tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / digital review

15/08/2019 : L'AVENIR - Requiem And Live

L'AVENIR

Requiem And Live

MusicCD / Digital
MinimalSynth Wave

[71/100]   

Cold Beats Records
15/08/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

L'Avenir is the cold-synth-side project of musician and sound artist Jason Sloan. In the meantime a veteran who has been producing contemplative soundscapes for almost 20 years now. He founded L'Avenir in 2012 as a side project to express himself musically while he released more than a dozen albums, by his moniker, on various labels. Requiem, his most recent work, is released on Cold Beats Records. When not touring or recording, Sloan is a professor who teaches in the Interactive Arts Department at the Maryland Institute College of Art in Baltimore, Maryland.

‘Requiem’ makes it clear from the start that going to be a chilly trip and of little cheerfulness. This is not a steeplechase, but more a stroll in the park. Minimal in terms of instruments, weaned with a sounding from the background and a nice almost goody-goody voice, reminiscent of some of synth-pop greatest vocalists. Maybe not always a guarantee for a high vocal performance, but we are not sitting in the opera, are we? We couldn’t more off, when ‘New Horizon’ starts steadily and growling. Slightly less chilly than the opening track and a little more spiced with heaps of sounds that Sloan has been collecting on for years.

Engaged in deep in the electronic music spectrum for almost two decades now, Mr Sloan can conjure some great sounds from his magic synth hat. ‘Death in The Mirror’ proves he does not refrain from going in the little red LED light when it comes down to the basses.

It was announced as cold synth wave and that’s exactly what it is. After a while, I only get the feeling it might be a little bit too much of the same here. This without being negative about the global album at all. But the sound, both musical and vocal, does not surprise in the end. Like a flashback 30 years back in time when this kind of wave managed to satisfy the dark and extravagant people. Those were beautiful times indeed and they get a true tribute on this album. ‘But yet again, After The Rain’, the final song, makes us longing for more. Partly due to its somewhat shoe-gaze / psychedelic tone, fi might fuel our hunger. A dessert is often a worthy end to dinner. Like it is here, albeit the dinner was served in a modest brasserie, decent but without being a top-chef meal.

As a bonus, there is an 8-track live footage. Recorded very pure, featuring a few songs of this Requiem, combined with some earlier work. It sounds icy cold, extremely clean but well produced.

With his project L’Avenir, Jason Sloan certainly deserves a pertinent place in this genre. Without being the best I’ve ever heard, it's still enjoyable, cold to the bone and able to get a grip on you. Maybe just give it a try!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
15/08/2019


NL

L'Avenir is het kille synth-side project van muzikant en geluidskunstenaar Jason Sloan. Intussen een veteraan die al bijna 20 jaar contemplatieve soundscapes produceert. Hij richtte L'Avenir op in 2012 als een zijproject muzikaal te uiten. Hij bracht al meer dan een dozijn albums uit op zijn eigen naam, en dit bij diverse labels. Requiem, zijn jongste worp, komt uit op Cold Beats Records. Wanneer hij niet tourt of opneemt is Sloan een professor die les geeft op de afdeling Interactive Arts aan het Maryland Institute College of Art in Baltimore, Maryland.

Dat het kil en van weinig vrolijkheid gespeend is maakt Requiem van bij het begin duidelijk. Zonder in galop te gaan, is dit een wandeltochtje. Minimaal qua instrumenten, gespeend met een vanop de achtergrond klinkende en op zich vrij braaf stemgeluid. Dat bij een eerste luisterbeurt in flarden aan enkele syntpop-grootheden doet denken. Niet steeds een garantie voor vocaal hoogstaande prestaties. Maar we zitten niet in de opera, toch? Verre van, als New Horizon zich gestaag en grommend op gang trekt. Iets minder kil dan de opener en al iets meer doorspekt met een arsenaal klanken die Sloan al jarenlang graag in het rond slingert.
Bijna twee decennia lang in de diepte bezig in het electronische spectrum, kan de heer Sloan geweldige sounds uit zijn synth-hoed toveren. En dat die diep in het rood gaan wat bassen betreft, dat bewijst Death in The Mirror.
Het was aangekondigd als kille synthwave en dat is het ook. Alleen bekruipt me het gevoel dat het iets teveel van hetzelfde is. Hiermee wil ik totaal géén afbreuk doen aan het album. Maar de sound, zowel muzikaal als vocaal, weet niet echt te verrassen. We vertoeven 30 jaar terug in de tijd. Waarin dit soort wave het donkere extravagante volk wel wist te paaien. Het waren mooie tijden die hier een waar eerbetoon krijgen. After The Rain-Final is een nummer dat mede door zijn ietwat shoegaze/psychedelische toon als uitsmijter de apetijt aanwakkert. Een dessert is veelal een waardige afsluiter van een diner. En dat is het ook hier, zij het dat het diner werd genuttigd in de betere brasserie, zonder van immens hoog niveau te zijn.

Als bonus is er een 8 nummers tellende live-footage. Heel zuiver opgenomen, krijgen we een lezing van een paar songs op Requiem, gecombineerd met eerder werk. Het klinkt ijzig koud, uitermate clean en geweldig gemaakt.

Jason Sloan mag met zijn project L’Avenir in het genre zeker een pertinente plaats krijgen Zonder het beste te zijn dat ik al hoorde is het genietbaar, kil tot op het bot en met momenten weet het je te pakken. Give it a try….

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
15/08/2019


15/08/2019 : L'AVENIR - Requiem And Live 15/08/2019 : L'AVENIR - Requiem And Live

Music reviews

06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny
19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!
03
05
On this day, 16 years ago Nine Inch Nails released [WITH_TEETH]!
02
05
32 years of Disintegration!
02
05
43 years 'United'! TG's debut single!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party
05
05
SEVERE ILLUSION
Contribution
04
05
KIM WILDE
Cambodia
03
05
SYD 31
Bulldoze Everything
02
05
THE CURE
10:15 Saturday Night
01
05
BOYTRONIC
Time After Midnight