tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A

JOHN CROWLEY

Boy A

MovieMovie classics
Drama

[74/100]   

Homescreen
22/09/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Some fans were really having some doubts if new Spiderman Andrew Garfield could actually act. Anyone who is still having that question in mind better checks out Boy A by John Crowley. In this movie Garfield performs Jack Burridge: a youngster who comes free after being years in youth prison.

Jack has finished his punishment and thanks to a rehabilitation programme he finds a job as a courier. The shy guy even manages in stealing the heart from Michelle (Katie Lyons). At the moment Jack thinks that luck has finally found his side, he faces that not everyone is ready to forgive his brutal act. After having appeared with a photo in the local newspaper, Jacks new future comes in danger: for some a monster never deserves a second chance.

Director Crowley who previously made Intermission (and by this saddling us up forever with Colin Farrell) made from Boy A a very intriguing drama that comes close to Ken Loach and Mike Leigh. We know that Jack did something terrible, but not precisely what. By using sporadic flashbacks we are witnessing little by little the committed crime. A genius touch as by this the viewer gets sympathy for the little crook, even if that can change once you know what happened!

Besides Garfield, there is always the eternal Peter Mullan who has become since My Name Is Joe the ideal face for social dramas like these. Garfield is excellent, the script from Mark O’Rowe that’s been based upon a book by Jonathan Trigell is touching and at the end we assure you’ll swallow a very bitter pill. A real tip this one!

Didier BECU
22/09/2014


NL

Heel wat fans hadden hun bedenkingen toen Andrew Garfield als nieuwe Spiderman werd aangekondigd, wat kon deze jonge kerel wel acteren? Wie daaraan twijfelt moet beslist Boy A van John Crowley zien waarin de jonge Garfield gestalte geeft aan Jack Burridge: een jonge knaap die na een jarenlang verblijf in een jeugdgevangenis op vrije voeten komt.

Hij heeft zijn straf uitgezeten en dankzij een rehabilitatieprogramma wordt hij koerier bij een pakjesdienst. De schuchtere jongen slaagt er zelfs in om het hart van Michelle (Katie Lyons) te veroveren. Maar niet iedereen is vergevensgezind, wanneer zijn foto in een lokale krant komt beroeren de slachtoffers zich over Jacks toekomst: een monster heeft in hun ogen immers geen kans op een nieuwe start.

Regisseur Crowley die eerder Intermission maakte en ons daardoor voorgoed met Colin Farrell opzadelde maakte van Boy A een intrigerend drama dat in de lijn ligt van Ken Loach en Mike Leigh. We weten wel dat Jack iets verschrikkelijks heeft uitgespookt, maar niet wat precies. Door het gebruik van sporadische flashbacks komt de misdaad beetje bij beetje aan het licht (het hoogtepunt van het drama wordt voor het einde bewaard), en krijg je zo sympathie voor het gewezen boefje en gun je hem zijn nieuwe leven. Vanaf het moment dat je weet hoe de vork precies aan de steel zit kan deze mening enigszins veranderen!

Naast Garfield is er een tevens een perfecte Peter Mullan aan het werk die sinds My Name Is Joe de geknipte man is om in dergelijke sociale drama’s op te draven. Garfield is groots, het scenario van Mark O’Rowe dat op een boek van Jonathan Trigell is gebaseerd aangrijpend en je krijgt er op het einde nog een krop in de keel bovenop. Een echte aanrader dus.

Didier BECU
22/09/2014


22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A 22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A 22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A 22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A 22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A 22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A 22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A 22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A 22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A 22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A 22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret