tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / digital review

15/08/2019 : L'AVENIR - Requiem And Live

L'AVENIR

Requiem And Live

MusicCD / Digital
MinimalSynth Wave

[71/100]   

Cold Beats Records
15/08/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

L'Avenir is the cold-synth-side project of musician and sound artist Jason Sloan. In the meantime a veteran who has been producing contemplative soundscapes for almost 20 years now. He founded L'Avenir in 2012 as a side project to express himself musically while he released more than a dozen albums, by his moniker, on various labels. Requiem, his most recent work, is released on Cold Beats Records. When not touring or recording, Sloan is a professor who teaches in the Interactive Arts Department at the Maryland Institute College of Art in Baltimore, Maryland.

‘Requiem’ makes it clear from the start that going to be a chilly trip and of little cheerfulness. This is not a steeplechase, but more a stroll in the park. Minimal in terms of instruments, weaned with a sounding from the background and a nice almost goody-goody voice, reminiscent of some of synth-pop greatest vocalists. Maybe not always a guarantee for a high vocal performance, but we are not sitting in the opera, are we? We couldn’t more off, when ‘New Horizon’ starts steadily and growling. Slightly less chilly than the opening track and a little more spiced with heaps of sounds that Sloan has been collecting on for years.

Engaged in deep in the electronic music spectrum for almost two decades now, Mr Sloan can conjure some great sounds from his magic synth hat. ‘Death in The Mirror’ proves he does not refrain from going in the little red LED light when it comes down to the basses.

It was announced as cold synth wave and that’s exactly what it is. After a while, I only get the feeling it might be a little bit too much of the same here. This without being negative about the global album at all. But the sound, both musical and vocal, does not surprise in the end. Like a flashback 30 years back in time when this kind of wave managed to satisfy the dark and extravagant people. Those were beautiful times indeed and they get a true tribute on this album. ‘But yet again, After The Rain’, the final song, makes us longing for more. Partly due to its somewhat shoe-gaze / psychedelic tone, fi might fuel our hunger. A dessert is often a worthy end to dinner. Like it is here, albeit the dinner was served in a modest brasserie, decent but without being a top-chef meal.

As a bonus, there is an 8-track live footage. Recorded very pure, featuring a few songs of this Requiem, combined with some earlier work. It sounds icy cold, extremely clean but well produced.

With his project L’Avenir, Jason Sloan certainly deserves a pertinent place in this genre. Without being the best I’ve ever heard, it's still enjoyable, cold to the bone and able to get a grip on you. Maybe just give it a try!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
15/08/2019


NL

L'Avenir is het kille synth-side project van muzikant en geluidskunstenaar Jason Sloan. Intussen een veteraan die al bijna 20 jaar contemplatieve soundscapes produceert. Hij richtte L'Avenir op in 2012 als een zijproject muzikaal te uiten. Hij bracht al meer dan een dozijn albums uit op zijn eigen naam, en dit bij diverse labels. Requiem, zijn jongste worp, komt uit op Cold Beats Records. Wanneer hij niet tourt of opneemt is Sloan een professor die les geeft op de afdeling Interactive Arts aan het Maryland Institute College of Art in Baltimore, Maryland.

Dat het kil en van weinig vrolijkheid gespeend is maakt Requiem van bij het begin duidelijk. Zonder in galop te gaan, is dit een wandeltochtje. Minimaal qua instrumenten, gespeend met een vanop de achtergrond klinkende en op zich vrij braaf stemgeluid. Dat bij een eerste luisterbeurt in flarden aan enkele syntpop-grootheden doet denken. Niet steeds een garantie voor vocaal hoogstaande prestaties. Maar we zitten niet in de opera, toch? Verre van, als New Horizon zich gestaag en grommend op gang trekt. Iets minder kil dan de opener en al iets meer doorspekt met een arsenaal klanken die Sloan al jarenlang graag in het rond slingert.
Bijna twee decennia lang in de diepte bezig in het electronische spectrum, kan de heer Sloan geweldige sounds uit zijn synth-hoed toveren. En dat die diep in het rood gaan wat bassen betreft, dat bewijst Death in The Mirror.
Het was aangekondigd als kille synthwave en dat is het ook. Alleen bekruipt me het gevoel dat het iets teveel van hetzelfde is. Hiermee wil ik totaal géén afbreuk doen aan het album. Maar de sound, zowel muzikaal als vocaal, weet niet echt te verrassen. We vertoeven 30 jaar terug in de tijd. Waarin dit soort wave het donkere extravagante volk wel wist te paaien. Het waren mooie tijden die hier een waar eerbetoon krijgen. After The Rain-Final is een nummer dat mede door zijn ietwat shoegaze/psychedelische toon als uitsmijter de apetijt aanwakkert. Een dessert is veelal een waardige afsluiter van een diner. En dat is het ook hier, zij het dat het diner werd genuttigd in de betere brasserie, zonder van immens hoog niveau te zijn.

Als bonus is er een 8 nummers tellende live-footage. Heel zuiver opgenomen, krijgen we een lezing van een paar songs op Requiem, gecombineerd met eerder werk. Het klinkt ijzig koud, uitermate clean en geweldig gemaakt.

Jason Sloan mag met zijn project L’Avenir in het genre zeker een pertinente plaats krijgen Zonder het beste te zijn dat ik al hoorde is het genietbaar, kil tot op het bot en met momenten weet het je te pakken. Give it a try….

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
15/08/2019


15/08/2019 : L'AVENIR - Requiem And Live 15/08/2019 : L'AVENIR - Requiem And Live

 

Next reviews
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
AUGER • From Now On I
XTORT • Nothing is real
LORD OF THE LOST • 'Till death do us part
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
1LUM3 • Antinomia
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA • Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + SYNTH WAVE
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
RINGFINGER • Pressure
ENZO KREFT • Control
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)