tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks

JOHN CURRAN

FILM: Tracks

MovieCinema
Biography
A-Film
27/06/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Of course you already noticed this for quite a time, but not only wants Peek-A-Boo to inform you about the alternative musicscene, since shortly we also have added the wonderful world from the movies to that. And there’s nothing that can stop us. Apart from informing you about what’s hot on the DVD-market, we also will focus on what’s going on at the silver screen. The first movie that is put in the spotlight is Tracks.


This movie about camels (hmmm, yes!) will be in the Belgian theatres from 2nd July on and is recommended for fans of nature movies. Forget your dirty thoughts as we’re talking about real nature movies!


In about two hours director John Curran tells the story of Robyn Davidson (Mia Wasikowska), a tough lady who in the mid 70’s made a 140 miles long journey through Australia. Her only company were three camels and a dog. She wants to do it all by herself, but as she’s quite proud of her actions, she allows regularly the company of photographer Rick Smolan (Adam Driver) who publishes the pictures in National Geographic. The journey is surely not without danger. The sole people the camel lady trusts are Aboriginals.


Anyone who is bored when seeing long shots from landscapes better leave this movie for what is, but those who are longing to see nature on the screen will be pleased. But let’s not forget the decent acting too. Due to the subject, Mia Wasikowska is forced to make this movie almost an one-man-show, and since Jane Eyre we know she can!


Maybe it would have been better if Curran whom you might know from The Painted Veil would have made the movie a bit less mellow, but don’t forget the camels either! You’ll never believe it but those animals can be dangerous!


Tracks is distributed by A-Film.

Didier BECU
27/06/2014


NL

Je hebt het wellicht al een tijdje gemerkt (en dat kan ook niet anders!) maar Peek-A-Boo wil onze lezers niet alleen onderdompelen in de wereld van de alternatieve muziek, ook het medium film heeft sinds kort bij ons zijn vaste stek gevonden. We doen daar nog een schepje bovenop, want naast informatie over wat er zich op de dvd-markt afspeelt, richten wij voortaan ook onze ogen op het witte doek.

Tracks is meteen de prent die de spits mag afbijten. Deze kamelenfilm (hmm, jawel!) loopt vanaf 2 juli in onze zalen en is een aanrader voor liefhebbers van natuurfilms. Neen, we hebben het niet over blote billen, maar wel over de echte natuur!


Bijna twee uur lang vertelt regisseur John Curran het relaas van Robyn Davidson (Mia Wasikowska), een bikkelharde tante die in het midden van de jaren 70 besloot om een 2300 kilometer lange tocht door Australië te maken. Haar enige gezelschap bestond uit drie kamelen en een hond. Omdat de vrouw ijdel is en wil dat haar heldentocht de wereld bereikt laat ze af en toe het gezelschap van fotograaf Rick Smolan (Adam Driver) toe die de kiekjes in National Geographic publiceert. Het is zeker geen ongevaarlijke tocht. De enige mensen die de camel lady echt vertrouwt zijn de Aboriginals.


Wie een broertje dood heeft aan lange shots van landschappen laat deze prent maar best links liggen, want het is vooral het oog van de natuurliefhebber dat op zijn wenken wordt bediend. Gelukkig zijn er ook nog degelijke acteerprestaties. Wegens het onderwerp is Mia Wasikowska bijna verplicht om er een onemanshow van te maken en dat doet ze, zoals we dat sinds Jane Eyre weten, steeds met bravoure.


Regisseur Curran die je misschien kent van The Painted Veil had er misschien beter aan gedaan om het verhaal iets minder melig te maken, maar geregeld komen de kamelen de orde versturen. Je raadt het nooit, maar soms kunnen dat verdraaid gevaarlijke beesten zijn!


Tracks is uitgebracht via A-Film.

Didier BECU
27/06/2014


27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks 27/06/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - FILM: Tracks

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
WE HAVE BAND
Watertight
17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn