tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this 7 inch review

09/12/2016 : KRANKLAND - In The Realms Of The Unreal

KRANKLAND

In The Realms Of The Unreal

Music7 inch
IndiePsychedelic

[84/100]   

Self-released
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Allow us to introduce you once again to a fantastic Belgian band: Krankland, consisting of Thomas Werbrouck (Little Trouble Kids), Christophe Claeys (Magnus, SX, Amatorski), Thomas Mortier (Yuko) and Janko Beckers (Faces on TV). The first single was produced by Pascal Deweze of Sukilove. So all musicians who have earned a place in the Belgian underground scene.

In the Realms of the Unreal features two tracks that are described by Krankland as a dark walk in the company of some fairytale creatures. Hurry Man actually begins like a fairy tale, modern psychedelia with sometimes a acabre touch. Compare it to Radiohead or Nick Drake. You can name lots of different bands, but you finally will come up with the unique sound of Krankland.

The B-side In The Realms walks the same dark paths, and it even sounds a little more menacing. We could use all sorts of superlatives, but perhaps you do not believe them anyway.

Therefore, we suggest you simply watch the clip below. The chance that you will use the word phenomenal is immense.

The single will be presented on Record Store Day (April 16, 2016) and features the beautiful artwork of Eline Adam, who plays with Thomas in Little Trouble Kids.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Laat ons toe om je nog eens kennis te laten maken met alweer een fantastische Belgische band: Krankland. Een formatie die bestaat uit Thomas Werbrouck (Little Trouble Kids), Christophe Claeys (Magnus, Sx, Amatorski), Thomas Mortier (Yuko) en Janko Beckers (Faces on TV). De eerste single is geproduced door Pascal Deweze van Sukilove. Allemaal muzikanten die meer dan hun strepen hebben verdiend.

In the Realms Of The Unreal, waarop twee tracks staan, wordt door Krankland als een donkere wandeling beschreven, en dat in het gezelschap van sprookjesachtige creaturen.

Hurry Man begint inderdaad als een sprookje, moderne psychedelica met een soms macaber kantje. Vergelijk het met Radiohead of zelfs Nick Drake. Je kan er alle kanten mee op, om uiteindelijk toch bij het unieke geluid van Krankland terecht te komen. Het B-kantje In The Realms bewandelt diezelfde donkere paden en klinkt zelfs nog iets dreigender.

We zouden allerlei superlatieven kunnen gebruiken, maar wellicht geloof je ze toch niet. Daarom stellen we je gewoon voor om het clipje onderaan te bekijken. De kans dat je het woord fenomenaal zal gebruiken is immens groot.

De single wordt voorgesteld op de volgende Record Store Day (16 april 2016) en is voorzien van mooi artwork van Eline Adam die samen met Thomas bij Little Trouble Kids speelt.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
AMNISTIA • Dawn
HIGHRIDER • Armageddon Rock
PROJEKT ICH • Wolkenträne
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Vision: Libertine - The Hangman's Triad's
SINESTAR • Evolve
DENNIS YOUNG • WAVE/Electronic Music 1984-1988
SONIC AREA • Eyes In The Sky
VOGON POETRY • The Dented Stories
KEVIN MORBY • Singing Saw
TREETOP FLYERS • Palomino

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + PSYCHEDELIC
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
CULLEN OMORI • New Misery
THE DANDY WARHOLS • Distortland
SOPHIA • As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours)
PRIMAL SCREAM • Chaosmosis
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle
MASS GOTHIC • Mass Gothic
KARAWANE • Karawane
DOUBLE VETERANS • Space Age Voyeurism
MY BABY • Shamanaid

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace
23
07
NORMA LOY
STRANGE SUMMER' (BAPHOMET)