tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

22/10/2012 : KNOWN REBEL - Hollow

KNOWN REBEL

Hollow

MusicCD
AmbientIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)

[85/100]   

Tympanik Audio
22/10/2012, Chris KONINGS

Back to Tympanik Audio... A relatively young label, they had a few great releases by bands/projects like Acces To Arasaka, Integral, Subheim and Totakeke. You'll known which releases I'm talking about if you glance at this site occasionally. Dirk Geiger's new album was another gem and I'll keep it short, this debut of Known Rebel is also an amazing album, reaching the same level of the previous artists. They hail from Ibiza so they probably get their fair share of mixing...

Hollow is a very subdued, downtempo and sensitive album, great for background music. But there's also a whole storyline behind it, ensuring heaps of aural rewards for active listening. I love all those small detail that make this album so worthwhile, like the snapping fingers in "Mechanical Sunset" or the phat and nasty analogue synths in "Gathering Of The Argonauts". The last one also has a bit more tempo and heavier beats 'n breaks, but it's still very subtle and builds up in a very natural way. These guys obviously listened good to what AtA is doing and they have also managed to make "Hollow" into a wonderfully compelling cinematographic experience.

A long album because of no less than six remixes, the Jaime Irles remix of "Helium-3" is a very slow starter, almost boring even. But in the end it develops into a beautiful song, too bad it took about seven minutes... Mothboy's version of "Herz Aeon" is obviously one of the more faster songs here, his breaks and glitchy approach adds a bit of tempo. Still nothing to get overly excited for. There really isn't much you can do wrong with "Argonauts" and Lucidstatic adds some drama and power to it, a good one!

With the next version of "Helium-3" 2methylbulbe1ol makes a breaky dubstep inferno, no real floorkiller like Balkansky would make, but you can drool on superphat basses, spacial bleeps and mental breaks, WOW! I also like the fact that he does not abuse that wobble bass too much, it just narrows the possibilities... And the perfect ending for this album is made my AtA, mixing "Herz Aeon" into a bleak landscape filled with pitfalls, crevasses and other perilous dangers.

A few remixes are not that great so I would not rate it as high as powerhouses like "Rise", "eLekatota", "Approach" or "Elf Morgen". But nevertheless, a good album!

Tympanik Audio

Known Rebel

Chris KONINGS
22/10/2012


 

Next reviews
GREYHOUND • Prototype
PHILIPP MUNCH • Mondo Obscura
DEAD CAN DANCE • The Renaissance of Dead Can Dance - Review of the concert at Cirque Royal on 29 September
ULTRAVOX • Review of the concert at TRIX in Antwerp on 11th October 2012
MORLOCKS • The Outlaw Of Fives
A PLACE TO BURY STRANGERS • Review of the concert at Botanique in Brussels on 8th October 2012
CABARET GREY • Stirring
ORCUS NULLIFY • EP
STRANGE2 & NEV.ERA • Diario Sonoro
BEN LUKAS BOYSEN • Restive

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
EX_TENSION • Le Seuil De Tolérance
LOW VERTICAL • We Are Giants
NEBULO • Cardiac
ACCESS TO ARASAKA • Geosynchron
ANKLEBITER • Raintree
STRANGE2 & NEV.ERA • Diario Sonoro
ROBERT HOOD • Motor: Nighttime World 3
DIRK GEIGER • Elf Morgen
SUBHEIM • Approach
ACCESS TO ARASAKA • Orbitus

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace
23
07
NORMA LOY
STRANGE SUMMER' (BAPHOMET)