tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

09/02/2015 : JOHN HERZFELD - Out Of Sight

JOHN HERZFELD

Out Of Sight

Movie
Drama

[50/100]   

Dutch FilmWorks
09/02/2015, Didier BECU

EN

For some reason it was decided in Europe to change the title of Reach Me into Out Of Sight. It sounds indeed less corny, but we are stuck with the fact that everyone thinks that this is the film by Steven Soderbergh, starring George Clooney and Jennifer Lopez. Tha i’s not so, it is a kind of collage film, directed by John Herzfeld, a man whose greatest triumph was the reunion of John Travolta and Olivia Newton-John in Two Of A Kind.

It is a star cast nonetheless, with mostly old names that barely can get a job today. But, and that is the other truth, if you can say that you were able to put Tom Sizemore, rapper Nelly, Tom Berenger, Sylvester Stallone, Danny Aiello and Danny Trejo in one movie, then you have all the reasons to be proud. Stallone-fans better take care, because their idol is performing as an impresario. Yes, Sly with glasses, who talks about the serious things of life. Who would have thought that one day a director would have the balls for it? The core of the story takes us back to the American title, because Reach Me is a fictional book that many Americans have read and that had a positive impact on their lives. No one knows who wrote it. Little by little, the fans want to know the author of this book.

Out Of Sight is a collage film: you see snippets of the lives of several people, who have at first sight nothing to do with each other (except reading that book), but in the end everything falls nicely together. Out Of Sight is certainly not a perfect movie, and there are a few passages that were better deleted, but if you forget that (and the too predictable end), then this drama has its enjoyable or at least comical moments. The film is now out on Dutch Filmworks, both on DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
09/02/2015


NL

Om de één of andere reden heeft men in Europa besloten om van Reach Me gewoon Out Of Sight te maken. Het klinkt natuurlijk een pak minder melig, toch zitten we met het feit opgescheept dat iedereen denkt dat het om de film van Steven Soderbergh met George Clooney en Jennifer Lopez gaat. Niet dus, wel een soort collagefilm van John Herzfeld, een man wiens grootste triomf het was dat hij in Two Of A Kind John Travolta en Olivia Newton-John opnieuw samenbracht.

Het zijn wel allemaal oude namen die vandaag nog nauwelijks aan de bak komen, toch kun je van een echte sterrencast spreken. Want zeg nu zelf, wie mensen zoals Tom Sizemore, rapper Nelly, Tom Berenger, Sylvester Stallone, Danny Aiello en Danny Trejo voor één film kan strikken, mag daar toch op zijn minst een beetje trots op zijn. Stallone-fans moeten wel opletten, want hun idool vertolkt deze keer de rol van een impresario. Jawel, Sly met een bril op zijn kop die over de serieuze dingen van het leven praat. Wie had gedacht dat een regisseur daar ooit nog de ballen voor zou hebben? De kern van het verhaal brengt ons terug naar de Amerikaanse titel, want Reach Me is een boek dat heel wat Amerikanen hebben gelezen en dat een positieve invloed op hun leven heeft gehad. Niemand echter weet wie het boek heeft geschreven. Beetje bij beetje willen de fans weten wie de auteur van het boek is.

Out Of Sight is een collagefilm. Je weet wel, je krijgt flarden uit het leven van verschillende mensen te zien, die op het eerste gezicht niets met elkaar te maken hebben (behalve het lezen van dat boek dan), maar op het einde valt alles mooi samen. Out Of Sight is zeker geen perfecte film en er zitten een paar passages in die men beter had geschrapt, maar als je dat (alsook het té voorspelbare einde) eventjes kan vergeten, dan is dit drama goed genietbaar, of bij momenten toch vooral zeer komisch. De film is vanaf nu uit op Dutch FilmWorks, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
09/02/2015


09/02/2015 : JOHN HERZFELD - Out Of Sight 09/02/2015 : JOHN HERZFELD - Out Of Sight 09/02/2015 : JOHN HERZFELD - Out Of Sight 09/02/2015 : JOHN HERZFELD - Out Of Sight 09/02/2015 : JOHN HERZFELD - Out Of Sight 09/02/2015 : JOHN HERZFELD - Out Of Sight 09/02/2015 : JOHN HERZFELD - Out Of Sight 09/02/2015 : JOHN HERZFELD - Out Of Sight 09/02/2015 : JOHN HERZFELD - Out Of Sight 09/02/2015 : JOHN HERZFELD - Out Of Sight 09/02/2015 : JOHN HERZFELD - Out Of Sight 09/02/2015 : JOHN HERZFELD - Out Of Sight

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall