tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

18/03/2015 : LAMB - Backspace Unwind

LAMB

Backspace Unwind

MusicCD
Drum n bassDubstepElectro Pop

[86/100]   

Butler Records
18/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Nearly four years after their previous album (at least if you do count their live album), Lamb is back with new material. A band that always has been a bit weirder than the rest, nonetheless very popular. Just think of their hits Gabriel and Gorecki, with the outstanding voice of Lou Rhodes. The pair seems to be back in good form, and this after a quiet period between 2004 and 2011.

On their previous album (5) they had an electronica sound , but here they rather use organic sounds like piano and (synth) strings. There are also some influences of dubstep and drum 'n bass. Captivating sounds and rhythms, while Lou Rhodes sounds more mainstream than before, but still has that warm and intense voice.

There are no bad songs on this album. Outstanding are In Binary, Shines Like This, What Makes Us Human, Doves & Ravens and Only Our Skin. But yeah, I actually could enumerate them all. It will be hard to make a short end year’s list in December.

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/03/2015


NL

Bijna 4 jaar na hun vorige album (ten minste als je de live cd niet meerekent), is Lamb terug met nieuw materiaal. Een band die toch altijd al wel een beetje een vreemde eend in de bijt is geweest, desalniettemin erg populair. Denk maar aan hun hit Gabriel en Gorecki, met de doordringende stem van Lou Rhodes. Het duo lijkt opnieuw goed op dreef te zijn, en dit na een stille periode tussen 2004 en 2011.

Op hun vorige album (5 ) klonken ze vooral electronisch, maar op hun nieuwste gebruiken ze eerder organische geluiden zoals piano en (synth)strijkers. Voorts zijn er ook wat invloeden van dubstep en drum ’n bass te horen. Boeiende geluiden en ritmes, terwijl Lou Rhodes wat meer mainstream klinkt dan vroeger, maar de warme en intense stem blijft.

Hier staan geen slechte nummers op. Geslaagd zijn: In Binary, Shines Like This, What Makes Us Human, Doves & Ravens en Only Our Skin. Maar tja, eigenlijk zou ik ze ook gewoon allemaal kunnen opnoemen.

Opnieuw klasse. Het zal moeilijk worden om een kort eindejaarslijstje te maken dit jaar.

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/03/2015


Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
WE HAVE BAND
Watertight
17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn