tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

29/04/2015 : KEVIN GREUTERT - Jessabelle

KEVIN GREUTERT

Jessabelle

Movie
Horror

[64/100]   

Dutch FilmWorks
29/04/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Apparently it seems that people always want to hear the bad news first, so here we go! You already have seen a movie like Jessabelle more than once, and it’s kind of normal that you will not find any surprises in it. And what about the good news then? Well, Jessabelle isn’t that bad as some want you to believe, at least if you’re still keen on spending your time on horror.

The movie starts with images of a happy Jessie (Sarah Snook). It seems as if the young will have a bright future with her boyfriend, but unfortunately a passing truck destroys her dream. Her partner is killed and Jessie is taken to a hospital in a very critical condition. She recovers, but she’s bound for the rest of her life to a wheelchair. The only person who’s willing to take care of her, is her father (David Andrews), although he’s not that enthusiastic about it. From the moment she enters his home in Louisiana, we learn to know why. Jessie’s mother died of cancer after she was born. Mom had a dark past and did some things you don’t expect from a loyal spouse (of course we won’t tell you what she did). Jessie discovers some old videotapes her mother recorded. They all contain warnings. Her father is furious when he finds out Jessie saw them. And yes you’re right, from the moment the tapes are being watched a phantom joins the cast!

It was during Saw 3D that producers gave Kevin Greutert the script of Ben Garant (indeed the deputy of Reno 911 and also the writer of the American Taxi). It seemed a good choice, but Greutertcan surely be accused of working in a too routinous way. On the other hand, you will certainly see that he knows how to direct a decent horror flick. A main minor point (there are indeed some) is probably the fact that Jessabelle isn’t bloody enough and will probably be categorized by horror fans as too soft. But believe us, you can find worse than that!

Didier BECU
29/04/2015


NL

Blijkbaar willen de mensen altijd het slechte nieuws eerst horen, dus laten we daarmee maar beginnen. Een film als Jessabelle heb je al meerdere keren gezien. Het is dan ook normaal dat er weinig of geen verrassingen in deze prent zitten. En wat met het (voorspelbare) goede nieuws dan? Wel, Jessabelle is helemaal nog zo slecht niet, ten minste als je nog bereid bent om je tijd op te offeren voor horror.

De film begint met beelden van een dolgelukkige Jessie (Sarah Snook). Het lijkt erop alsof ze met haar vriendje een gouden toekomst tegemoet gaat. Helaas besluit een voorbijrazende vrachtwagen daar anders over. Haar partner overleeft de crash niet en Jessie wordt in kritieke toestand naar het ziekenhuis overgebracht. Het jonge meisje krijgt te horen dat ze voor de rest van haar leven aan een rolstoel gekluisterd zit. De enige die zich over haar nog wil bekommeren is haar wereldvreemde vader (David Andrews), ook al is dat zeer tegen zijn zin. Vanaf het moment dat ze naar zijn verlaten huis in Louisiana trekt, wordt het duidelijk waarom haar vader zo vreemd reageert.

Jessies moeder, die bij haar geboorte stierf aan de gevolgen van kanker, heeft een duister verleden en deed ook allerlei dingen die een trouwe echtgenote niet hoort te doen (wat dat is verklappen we uiteraard niet!). Jessie ontdekt oude videotapes waarop haar moeder boodschappen heeft ingesproken. Het zijn allemaal waarschuwingen. Als de vader ontdekt dat zijn dochter naar die opnames zit te kijken, wordt hij razend. En jawel, beste horrorvrienden, van zodra de video’s zijn bovengehaald komt ook het spook tot leven dat je anderhalf uur de stuipen op het lijf jaagt.

Het was tijdens de opnames van Saw 3D dat men het scenario van Ben Garant (inderdaad de sheriff uit Reno 911 en ook de schrijver van de Amerikaanse variant op Taxi) in de handen van Kevin Greutert stopte. Een goede keuze, zo blijkt, want ook al gaat Greutert zeer routineus te werk, merk je toch dat er een filmmaker achter de camera staat die de knepen van het horrorvak kent. Een minpunt (want die zijn er ook) is dat Jessabelle veel te braaf is waardoor echte horrorfans dit louter voer voor doetjes zullen vinden. Maar geloof ons, in dit genre vind je heel wat slechter.

Kijkers die tevreden zijn met een horrorprent die veilig de wegen van het genre aflegt, mogen gerust Jessabelle in de lader duwen. Het is wel allemaal net iets te routineus, maar er wordt degelijk geacteerd en ook al schrik je maar weinig, is er van verveling nooit echt sprake.

Didier BECU
29/04/2015


29/04/2015 : KEVIN GREUTERT - Jessabelle 29/04/2015 : KEVIN GREUTERT - Jessabelle 29/04/2015 : KEVIN GREUTERT - Jessabelle 29/04/2015 : KEVIN GREUTERT - Jessabelle 29/04/2015 : KEVIN GREUTERT - Jessabelle 29/04/2015 : KEVIN GREUTERT - Jessabelle 29/04/2015 : KEVIN GREUTERT - Jessabelle 29/04/2015 : KEVIN GREUTERT - Jessabelle 29/04/2015 : KEVIN GREUTERT - Jessabelle 29/04/2015 : KEVIN GREUTERT - Jessabelle 29/04/2015 : KEVIN GREUTERT - Jessabelle 29/04/2015 : KEVIN GREUTERT - Jessabelle 29/04/2015 : KEVIN GREUTERT - Jessabelle 29/04/2015 : KEVIN GREUTERT - Jessabelle 29/04/2015 : KEVIN GREUTERT - Jessabelle 29/04/2015 : KEVIN GREUTERT - Jessabelle

Music reviews

26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris
17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
18
07
Today it’s 33 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo!
16
07
Today, Blutengel released their brand-new Album 'Erlösung - The Victory of Light'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace
23
07
NORMA LOY
STRANGE SUMMER' (BAPHOMET)
22
07
ALLES
My