tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

13/02/2015 : KEVIN SMITH - Tusk

KEVIN SMITH

Tusk

Movie
Horror

[73/100]   

SONY SPHE
13/02/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The strangest film of the moment is undoubtedly Tusk by Kevin Smith. You know him, as he is the director who broke all records with the dirt-cheap Clerks and afterwards released tons of movies through an independent way. Most of his works were released straight on DVD or made available through his own website, but this insane horror film is released on Sony. The subject? Well, a serial killer who converts his victim in a walrus. No, you have read it correctly: a walrus !

It happens to the American Wallace Bryton (Justin Long) who travels to the far Manitoba to make a documentary about The Kill Bill Kid (a guy who imitates Uma Thurman but incidentally chops his leg off). When Wallace arrives, The Kill Bill Kid is already six feet under, but his trip is not useless as he meets Howard Howe (a genius Michael Parks, who you probalby know of the real Kill Bill movies!). This strange guy claims that he was Ernest Hemingway’s best friend during World War II. Idle talk to keep Wallace in his house, because Howard want to make him his 24th victim. In no time the man becomes a walrus!

In all fairness, we do not think we would be able to come up with such nonsense ourselves, but Kevin Smith has made his best film in years. The core of the story may seem a little too much like the one of Misery with the psychopathic Kathy Bates, but thanks to the irresistible humour and the hysterical performances (even Johnny Depp as French detective is doing fine this time!), Tusk is a brilliant piece of cult cinema!

Tusk is now on DVD via Sony.

Didier BECU
13/02/2015


NL

De vreemdste film van het moment is ongetwijfeld Tusk van Kevin Smith. Je kent hem wel, de regisseur die alle records met het spotgoedkope Clerks brak en nadien massa’s films in eigen beheer uitbracht. De meeste van zijn werken verschenen regelrecht op dvd of zijn via zijn eigen website aan de man gebracht, maar deze krankzinnige horrorfilm is door Sony uitgebracht. Het onderwerp? Een seriemoordenaar die zijn slachtoffers ombouwt tot walrussen. Neen, je hebt het goed gelezen: walrussen!

Het overkomt de Amerikaan Wallace Bryton (Justin Long) die naar het verre Manitoba afreist om er een reportage te maken over The Kill Bill Kid (een kerel die Uma Thurman imiteerde, maar daarbij per ongeluk zijn eigen been amputeerde). Bij zijn aankomst is The Kill Bill Kid al lang overleden, maar zijn reis is niet voor niets geweest omdat hij de stokoude Howard Howe (een geniale Michael Parks, die je natuurlijk kent uit de Kill Bill-films!) ontmoet. Deze vreemde snuiter beweert dat hij het beste maatje was van Ernest Hemingway tijdens de Tweede Wereldoorlog. Allemaal praatjes om Wallace in zijn woning vast te houden, want Howard heeft het plan om van Wallace zijn 24e slachtoffer te maken.

Eerlijkheidshalve denken we niet dat we in staat zijn om zelf zo’n onzin te bedenken, maar Kevin Smith heeft wel zijn beste film sinds jaren gemaakt. De kern van het verhaal lijkt misschien net iets te veel op dat van Misery met de psychopathische Kathy Bates, maar dankzij de onweerstaanbare humor en de hysterische vertolkingen (zelfs Johnny Depp doet het als Franse detective deze keer prima!), is Tusk een schitterende stukje cinema dat je misschien kan onderbrengen in de pis- en kakhumorsectie, maar werken doet het wel!

Tusk is nu uit op dvd via Sony.

Didier BECU
13/02/2015


13/02/2015 : KEVIN SMITH - Tusk 13/02/2015 : KEVIN SMITH - Tusk 13/02/2015 : KEVIN SMITH - Tusk 13/02/2015 : KEVIN SMITH - Tusk 13/02/2015 : KEVIN SMITH - Tusk 13/02/2015 : KEVIN SMITH - Tusk 13/02/2015 : KEVIN SMITH - Tusk 13/02/2015 : KEVIN SMITH - Tusk 13/02/2015 : KEVIN SMITH - Tusk 13/02/2015 : KEVIN SMITH - Tusk 13/02/2015 : KEVIN SMITH - Tusk 13/02/2015 : KEVIN SMITH - Tusk 13/02/2015 : KEVIN SMITH - Tusk 13/02/2015 : KEVIN SMITH - Tusk 13/02/2015 : KEVIN SMITH - Tusk 13/02/2015 : KEVIN SMITH - Tusk

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall