tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this 7 inch review

09/12/2016 : KRANKLAND - In The Realms Of The Unreal

KRANKLAND

In The Realms Of The Unreal

Music7 inch
IndiePsychedelic

[84/100]   

Self-released
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Allow us to introduce you once again to a fantastic Belgian band: Krankland, consisting of Thomas Werbrouck (Little Trouble Kids), Christophe Claeys (Magnus, SX, Amatorski), Thomas Mortier (Yuko) and Janko Beckers (Faces on TV). The first single was produced by Pascal Deweze of Sukilove. So all musicians who have earned a place in the Belgian underground scene.

In the Realms of the Unreal features two tracks that are described by Krankland as a dark walk in the company of some fairytale creatures. Hurry Man actually begins like a fairy tale, modern psychedelia with sometimes a acabre touch. Compare it to Radiohead or Nick Drake. You can name lots of different bands, but you finally will come up with the unique sound of Krankland.

The B-side In The Realms walks the same dark paths, and it even sounds a little more menacing. We could use all sorts of superlatives, but perhaps you do not believe them anyway.

Therefore, we suggest you simply watch the clip below. The chance that you will use the word phenomenal is immense.

The single will be presented on Record Store Day (April 16, 2016) and features the beautiful artwork of Eline Adam, who plays with Thomas in Little Trouble Kids.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Laat ons toe om je nog eens kennis te laten maken met alweer een fantastische Belgische band: Krankland. Een formatie die bestaat uit Thomas Werbrouck (Little Trouble Kids), Christophe Claeys (Magnus, Sx, Amatorski), Thomas Mortier (Yuko) en Janko Beckers (Faces on TV). De eerste single is geproduced door Pascal Deweze van Sukilove. Allemaal muzikanten die meer dan hun strepen hebben verdiend.

In the Realms Of The Unreal, waarop twee tracks staan, wordt door Krankland als een donkere wandeling beschreven, en dat in het gezelschap van sprookjesachtige creaturen.

Hurry Man begint inderdaad als een sprookje, moderne psychedelica met een soms macaber kantje. Vergelijk het met Radiohead of zelfs Nick Drake. Je kan er alle kanten mee op, om uiteindelijk toch bij het unieke geluid van Krankland terecht te komen. Het B-kantje In The Realms bewandelt diezelfde donkere paden en klinkt zelfs nog iets dreigender.

We zouden allerlei superlatieven kunnen gebruiken, maar wellicht geloof je ze toch niet. Daarom stellen we je gewoon voor om het clipje onderaan te bekijken. De kans dat je het woord fenomenaal zal gebruiken is immens groot.

De single wordt voorgesteld op de volgende Record Store Day (16 april 2016) en is voorzien van mooi artwork van Eline Adam die samen met Thomas bij Little Trouble Kids speelt.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
AMNISTIA • Dawn
HIGHRIDER • Armageddon Rock
PROJEKT ICH • Wolkenträne
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Vision: Libertine - The Hangman's Triad's
SINESTAR • Evolve
DENNIS YOUNG • WAVE/Electronic Music 1984-1988
SONIC AREA • Eyes In The Sky
VOGON POETRY • The Dented Stories
KEVIN MORBY • Singing Saw
TREETOP FLYERS • Palomino

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + PSYCHEDELIC
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
CULLEN OMORI • New Misery
THE DANDY WARHOLS • Distortland
SOPHIA • As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours)
PRIMAL SCREAM • Chaosmosis
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle
MASS GOTHIC • Mass Gothic
KARAWANE • Karawane
DOUBLE VETERANS • Space Age Voyeurism
MY BABY • Shamanaid

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour