tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

10/12/2016 : KOKO COHEN QUINTET - Kochenquit

KOKO COHEN QUINTET

Kochenquit

MusicDigital
AbstractBreakcoreElectroElectronicsIndustrialRock

[80/100]   

Laterax Recordings
10/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

Koko Cohen has not been heard of since his album Bozophobia (2009). Now, there is new work: the EP Kochenquit with five tracks, in which Koko called on fellow musicians Esther Kirschenbaum (vocals), Arnold Kooij (guitar and keyboards), Florian von Francken (guitar and clarinet) and Dr. Graswinckle (programming, keyboards and bass guitar).

The first track of the EP is Gum. Esther Kirchenbaum sings her vocals against a backdrop of guitar strumming and humming electro. Later, dark electro sounds are added, while the track develops into a symphonic electro composition with nervous and metallic percussion and multiple vocal lines: a perfect and promising start. Beside Me gets a dark bass and crisp drums. Versatile electro sounds, loud, noisy and dark, are added with a musing Kirchenbaum on top. We frequently hear violent waves of synths, backed by dark drones, distorted and irregular, but also violent, with a peaceful guitar in between and then a fireworks of synths and drones: a cascade of bizarre and synthetic sounds.

I wish someone would clean up, Esther Kirchenbaum sings in the intro of Mouse against a humming background of electro sounds. After an attack of distorted percussion, the composition evolves into a synth pop track for the dance floor, with tin-like drums, buzzing and whistling synths. Urtica starts squeaking and scratching with a pinched woman's voice on top. What Dr. Graswinckle and Koko Cohen squeeze out of their computers, you have rarely or even never heard before: abstract electronic noise with industrial influences and yet melodic. Daring and original at the same time. Very special.

The fifth and last track on the EP is Lutser. You wonder how they do it, because tone, colour and tempo are constantly changing, while the composition always remains intact. We hear rusty and whistling synths, abrasive guitars, a whispering and reverberating Esther Kirchenbaum, dark drones and a grand finale in breakcore style. Im-press-ive.

The EP Kochenquit is like a tsunami of sound. It is amazing what the Koko Cohen Quintet achieves in only five tracks. It always sounds different and surprising, versatile, noisy and yet melodic, but most of all: original and captivating.

Tracklist:
1. Gum
2. Beside Me
3. Mouse
4. Urtica
5. Lutser

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


NL

Het is van 2009 geleden (album Bozophobia) dat Koko Cohen nog van zich liet horen. Nu is er nieuw werk: de ep Kochenquit met vijf tracks, waarvoor hij een beroep deed op collega-muzikanten Esther Kirschenbaum (zang), Arnold Kooij (gitaar en toetsen), Florian von Francken (gitaar en klarinet) en Dr Graswinckle (programmering, toetsen en basgitaar). Zelf neemt hij programmering, toetsen en achtergrondzang voor z’n rekening.

De eerste track van de ep is Gum. Esther Kirchenbaum neemt de vocalen voor haar rekening tegen een achtergrond van gitaargetokkel en zoemende elektro. Later worden donkere elektroklanken toegevoegd en ontwikkelt de track zich tot een symfonische elektrocompositie met zenuwachtig en metaalachtig slagwerk en waaierende zanglijnen: een perfecte en veelbelovende start. Een donkere bas en knisperend slagwerk leiden Beside Me in. Veelzijdig elektro, luid, lawaaierig en donker, wordt toegevoegd met een mijmerende Kirchenbaum tussendoor. Regelmatig horen we ferme uithalen van de synths, gesteund door donkere drones, distorted en haperend, maar vooral ook heftig, met een rustige gitaar tussendoor en dan opnieuw een vuurwerk van synths en drones: een waterval van bizarre en synthetische klanken.

I Wish someone would clean up, zingt Esther Kirchenbaum in de intro van Mouse tegen een zoemende achtergrond van elektro, en na een aanval van distorted slagwerk, groeit de compositie even uit tot een synthpoptrack voor de dansvloer, met blikachtig slagwerk, brommende en fluitende synths. Urtica komt piepend en krassend op gang met bovenop een afgeknepen vrouwenstem. Wat Dr Graswinckle en Koko Cohen uit hun computers tevoorschijn toveren heb je zelden of zelfs nooit eerder gehoord: abstract en elektronisch geluid met industriële toetsen, dat niettemin altijd melodisch blijft. Gedurfd en origineel tegelijk. Heel apart.

De vijfde en laatste track op de ep is Lutser. Je vraagt je af hoe ze het doen, want het geluid verandert voortdurend van toon en kleur en het tempo wisselt constant, terwijl de compositie toch altijd een geheel blijft vormen. We horen roestige en fluitende synths, schurende gitaren, een fluisterende en galmende Esther Kirchenbaum, donkere drones en een grootste finale in breakcore-stijl. In-druk-wek-kend.

De ep Kochenquit is als een tsunami van geluiden. Het is onvoorstelbaar wat de heren en dame van het Koko Cohen Quintet allemaal in niet meer dan vijf tracks stoppen. Het klinkt altijd anders en verrassend, veelzijdig, lawaaierig en toch melodisch, maar vooral: origineel en boeiend.

Tracklist:
1. Gum
2. Beside Me
3. Mouse
4. Urtica
5. Lutser

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
ONE UNIQUE SIGNAL • Hoopsnake
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
BRUNO SANFILIPPO • The Poet
NU:N • Nothing Unveils Nothing
PSYCHIC TV • Brussels, Recyclart (21/05/2016)
CULLEN OMORI • New Misery
NASH THE SLASH • Children of the Night/Dreams and Nightmares:
STEVEN BROWN • Music For Film and Theatre

 

Same genre: ABSTRACT
ALSO • Live in Celovec
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
ANNIE COHEN-SOLAL • Mark Rothko
STEFAN CHRISTOFF/POST MORTEM • Tape Crash #12

 

Same genre: BREAKCORE
RUGITUS AETERNAM • RHYTHMS FOR A DISTORTED AGE
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES
LABORATORY 5 • Awake in the dark
LABORATORY 5 • Rise ov The Machines EP
RUBY MY DEAR • Form
MONOLOG • 2 Dots Left
HIMIKO • Dethnoizzz
IGORRR • Hallelujah
WHOURKR • 4247 Snare Drums
NEEDLE FACTORY • Jubilee

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
MILDREDA • I was never really there
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair

 

Same genre: ROCK
THE HEAT INC. • EP
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace
23
07
NORMA LOY
STRANGE SUMMER' (BAPHOMET)