10/2015 : JOHAN HANSSON (UNITARY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 04/10/2015 : JOHAN HANSSON (UNITARY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 04/10/2015 : JOHAN HANSSON (UNITARY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 04/10/2015 : JOHAN HANSSON (UNITARY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 04/10/2015 : JOHAN HANSSON (UNITARY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 04/10/2015 : JOHAN HANSSON (UNITARY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 04/10/2015 : JOHAN HANSSON (UNITARY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 04/10/2015 : JOHAN HANSSON (UNITARY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 04/10/2015 : JOHAN HANSSON (UNITARY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall