tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

09/11/2014 : JOHNNY TABOR - Day Of The Mummy

JOHNNY TABOR

Day Of The Mummy

Movie
Found FootageHorror

[40/100]   

RLJ Entertainment
09/11/2014, Didier BECU

EN

We probably will continue repeating that we’re done with those found footage films. Director Johnny Tabor will most likely be the first to disagree, because Day Of The Mummy is one of those movies recorded with a camera that shakes and trembles. Already after ten minutes you hope a new film will soon begin (yes, reviewers are simply supposed to watch it until the last minute).

This time the camera is built in a pair of glasses. Not only do you get a horrible rounded picture, in the corner you constantly see the image of a wealthy businessman who gives orders (Danny Glover making stupid comments). He probably never earned his money so easy.

Oh, we almost forgot to tell the story. Jack Wells (William McNamara ) is an archaeologist, a sort of Indiana Jones, albeit without his charisma. Together with a group of volunteers he visits the grave of Neferu (a terrible pharaoh who was murdered by his brother ) where the so-called Codex stone (a giant diamond) is hidden.

The film is called a horror movie, but the viewer will not tremble much, there’s more danger of falling asleep. The scenario is weak, the performances are bad and of course you have that terrible found footage-image. The only good thing is the mummy, but you only see that in the last ten minutes. We fear that Day Of The Mummy is just for sadomasochists.

Didier BECU
09/11/2014


NL

We zullen waarschijnlijk blijven herhalen dat we het echt wel gehad hebben met found footage-films. Wellicht zal regisseur Johnny Tabor de eerste zijn om ons tegen te spreken, want met Day Of The Mummy zadelt hij de kijker nog maar eens op met een camera die zodanig schudt en beeft dat je na een tiental minuten zit te hopen dat er weldra een nieuwe film aankomt (ja, recensenten worden nu eenmaal verondersteld om alles tot de laatste minuut te bekijken).

De camera is deze keer in een bril ingebouwd. Niet alleen krijg je daardoor een afschuwelijk afgerond beeld, ook heeft men onderaan het beeld van de opdrachtgever ingevoegd (Danny Glover die 70 minuten lang domme opmerkingen maakt of gewoon wat zit te grijnzen). O ja, we waren bijna vergeten om u het verhaal te vertellen. Jack Wells (William Mcnamara) is een archeoloog van de Indiana Jones-soort, weliswaar zonder diens charisma. Samen met een groep vrijwilligers wordt hij door een rijke zakenman (Glover dus die waarschijnlijk nog nooit zo gemakkelijk zijn geld heeft verdiend) uitgenodigd om naar het graf van Neferu (een verschrikkelijke farao die door zijn broer is vermoord) te trekken, want daar is de Codex-steen (een gigantische diamant) verborgen.

De film krijgt het etiket van horror opgeplakt, maar veel zal de kijker niet beven (hij zal eerder indommelen). Het scenario is slap, de vertolkingen ondermaats en dan hebben we het nog niet eens over dat vervelende beeldbrilletje gehad. Het enige lichtpunt is de mummie, helaas komt die pas de laatste tien minuten in actie. We vrezen dat Day Of The Mummy voer is voor sadomasochisten.

Didier BECU
09/11/2014


09/11/2014 : JOHNNY TABOR - Day Of The Mummy 09/11/2014 : JOHNNY TABOR - Day Of The Mummy 09/11/2014 : JOHNNY TABOR - Day Of The Mummy 09/11/2014 : JOHNNY TABOR - Day Of The Mummy 09/11/2014 : JOHNNY TABOR - Day Of The Mummy 09/11/2014 : JOHNNY TABOR - Day Of The Mummy 09/11/2014 : JOHNNY TABOR - Day Of The Mummy

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
WE HAVE BAND
Watertight
17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn