tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

21/10/2015 : KILLING JOKE - Pylon

KILLING JOKE

Pylon

MusicCD
Post PunkPost-Metal

[85/100]   

Spinefarm Records
21/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Over the years, Killing Joke has been one of my favorite bands. Thanks to the vocals, the cutting guitar, the dark bass and synths, and of course the energetic drums, they are a band you must also have seen on stage.

They originated in 1978, were described as post-punk and a year later they released their first album. Over the years they added some pop and metal elements to their sound. If a cat has nine lives, then front man Jaz Coleman undoubtedly has them too. With Geordie, Youth, Ferguson and in Raven (who died in 2008), they became immortal as one of the finest bands ever.

You can divide the work of Killing Joke into four main chapters. The first part, with the fantastic Killing Joke, was pure post-punk. The second, a more commercial period, with the album Nighttime as a highlight. Then some Eastern influences (we recommend the brilliant Pandemonium album). Finally, there is the period after the death of bassist Raven, with albums such as Absolute Dissent in which all the previous elements melted into one sound.

Since the second album from 2003, on which Dave Grohl played some drum parts, they found their second life. Pylon fits perfectly in that list, albeit Absolute Dissent was more melodic and MMXII slightly heavier.

Pylon has a connection with albums such as Pandemonium and Absolute Dissent: some songs contain heavy riffs with oriental sounding synths, likeDawn Of The Hive and New Cold War. But the focus on the melody is always present, something we missed on Hosannas From the Basements of Hell. Other tracks, such as the opening song Autonomous Zone and the single Euphoria, contain some poppy elements and catchy choruses.

Euphoria is a fine song, but not the best choice as a single, because it’s a bit too predictable. Autonomous Zone is much better. New Jerusalem sounds fresh, groovy and vital, and it’s a strong song with interesting drum parts. The same applies to I Am The Virus, with a very recognizable chorus. Big Buzz sounds a bit too light and it is not their strongest composition ever. Delete contains a brilliant riff that can put you under a spell during gigs.

Coleman's lyrics are once again about the world problems, oppression, evil and terror. Pylon is a good album that will please many fans. When you buy the deluxe version, you also get five new bonus tracks: Apotheosis, Plague, Star Spangled, Panopticon and Snake Dance (Youth 'Rattlesnake Dub Remix).

Wim GUILLEMYN
21/10/2015


NL

Killing Joke is doorheen de jaren één van mijn favoriete bands gebleven. Dankzij de bezwerende zang, de snijdende gitaar, de donkere bas, de duistere synths en de stuwende drums, is het bovendien een band dat je ook live moet hebben gezien.

Ze ontstonden in 1978, werden omschreven als postpunk en een jaartje later brachten ze hun eerste album uit. In de loop der jaren voegden ze wat pop en metal elementen aan hun geluid toe. Als een kat negen levens heeft, dan heeft frontman Jaz Coleman die ongetwijfeld ook. Met Geordie, Youth, Ferguson en de in 2008 overleden Raven vormen ze sinds mensenheugenis deze band.

Het werk van Killing Joke kunnen we in vier grote hoofdstukken verdelen. Het eerste deel, met het fantastische Killing Joke, dat pure postpunk was. De tweede, de meer commerciële periode, met het album Night Time als hoogtepunt. Daarna de meer zwaardere kant met tevens wat oosterse invloeden (met het schitterende Pandemonium album als absolute aanrader). Daarna is er de periode na de dood van bassist Raven, met albums zoals Absolute Dissent, dat alle vorige elementen tot één (ander) geluid samenbracht.

Sinds het tweede album uit 2003, waarop Dave Grohl grotendeels de drumpartijen inspeelde, hebben ze hun tweede adem gevonden. Pylon past volledig in het rijtje van de laatste releases. Absolute Dissent was iets melodischer en MMXII iets zwaarder. 

Pylon geeft aansluiting met albums als Pandemonium en Absolute Dissent: een deel van de songs bevat heavy riffs met oriëntaal klinkende synths zoals in Dawn Of The Hive en New Cold War. Maar de aandacht voor melodie blijft steeds aanwezig, iets wat we op bijv. Hosannas From the Basements of Hell hebben gemist. Enkele andere nummers, zoals de openingssong Autonome Zone en de single Euphoria, bevatten meer poppy gerichte elementen en catchy refreinen. Euphoria is een fijne song, maar geen dijk van een single, want net iets te voorspelbaar. Autonome Zone is stukken beter. New Jerusalem klinkt fris, groovy en vitaal. Een sterke song met interessante drumpartijen. Hetzelfde geldt voor I Am The Virus, met een heel herkenbaar refrein. Big Buzz klinkt wat te licht in vergelijking met de andere nummers en is niet meteen één van hun sterkste compositie. Delete bevat een geniale riff die voor bezwering kan zorgen tijdens de optredens...

Colemans teksten gaan opnieuw over wereldproblemen, onderdrukking, onheil en terreur. Pylon is een goed en evenwichtig album dat veel liefhebbers zal plezieren. Als je de deluxe versie koopt, krijg je er ook nog vijf nieuwe bonustracks bij: Apotheose, Plague, Star Spangled, Panopticon and Snakedance (Youth 'Rattlesnake Dub Remix).

Wim GUILLEMYN
21/10/2015


21/10/2015 : KILLING JOKE - Pylon 21/10/2015 : KILLING JOKE - Pylon 21/10/2015 : KILLING JOKE - Pylon

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret
08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo
07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party