tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

09/12/2016 : LA MUERTE - Murder Machine

LA MUERTE

Murder Machine

MusicVinyl
NoiseRock

[90/100]   

Mottow Soundz
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

We are the Dark Side of Your Soul, says the band and who ever saw La Muerte live, can only agree. Since 2015, with a renewed lineup, the 30th anniversary was celebrated with a series of concerts, and you could feel the vibe and the renewed interest.

The concert was not a jukebox or some cash profit, but it showed that La Muerte still sounds relevant and that the new lineup, led by Marc Du Marais and Dee-J, stands like a rock. La Muerte is devilish. What was not planned previously, has become truth: there is new material by La Muerte.

Just as in the good old days, the band released an EP with three tracks. In January, the band went into the studio and on Record Store Day this EP became available. It opens with Wacked This Guy, a short energy bomb with all the ingredients of a solid song in the good old La Muerte tradition: uptempo, Marc’s frenzy, pointed and sharp guitars, bone drums and solid bass.

Je Suis Le Destructeur is more dirty and sounds like pure rock n 'roll on kerosene. This song is even better than the opener. Get Whipped is the last and longest song: it is slowly with a heavy, lumbering pace. A sinister serenade by Du Marais as he is the devil himself who makes his speech at the pulpit.

The EP is a must-have for La Muerte fans or for those who love guitar violence with a dark touch. A confirmation of what we saw on stage. Available in clear or bloodbath vinyl with a download code.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

“We are the Dark Side of Your Soul”, afficheert deze band en wie hem ooit live aan het werk zag, kan dit alleen maar beamen. Sinds in 2015, met een hernieuwde line-up, het 30-jarig bestaan werd gevierd met een reeks concerten, voelden we de vibe en de hernieuwde belangstelling voor de band. De concertreeks was geen jukebox of kassagewin, maar toonde aan dat La Muerte wel degelijk nog relevant klinkt en dat de nieuwe bezetting onder leiding van oerleden Marc Du Marais en Dee-J stevig in de schoenen staat. La Muerte is duivels, donker en het slaat en zalft (vooral slaan).

Wat vooraf niet de intentie was, is nu toch waarheid geworden: er is nieuw materiaal van La Muerte. Zoals in de traditie van de good old days in ep-vorm met drie tracks. In januari ging de band de studio in en op Record Store Day werd de ep uitgebracht.

De ep opent met Wacked This Guy, een korte energiebom met alle ingrediënten van een stevige song in de goede oude La Muerte-traditie: uptempo, de razernij van Marc, puntig en scherp gitaarwerk, bot drumwerk en een stevige bas. Je Suis Le Destructeur is nog iets vuiler en klinkt als pure rock n’ roll op kerosine. Deze song is nog beter dan de opener en live rockt hij als de beesten. Get Whipped is de laatste en de langste song: hij wordt langzaam op gang getrokken en walst met een zware logge tred over alles heen. Heerlijk gitaarwerk, droog drumwerk en de onheilspellende serenade van Du Marais als ware het de duivel zelf die op de kansel zijn redevoering afsteekt.

De ep is een must-have voor de liefhebbers van La Muerte of van gitzwart gitaargeweld. Een bevestiging van wat we al zeiden: La Muerte leeft en verkeert in goeden doen. Verkrijgbaar op clear of blood bath vinyl met downloadcode. Je zou hem al in huis moeten hebben en om de vibe te voelen is het bijwonen van een concert essentieel.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
MANIC STREET PREACHERS • Brussels, AB (01/05/2016)
GLACIS • Love, If You Love Me, Lie Beside Me Now
RED SLEEPING BEAUTY • Red Sleeping Beauty
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights
THE ARCH • Brussels, The Backpacker Bar (29/04/2016)
LORD OF THE LOST • The Love Of God
DPERD • V
LUH • Spiritual Songs For Lovers To Sing
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Bönen Germany, Festival (23/04/2016)
SECRET SIGHT • Day, Night, Life

 

Other reviews from LA MUERTE
LA MUERTE • EViL (live at the AB)

 

Same combination of genres: NOISE + ROCK
NEGATIVE SPACE • Negative Space
MEMBRANE • Reflect Your Pain
MARC BROUDE • Psychological Warfare
THE YOUNG GODS • Everybody Knows

 

Same genre: NOISE
THE HEAT INC. • EP
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence

 

Same genre: ROCK
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)