tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A

JOHN CROWLEY

Boy A

MovieMovie classics
Drama

[74/100]   

Homescreen
22/09/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Some fans were really having some doubts if new Spiderman Andrew Garfield could actually act. Anyone who is still having that question in mind better checks out Boy A by John Crowley. In this movie Garfield performs Jack Burridge: a youngster who comes free after being years in youth prison.

Jack has finished his punishment and thanks to a rehabilitation programme he finds a job as a courier. The shy guy even manages in stealing the heart from Michelle (Katie Lyons). At the moment Jack thinks that luck has finally found his side, he faces that not everyone is ready to forgive his brutal act. After having appeared with a photo in the local newspaper, Jacks new future comes in danger: for some a monster never deserves a second chance.

Director Crowley who previously made Intermission (and by this saddling us up forever with Colin Farrell) made from Boy A a very intriguing drama that comes close to Ken Loach and Mike Leigh. We know that Jack did something terrible, but not precisely what. By using sporadic flashbacks we are witnessing little by little the committed crime. A genius touch as by this the viewer gets sympathy for the little crook, even if that can change once you know what happened!

Besides Garfield, there is always the eternal Peter Mullan who has become since My Name Is Joe the ideal face for social dramas like these. Garfield is excellent, the script from Mark O’Rowe that’s been based upon a book by Jonathan Trigell is touching and at the end we assure you’ll swallow a very bitter pill. A real tip this one!

Didier BECU
22/09/2014


NL

Heel wat fans hadden hun bedenkingen toen Andrew Garfield als nieuwe Spiderman werd aangekondigd, wat kon deze jonge kerel wel acteren? Wie daaraan twijfelt moet beslist Boy A van John Crowley zien waarin de jonge Garfield gestalte geeft aan Jack Burridge: een jonge knaap die na een jarenlang verblijf in een jeugdgevangenis op vrije voeten komt.

Hij heeft zijn straf uitgezeten en dankzij een rehabilitatieprogramma wordt hij koerier bij een pakjesdienst. De schuchtere jongen slaagt er zelfs in om het hart van Michelle (Katie Lyons) te veroveren. Maar niet iedereen is vergevensgezind, wanneer zijn foto in een lokale krant komt beroeren de slachtoffers zich over Jacks toekomst: een monster heeft in hun ogen immers geen kans op een nieuwe start.

Regisseur Crowley die eerder Intermission maakte en ons daardoor voorgoed met Colin Farrell opzadelde maakte van Boy A een intrigerend drama dat in de lijn ligt van Ken Loach en Mike Leigh. We weten wel dat Jack iets verschrikkelijks heeft uitgespookt, maar niet wat precies. Door het gebruik van sporadische flashbacks komt de misdaad beetje bij beetje aan het licht (het hoogtepunt van het drama wordt voor het einde bewaard), en krijg je zo sympathie voor het gewezen boefje en gun je hem zijn nieuwe leven. Vanaf het moment dat je weet hoe de vork precies aan de steel zit kan deze mening enigszins veranderen!

Naast Garfield is er een tevens een perfecte Peter Mullan aan het werk die sinds My Name Is Joe de geknipte man is om in dergelijke sociale drama’s op te draven. Garfield is groots, het scenario van Mark O’Rowe dat op een boek van Jonathan Trigell is gebaseerd aangrijpend en je krijgt er op het einde nog een krop in de keel bovenop. Een echte aanrader dus.

Didier BECU
22/09/2014


22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A 22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A 22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A 22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A 22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A 22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A 22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A 22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A 22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A 22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A 22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)