tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

03/01/2014 : JOSHUA MICHAEL STERN - Jobs

JOSHUA MICHAEL STERN

Jobs

Movie
Biography

[65/100]   

Entertainment One
03/01/2014, Didier BECU

EN

There are things I will never understand. The list is far too long to mention, but take just for example the filmversion of the biography from Apple-chief Steve Jobs. Don’t get me wrong, I usually start puking when I hear the name of Ashton Kutcher. Perhaps it’s just because he shared his bed with 80’s-Babe Demi Moore, but then again he’s not exactly the best actor either. Having said that, his performance as Steve Jobs is not immaculate, but not bad either! And you certainly can’t say he hasn’t tried to give it all as for excample he ate just like Jobs only fruit which resulted in him landingup in a hospital! And what about that other movie? OK, it’s true that The Social Network about that other genius (Mark Zuckerberg) is indeed better. But once again, Jobs isn’t that bad. It’s even a good movie, even for those who don’t know the difference between hard- or software.

The sole thing we really regret is that the directing is done by Joshua Michael Stern. This man really avoids any challenge. There are so many things you can say about Jobs: his impossible character, the fact that he never acknowledged the existence of his own daughter, his relation with Bill Gates, Pixar…. Stern mentions this, but it’s only a footnote, he rather pays attention to his boring hippietime. Luckily enough there are some positive things to tell as well. For instance the excellent roles: Matthew Modine as a shrewd commercial boy, Josh Gad as Steve Wozniak (Jobs right hand) and as said before, surprisingly enough Kutcher himself, even if he stays one of the worst actors in Hollywood.

Maybe in the end Jobs deserves better than this, but still we keep on saying that you better give this movie a chance. You even can see Kutcher in a decent role!

Jobs is out on DVD and Blu-ray on Entertainment One.

Didier BECU
03/01/2014


NL

Sommige dingen zal een mens wellicht nooit begrijpen. Het lijstje is jammer genoeg veel te lang om op te sommen, neem nou gewoon bijv. de verfilming van de biografie van Apple-baas Steve Jobs. Neen, ik geef het ruiterlijk toe dat ik naar het kotszakje grijp als ik de naam Ashton Kutcher hoor vallen. We zullen het hem wellicht nooit vergeven dat hij het bed mocht delen met 80’s-Babe Demi Moore, maar zijn vertolking van (zeg maar) de uitvinder van de moderne computer is bijna vlekkeloos. Hij deed zelfs zo erg zijn best dat hij net als de echte Jobs alleen maar fruit wou eten waardoor Kutcher pardoes in het ziekenhuis belandde. En wat die andere film betreft... Wel neen, The Social Network over dat ander informaticagenie (Mark Zuckerberg) is heel wat beter. Toch mag ook Jobs er best wezen, zelfs al ken je het onderscheid niet tussen hard- of software.

Het is jammer dat de regie in de handen van Joshua Michael Stern terecht kwam, want de maker van het Kevin Costner-vehikel Swing Vote schuwt elke uitdaging. Over de man Jobs valt er immers zo veel te vertellen: zijn onmogelijke karakter, het feit dat hij zijn bloedeigen dochter niet wilde erkennen, zijn verzuurde relatie met concurrent Bill Gates, Pixar…. Op het laatste na vermeldt Stern dat wel allemaal eventjes terloops, maar hij gaat er nooit dieper op in. Gelukkig zijn er wel de knappe rollen: Matthew Modine als gehaaide reclamejongen, J.K. Simmons als onwrikbare manager, Josh Gad als Steve Wozniak (de rechterhand van Jobs) en verrassend genoeg Kutcher zelf, ook al blijft hij toch één van de zwakste acteurs die in de straten van Hollywood rondloopt.

Ofschoon Stern veel te lang stilstaat bij de hippieperiode van Jobs, is deze biografie interessant voor de leek die weinig of niets over dit icoon afweet. Misschien verdient de uitvinder van de I-pod uiteindelijk heel wat beter dan deze film, toch kun je Jobs gerust een kans gunnen. Al was het maar om Kutcher eindelijk eens iets goeds te zien doen!

Jobs is zowel op dvd als Blu-ray uit, en dit door Entertainment One.

Didier BECU
03/01/2014


03/01/2014 : JOSHUA MICHAEL STERN - Jobs 03/01/2014 : JOSHUA MICHAEL STERN - Jobs 03/01/2014 : JOSHUA MICHAEL STERN - Jobs 03/01/2014 : JOSHUA MICHAEL STERN - Jobs 03/01/2014 : JOSHUA MICHAEL STERN - Jobs 03/01/2014 : JOSHUA MICHAEL STERN - Jobs 03/01/2014 : JOSHUA MICHAEL STERN - Jobs 03/01/2014 : JOSHUA MICHAEL STERN - Jobs 03/01/2014 : JOSHUA MICHAEL STERN - Jobs 03/01/2014 : JOSHUA MICHAEL STERN - Jobs 03/01/2014 : JOSHUA MICHAEL STERN - Jobs

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
06
Industrial Band SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! Unleashes New Full-Length Album, 'Feral'
16
06
Dark erotronics by Death Loves Veronica
15
06
ASCII-DISKO returns after 10 years of silence
15
06
Today it’s exactly 42 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Tanz Der Automaten now on vinyl!
13
06
American Gothrock-band Sonsombre launches 'Revival'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since in was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
?ANIMA? FEAT. UTAU YUME
Beyond The Fallen
17
06
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
16
06
SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE)
Persona Non Grata
15
06
PURE GROUND
Second Skin
14
06
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)
13
06
LISSA GARRED & JULES MAXWELL
Noyalain (Burn) (Official Video)
12
06
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth