tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks

JOHN CURRAN

Tracks

Movie
BiographyDrama

[54/100]   

A-Film
11/09/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Some time ago we tried to convince our readers to buy a ticket for a very unusual film. Some weeks later we noticed that Tracks wasn’t exactly what you’d call a hit. With this movie now being released on both DVD and Blu-ray we won’t change our words (of course not!), but maybe you can change your mind? The truth however forces us to tell that not everybody will like Tracks. It’s even more difficult to convince people to watch a film that deals about (hmmm) camels! That was marketing wise probably the biggest problem. Shame!

In about two hours director John Curran tells the story of Robyn Davidson (Mia Wasikowska), a tough lady who in the mid 70’s made a 140 miles long journey through Australia. Her only company were three camels and a dog. She wants to do it all by herself, but as she’s quite proud of her actions, she allows regularly the company of photographer Rick Smolan (Adam Driver) who publishes the pictures in National Geographic. The journey is surely not without danger. The sole people the camel lady trusts are Aboriginals.

Anyone who is bored when seeing long shots from landscapes better leave this movie for what is, but those who are longing to see nature on the screen will be pleased. But let’s not forget the decent acting too. Due to the subject, Mia Wasikowska is forced to make this movie almost an one-man-show, and since Jane Eyre we know she can!

Maybe it would have been better if Curran whom you might know from The Painted Veil would have made the movie a bit less mellow, but don’t forget the camels either! You’ll never believe it but those animals can be dangerous!

Tracks is out on DVD and Blu-ray on A-Film. A tip? We already told you, not?

 

Didier BECU
11/09/2014


NL

Een tijdje geleden probeerden we onze lezers warm te maken om eens een bioscoopkaartje voor een zeer ongewone film te kopen. Ondertussen verdween Tracks in geen tijd uit de bioscoopcomplexen, maar dat betekent geenszins dat we onze woorden nu deze prent op Blu-ray is uitgebracht moeten veranderen. De waarheid gebiedt ons evenwel om te zeggen dat Tracks zeker geen spek voor ieders bek is! Want wie wil er nu een film over kamelen zien? Juist, bijna niemand dus en dat is waarschijnlijk ook het grote struikelblok om deze film een degelijke marketing te bezorgen. Jammer.

Bijna twee uur lang vertelt regisseur John Curran het relaas van Robyn Davidson (Mia Wasikowska), een bikkelharde tante die in het midden van de jaren 70 besloot om een 2300 kilometer lange tocht door Australië te maken. Haar enige gezelschap bestond uit drie kamelen en een hond. Omdat de vrouw ijdel is en wil dat haar heldentocht de aandacht van de wereld bereikt laat ze af en toe het gezelschap van fotograaf Rick Smolan (Adam Driver) toe die de kiekjes in National Geographic publiceert. Het is zeker geen ongevaarlijke tocht. De enige mensen die de camel lady echt vertrouwt zijn de Aboriginals.

Wie een broertje dood heeft aan lange shots van landschappen laat deze prent maar best links liggen, want het is vooral het oog van de natuurliefhebber dat op zijn wenken wordt bediend. Gelukkig zijn er ook nog degelijke acteerprestaties. Wegens het onderwerp is Mia Wasikowska bijna verplicht om er een onemanshow van te maken en dat doet ze, zoals we dat sinds Jane Eyre weten, steeds met bravoure.

Regisseur Curran die je misschien kent van The Painted Veil had er misschien beter aan gedaan om het verhaal iets minder melig te maken, maar geregeld komen de kamelen de orde versturen. Je raadt het nooit, maar soms kunnen dat verdraaid gevaarlijke beesten zijn!

Deze niet alledaagse, maar zeker fijne film is nu uit op dvd en Blu-ray en dit door A-Film.

Didier BECU
11/09/2014


11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks 11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks 11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks 11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks 11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks 11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks 11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks 11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks 11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks 11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks 11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks 11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks 11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks 11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks 11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks 11/09/2014 : JOHN CURRAN - Tracks

 

Next reviews
NEONSOL • Citadel
• UNFORGETTABLE -SEASON 2
RITHY PANH • The Missing Picture
METROLAND • Thalys
PAUL W.S. ANDERSON • Pompeii
• APOCALYPSE-WORLD WAR 1
THREE WINTERS • Chroma
DAVID GROVIC • The Bag Man
GARETH EDWARDS • Godzilla
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • What I don't see

 

Other reviews from JOHN CURRAN
JOHN CURRAN • FILM: Tracks

 

Same combination of genres: BIOGRAPHY + DRAMA
PETER GREENAWAY • Eisenstein In Guanajuato
ANGELINA JOLIE • Unbroken
JEAN-MARC VALLEE • Dallas Buyers Club
OLIVIER DAHAN • Grace Of Monaco
MARTIN SCORSESE • Raging Bull
MARTIN SCORSESE • The Wolf Of Wall Street
JOEL & ETHAN COEN • Inside llewyn Davis
LEE DANIELS • The Butler
ROB EPSTEIN & JEFFREY FRIEDMAN • Lovelace
STEVEN SODERBERGH • Behind The Candelabra

 

Same genre: BIOGRAPHY
PHILIP GLASS • Words Without Music/Woorden Zonder Muziek
MICHELLE MERCER • Will You Take Me As I Am (Joni Mitchell’s Blue Period)
JOACHIM FEST • Speer, The Final Verdict ׀ Speer
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Robert Zemeckis: The Walk
FEDERICO FELLINI • Il Casanova
CLINT EASTWOOD • American Sniper
JAMES MARSH • The Theory Of Everything
MORTEN TYDLUM • The Imitation Game
FLORIA SIGISMONDI • The Runaways
FRANCIS FORD COPPOLA • Tucker: The Man And His Dreams

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression

Music reviews

07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!
03
05
On this day, 16 years ago Nine Inch Nails released [WITH_TEETH]!
02
05
32 years of Disintegration!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret
08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo
07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party
05
05
SEVERE ILLUSION
Contribution
04
05
KIM WILDE
Cambodia
03
05
SYD 31
Bulldoze Everything