tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/12/2015 : KOMMANDO - Skull Snake

KOMMANDO

Skull Snake

MusicCD
Dark AmbientIndustrialPower Electronics

[60/100]   

Ant-Zen
06/12/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Skull Snake is the sixth album by Dan Courtman, a.k.a.Kommando, on which he pays attention to the various aspects of the serpent: the biblical meaning, snake skin, snake venom and the snake pit, which in European legends is connected with concepts such as horror, torture and death. The result is a dark and gloomy album on which slow kick drums and haunting loops are connected with heavy synths, distortion and voice manipulations, and for which he calls on the Swedish guest vocalist Th. Tot (a.k.a. Trepaneringsritualen) in one track (Serpent Seed).

There is little diversity on Skull Snake. Essentially, the 10 tracks are variations on the same musical themes. As a result, the album is quite homogenous, but primarily intended for those who love death industrial, power electronics and a very dark ambient. The common denominator is a combination of growling drones, electronic noise and distorted voices to create a pitch-dark industrial atmosphere. The soundscapes are interesting as not everyday compositions that we would definitely want to listen to regularly, but the added voices might be too much for non-diehards of the genre.

Tracklisting:
1 The Nhsh Truth/bearer of lies
2 Snakepit
3 Picrotoxin
4 Stimulus Pre-Mortem
5 I Wear Your Skin
6 Häutung
7 Serpent Seed, Feat. Th. Tot (a.k.a. Trepaneringsritualen)
8 Infected Wounds Grow Endless
9 Crosses
0 Cytolysis

www.ant-zen.bandcamp.com/album/skull-snake
www.ant-zen.com
www.mailorder.ant-zen.com

William LIÉNARD
06/12/2015


NL

Skull Snake is het zesde album van Dan Courtman, a.k.a. Kommando, waarop hij aandacht besteedt aan de diverse aspecten van de slang: de Bijbelse betekenis, de slangenhuid, het slangenvergif en de slangenkuil, die in Europese legendes verbonden wordt met begrippen zoals horror, marteling en dood. Het resultaat is een donker en somber album waarop trage kickdrums en indringende loops verbonden worden met heftige synths, distortion en stemmanipulaties, en waarvoor hij in 1 track (Serpent Seed) een beroep doet op de Zweedse gastvocalist Th. Tot (a.k.a. Trepaneringsritualen).

Heel divers kan je het materiaal op Skull Snake niet noemen, de 10 tracks zijn hoofdzakelijk variaties op dezelfde muzikale aanpak, waardoor het album een grote homogeniteit uitstraalt, maar hoofdzakelijk bedoeld is voor liefhebbers van death industrial, power electronics en dark ambient. De algemene deler is een combinatie van grommende drones, elektronoise en vervormd stemgeluid waarmee een pikdonkere industriële sfeer wordt gecreëerd. De soundscapes zijn op zich interessant als niet alledaagse geluidsdecors die we zelf beslist regelmatig zouden willen horen, maar de toegevoegde stem is er voor niet-diehards wellicht net te veel aan.

William LIÉNARD
06/12/2015


 

Next reviews
WILDNORTHE • Awe
DYSTOPIAN SOCIETY • Overturned Reality
GARADH • Need A Change
QUEEN KWONG, LUSHES • Ghent, De Charlatan (05/12/2015)
THE BONES • Flash The Leather
ALESSANDRA GISMONDI (SCHONWALD) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Eclipse-Das Schwarze Denkmal
TENEK • Smoke & Mirrors
KISSING PARTY • Looking Back it was Romantic but at the Time I was Suffocating
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ghosts Of Christmas Past (Remake)

 

Other reviews from KOMMANDO
KOMMANDO • Kranial Klash

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
EMPUSAE • Iter In Tenebris
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried

 

Same genre: POWER ELECTRONICS
XOTOX • Essentials
AMBASSADOR 21 • Revelation
NOISUF-X • Kicksome (B)Ass
CRUISE (CTRL) • Let's Rock
JUNKSISTA • Trust No Bitch
CONTROL • In Harm’s Way
VARIOUS ARTISTS • 25 Years of Hands
SHE SPREAD SORROW • Rumspringa
ILLEGAL TRADE • Acid For The Royal Family
E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL • Germany (2015)

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)