tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

25/03/2015 : JON FAVREAU - Chef

JON FAVREAU

Chef

Movie
ComedyFeelgood Movie

[53/100]   

SONY SPHE
25/03/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Whether we want it or not, cooking has affected the world of cinema. Most of it looks delicious, but cinematographicly you can only cite arthouse classics like Babette’s Feast, Tampopo or (at least if your stomach is strong enough) La Grande Bouffe. Chef by Jon Favreau surely doesn’t fit in that category, but is much better than most movies in the genre. If you are a movie buff, you surely have heard of Jon Favreau, the director of both Iron Man 2 and Cowboys & Aliens, and the director of the upcoming film version of The Jungle Book. Chef is a complete different matter though, a nice inbetweener for which the director could count on lots of big stars.

Chef Carl Casper (Jon Favreau) works in the restaurant of Riva (Dustin Hoffman). It is a well paid job, but his creativity is put on hold when Riva doesn’t want his cook to experiment with the menu. One day the restaurant critic Ramsey Michel (Oliver Platt) gives him a disastrous review. Through the social media Michel challenges him to refresh the menu. It all ends with a big quarrel between the two and Casper even looses his job. His ex-wife Inez (Sofia Vergara) finds a solution though. Her former husband still has a food truck, the ideal opportunity for Casper to find the passion for cooking again. With his best buddy Martin (John Leguizamo) and his son Percy (Emjay Anthony), he begins a road trip.

Chef is a nice movie, but you notice that Favreau can profit from the fact that he is a Hollywood celebrity. How else would you explain that he can get stars like Scarlett Johannson of Robert Downey Jr. for such a movie? Yeah, let us call it the Iron Man-connection, but as a result of hese role the movie differs from the rest. The performances are decent and the script, although quite predictable, is quite okay.

Chef is now out on DVD by Sony SPHE.

Didier BECU
25/03/2015


NL

Of we het nu willen of niet, ook de filmwereld is onderhevig aan de niet te stoppen kookrage. Als zelfs Vlaanderens bekendste topchef in de filmzalen met een documentaire de affiche mag vervuilen, dan is er één ding zeker: het publiek heeft er interesse voor. Wie echter een kritisch oog heeft kan alleen maar vaststellen dat kookkunst tot nu toe nog maar weinig meesterwerken op het witte doek heeft opgeleverd, of je moet teruggrijpen naar arthouseklassiekers als Babette’s Feast, Tampopo of (indien u een sterke maag heeft) La Grande Bouffe. Chef van Jon Favreau past zeker niet in dat rijtje, maar ook niet in de talloze vehikels die we de laatste maanden hebben mogen bekijken. Als je een filmverslaafde bent, dan zal de naam Jon Favreau je beslist bekend in de oren klinken. Hij is inderdaad degene die Iron Man 2, Cowboys & Aliens regisseerde, en binnenkort ook The Jungle Book mag doen. Chef is duidelijk een heel andere film, een tussendoortje, ofschoon de cineast door zijn bekendheid kan opdraven met majestueuze Hollywoodnamen.

Chef Carl Casper (Jon Favreau) werkt in het restaurant van Riva (Dustin Hoffman). De restauranthouder speelt op veilig en aanvaardt niet dat Casper met het menu experimenteert. Casper beseft dat hij gevangen zit en tot overmaat van ramp wordt hij door de restaurantcriticus Ramsey Michel (Oliver Platt) de grond ingeboord. Via de sociale media (een idee dat net iets te veel in deze film wordt gebruikt) daagt Michel hem uit om zijn menu te vernieuwen. Het eindigt met een scheldpartij waardoor Casper uiteindelijk zijn job verliest. Zijn ex-vrouw Inez (Sofia Vergara) heeft echter een oplossing klaar. Haar vorige echtgenoot (blijkbaar scheidt ze vlug) heeft in Miami nog een oude food truck, de ideale manier om weer passie in het koken te vinden, aldus Inez. Casper hapt toe en samen met zijn vriend Martin (John Leguizamo) en zijn zoontje Percy (Emjay Anthony) begint hij aan een ware culinaire roadtrip.

Chef is een leuke film, maar je merkt vooral dat Favreau kan profiteren van het feit dat hij de regisseur van blockbusters is. Hoe zou een regisseur er anders in slagen om voor zo’n kleinschalige film namen als Scarlett Johannson of Robert Downey Jr. te strikken? Het zijn dan ook die rollen die de film boven niveau houden. De vertolkingen zijn behoorlijk en het scenario (alhoewel zeer voorspelbaar) loopt lekker. Deze smulkomedie is zeker niet overdonderend, maar een heel klein beetje beter dan zijn soortgenoten.

Chef is vanaf nu uit op dvd via Sony SPHE.

Didier BECU
25/03/2015


25/03/2015 : JON FAVREAU - Chef 25/03/2015 : JON FAVREAU - Chef 25/03/2015 : JON FAVREAU - Chef 25/03/2015 : JON FAVREAU - Chef 25/03/2015 : JON FAVREAU - Chef 25/03/2015 : JON FAVREAU - Chef 25/03/2015 : JON FAVREAU - Chef 25/03/2015 : JON FAVREAU - Chef 25/03/2015 : JON FAVREAU - Chef 25/03/2015 : JON FAVREAU - Chef 25/03/2015 : JON FAVREAU - Chef 25/03/2015 : JON FAVREAU - Chef 25/03/2015 : JON FAVREAU - Chef 25/03/2015 : JON FAVREAU - Chef 25/03/2015 : JON FAVREAU - Chef

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace