tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

20/08/2014 : JONATHAN SOBOL - The Art Of The Steal

JONATHAN SOBOL

The Art Of The Steal

Movie


[52/100]   

SONY SPHE
20/08/2014, Didier BECU

EN

You never heard this one before? Mind you, if you’re not the all seeing eye then changes are indeed rather small as this heist movie hasn’t even reached the Belgian film theatres. Overseas things weren’t any better as The Art Of The Steal is considered there as one of the biggest flops of the year, even if entertainment wise the movie can compete with The Italian Job or even Ocean’s Eleven.

The central point of the movie is set between brothers Crunch Calhoun (Kurt Russell) and Nicky (Matt Dillon). After being years in a Polish prison, Crunch wants to make the heist of his life. The former stunt driver has designed along with his brother a plan to steal a rare book (the so-called Fifth Gospel that no one has ever seen!). The holy (and worthy) book is stored in a Canadian border house. Everything seems perfect, but no one can be trusted!

As it’s mostly the case in such movies, you better keep your attention going as you’re on a crazy carrousel of betrayal. Sometimes you even will need the repeat function from your remote control (or is just the brains that are getting old?), but in the end all the puzzle pieces fit together! At least if you forget the fact that the whole story is hard to believe!

Director Jonathan Sobol certainly has watched the famous examples from this genre and has understood that these days you better come up with something flashy, so Now You See Me is never that far away!

The cast is made out of old grumpy men, but so what? Dillon and Russell are still excellent actors, and that also counts for supporting actors Jay Baruchel and Terence Stamp.

The Art Of The Steal is surely not a masterpiece, but you can take it at home when you’re just after some nice popcorn cinema.

This heist movie is released by SPHE Benelux on both DVD and Blu-ray. As a bonus you’ll find Doing The Crime (a making of), Getting Away With It (a peep behind the scenes) and also The Theft Of The Mona Lisa. What is the connection between Mona Lisa and The Art Of The Steal? Nah, we won’t tell!

Didier BECU
20/08/2014


NL

Nog nooit deze titel gehoord? Als je geen levende filmencyclopedie bent, dan is dat niet meer dan normaal omdat deze heistfilm in de Benelux niet eens een bioscooprelease haalde. De reden daarvan ligt wellicht in het feit dat deze sympathieke gangsterfilm in de VS één van de grootste flops van het jaar is geworden. In alle eerlijkheid scoort The Art Of The Steal niet bepaald hoog op de originaliteitsladder, maar qua entertainment mag hij gerust concurreren met The Italian Job en zelfs een heel klein beetje met Ocean’s Eleven.

Centraal staat de vreemde verhouding tussen de twee broers Crunch Calhoun (Kurt Russell) en Nicky (Matt Dillon). Na een lang verblijf in een Poolse gevangenis besluit Crunch dat hij nog een keer wil proberen om de kraak van zijn leven te maken. De gewezen stuntrijder bedenkt samen met zijn gladde broer en zijn voormalig team om een zeldzaam boek (een vijfde Evangelie waar niemand weet van heeft!) te stelen uit een grenspost uit Canada. Een perfect plan, maar gaandeweg ontdekt de meesterdief dat niemand te vertrouwen is.

Zoals bij de meeste van dit soort films ben je maar beter anderhalf uur bij de pinken, je zit immers op een knettergekke carrousel van verraad. Je weet wel, niets is wat het lijkt! Soms heb je wel eens de herhaaltoets nodig (of ligt dat gewoon aan mijn ouder wordend brein?), maar de puzzelstukjes vallen na afloop mooi in elkaar, ofschoon het allemaal wat ongeloofwaardig lijkt. Regisseur Jonathan Sobol heeft zeer goed naar de grote voorbeelden gekeken en heeft vooral onthouden dat zo’n soort film maar beter flashy oogt, want jawel: er is meer dan een knipoog naar Now You See Me aanwezig!

De cast bestaat wel uit enkele knarren, maar wat geeft dat? Dillon en Russell zijn nog steedse schitterende acteurs die aardig worden bijgestaan door Jay Baruchel en Terence Stamp.

The Art Of The Steal is zeker geen meesterwerk, maar mag gerust op de salontafel als je niet meer dan een avondje onschuldige popcorncinema wil.

Deze misdaadfilm is uitgebracht op SPHE Benelux, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray. In de bonussectie vind je Doing The Crime (een making of), Getting Away With It (het obligatoire kijkje achter de schermen) en ook nog The Theft Of The Mona Lisa. Wat die Mona Lisa met The Art Of The Steal nu heeft te maken? Dat verklappen we lekker niet!

Didier BECU
20/08/2014


20/08/2014 : JONATHAN SOBOL - The Art Of The Steal 20/08/2014 : JONATHAN SOBOL - The Art Of The Steal 20/08/2014 : JONATHAN SOBOL - The Art Of The Steal 20/08/2014 : JONATHAN SOBOL - The Art Of The Steal 20/08/2014 : JONATHAN SOBOL - The Art Of The Steal 20/08/2014 : JONATHAN SOBOL - The Art Of The Steal 20/08/2014 : JONATHAN SOBOL - The Art Of The Steal 20/08/2014 : JONATHAN SOBOL - The Art Of The Steal 20/08/2014 : JONATHAN SOBOL - The Art Of The Steal 20/08/2014 : JONATHAN SOBOL - The Art Of The Steal 20/08/2014 : JONATHAN SOBOL - The Art Of The Steal 20/08/2014 : JONATHAN SOBOL - The Art Of The Steal 20/08/2014 : JONATHAN SOBOL - The Art Of The Steal 20/08/2014 : JONATHAN SOBOL - The Art Of The Steal 20/08/2014 : JONATHAN SOBOL - The Art Of The Steal

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret