tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

18/11/2015 : JOHNATHAN|CHRISTIAN - The Nothing I Feel

JOHNATHAN|CHRISTIAN

The Nothing I Feel

MusicDigital
Dark WaveGothic RockNew wave

[80/100]   
18/11/2015, Ron SCHOONWATER

EN

The band describes its music as dark wave rock'n'roll doom and although it is not very smart to use the same words when you’re a reviewer, it is a good description.

The Swedish post punk musician Christian Granquist and New Creatures keyboardist Johnathan Moody made with The Nothing I Feel a powerful album. Although there are many 80s influences (think The Sisters Of Mercy, Bauhaus, Joy Division and The Mission) the band has enough personal input to sound different within the permitted framework.

Sometimes it refers to the industrial rock of Mortiis, especially in the vocals. The strongest point of this album is that the songs are intelligent with a beginning and an end, but also plenty of surprises. The production sounds a bit raw, but it fits perfectly with the music and leaves enough space for detaisl, so that for example the classical arrangements in the opening and title track are perfectly audible. The Nothing I Feel sounds consistently good. There is the accessible Goodbye Horses (cover of Q Lazarus), the attractive and danceable semi-ballad Forgotten and danceable, the very Mortiis oriented The Pink & The Blackhearts or Face To Face (a cover of Siouxsie And The Banshees). The other songs have the same quality,The Nothing I Feel is just a good record.

Ron SCHOONWATER
18/11/2015


NL

De band omschrijft z'n muziek als darkwave-rock ‘n roll-doom en hoewel het niet netjes is om dit dan te gebruiken in recensentenland is het wel een goede omschrijving.

De Zweedse postpunker Christian Granquist en New Creatures keyboard speler Johnathan Moody hebben met The Nothing I Feel een sfeervol en sterk album in handen. Hoewel invloeden vanuit de jaren tachtig (denk The Sisters Of Mercy, Bauhaus, Joy Division en The Mission) voelbaar zijn, heeft de band voldoende eigen input om, binnen de toegestane krijtlijnen, anders te klinken. Soms refereert het materiaal zelfs aan de industrial rock van Mortiis, vooral door de vocalen. De sterkste kant van dit album is dat de composities goed doordacht zijn met een begin en een einde, maar ook voldoende verrassingen.

De productie klinkt ietwat rauw, maar dat past juist prima bij de muziek en laat voldoende ruimte voor detail, waardoor bijv. de klassieke arrangementen bij het openings- en tevens titelnummer perfect te horen zijn. Hoewel The Nothing I Feel consequent goed klinkt, geven de volgende songs een goed beeld van Johnatan|Christian. Het langzaam opgebouwde en toegankelijke Goodbye Horses (een cover van Q Lazarus), de sfeervolle semi-ballade Forgotten en het dansbare, bijna Mortiis georiënteerde The Pink & The Black of Face To Face (cover van Siouxsie And The Banshees). De overige nummers hebben dezelfde kwaliteit,waardoor The Nothing I Feel gewoon een goede plaat is.

Ron SCHOONWATER
18/11/2015


 

Next reviews
CROOKED WEATHER • Long Garden (12”)
PSEUDO CODE • Remains to be Heard Volume 1&2
DER NOIR • A Certain Idea Of Love
SIMPLE MINDS • Antwerp, Lotto Arena (15/11/2015)
MONICA RICHARDS • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
URN • Epiphany
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
THE BLOWOUTS • A Veteran of Sorts
RIPPER • A.D.
SHOPPING • Why Choose

 

Same combination of genres: DARK WAVE + GOTHIC ROCK + NEW WAVE
THE SECOND WAVE • Various Artists
ALIEN HAND SYNDROME • Slumber

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
PIG • Pain Is God
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace
23
07
NORMA LOY
STRANGE SUMMER' (BAPHOMET)
22
07
ALLES
My