tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

23/03/2015 : LASSE HALLSTROM - The Hundred-Foot Journey

LASSE HALLSTROM

The Hundred-Foot Journey

Movie
Comedy

[45/100]   

E1
23/03/2015, Didier BECU

EN

In the 80’s critics praised the movies of Swedish director Lasse Hallström. Titles such as My Life As A Dog or What's Eating Gilbert Grape? were indeed examples of splendid cinema, but in the last few decades, a lot has changed. It all started fifteen years ago when Hallström discovered both the taste of chocolate and the talent of Juliette Binoche. The film Chocolat was a huge success, and the starting point for the most horrible genre ever: the feel-good movie. It was kind of written in the stars that Hallström would become the king of this genre, with as result some terrible films, just try to watch Salmon Fishing In The Yemen without falling asleep and we will send you a lollipop! With his latest film, Hallström seems to have recharged his batteries. Not that he will ever return to the earlier days, but at least The Hundred-Foot Journey looks as delicious as Chocolat.

If you know that the producers of the film, based on the famous book by Richard C. Morais, are Steven Spielberg and Oprah Winfrey, then you also know that you will be overwhelmed with a large portion of mellowness. The chocolate is replaced by dishes from the Indian cuisine and is offered by Hassan (Manish Dayal), who together with his family (his mother is dead travels around Europe to sell his cooking talent. You don’t have to watch a film by Lasse Hallström to know that cooking in England is a mirage, and so the Indians head to France. In the southern French village of Saint Antonin to be exactly, where Madame Mallory (Helen Mirren) runs her restaurant Le Saule Pleureur. At only 30 meters away from her place (that is the hundred foot!), Hassan and his entourage open an Indian restaurant. This restaurant is for Mallory an eyesore, as she fears that she will lose her clientele.

Well, you actually don’t have to see the movie to know how it will end: a lot of delicious food on the screen and of course a love story, because Hassan falls in love with Marguerite (Charlotte Le Bon) and you can guess in which restaurant she works! All a bit predictable, but just like the best cook, Hallström manages to hide his trodden clichés in an attractive manner.

The Hundred-Foot Journey is released on E One, on both DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
23/03/2015


NL

In de jaren 80 gaven critici nog een karrenvracht sterren aan films van de Zweedse regisseur Lasse Hallström. Titels als My Life As A Dog of What’s Eating Gilbert Grape? waren inderdaad voorbeelden van prachtcinema, maar de laatste decennia is er veel veranderd. Het begon allemaal vijftien jaar geleden toen Hallström zowel de smaak van chocolade als het talent van Juliette Binoche ontdekte. De film Chocolat werd (verdiend) een gigantisch succes, maar daarmee werd ook het startsignaal gegeven voor het meest vreselijke genre dat ooit op het witte doek werd geprojecteerd: de feelgoodfilm. Het stond dan ook in de sterren geschreven dat Hallström zowat de koning van het genre zou worden met verschrikkelijke films als gevolg, zo moet je maar eens proberen om Salmon Fishing In The Yemen uit te kijken! in zijn nieuwste film lijkt Hallström zich wat te herbronnen. Neen, het is geen terugkeer naar zijn vroegere dagen, wel ligt The Hundred-Foot Journey in de lijn van Chocolat, of hoe een film er op zijn minst toch lekker uitziet!

Als je weet dat de producenten van de verfilming van Richard C. Morais’ boek zowel Steven Spielberg als de gevreesde Oprah Winfrey zijn, dan weet je ook dat je zal worden overdonderd met een grote portie zeemzoeterigheid. De chocolade wordt door de Indische keuken vervangen en wordt ons aangeboden door Hassan (Manish Dayal), die samen met zijn familie (zijn moeder kwam om) Europa rondreist om zijn kookkunsten aan de man te brengen. Je moet geen film van Lasse Hallström hebben gezien om te weten dat men in Engeland niet kan koken, en bijna automatisch belanden de Indiërs in Frankrijk. En dan nog wel in het Zuid-Franse dorpje Saint Antonin, waar Madame Mallory (Helen Mirren) haar restaurant Le Saule Pleureur uitbaat. Op amper 30 meter van dit eethuis wil Hassan en zijn gevolg een Indisch restaurant openen. De nieuwe keet is een doorn in het oog van Mallory, die vreest dat ze daardoor het cliënteel van haar Michelin-restaurant zal verliezen.

Tja, je moet eigenlijk de film niet gezien hebben om te weten hoe het allemaal zal aflopen. Er komt een heleboel heerlijk eten aan te pas en natuurlijk mogen we de factor liefde niet vergeten, want Hassan wordt verliefd op Marguerite (Charlotte le Bon) en tja, je mag drie keer raden in welk restaurant dat meisje werkt! Allemaal voorspelbaar, maar net als de beste kok (tja!) slaagt Hallström erin om zijn platgetreden clichés op een aantrekkelijke manier te verkopen.

The Hundred-Foot Journey is uitgebracht op E One, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
23/03/2015


23/03/2015 : LASSE HALLSTROM - The Hundred-Foot Journey 23/03/2015 : LASSE HALLSTROM - The Hundred-Foot Journey 23/03/2015 : LASSE HALLSTROM - The Hundred-Foot Journey 23/03/2015 : LASSE HALLSTROM - The Hundred-Foot Journey 23/03/2015 : LASSE HALLSTROM - The Hundred-Foot Journey 23/03/2015 : LASSE HALLSTROM - The Hundred-Foot Journey 23/03/2015 : LASSE HALLSTROM - The Hundred-Foot Journey 23/03/2015 : LASSE HALLSTROM - The Hundred-Foot Journey 23/03/2015 : LASSE HALLSTROM - The Hundred-Foot Journey 23/03/2015 : LASSE HALLSTROM - The Hundred-Foot Journey 23/03/2015 : LASSE HALLSTROM - The Hundred-Foot Journey 23/03/2015 : LASSE HALLSTROM - The Hundred-Foot Journey 23/03/2015 : LASSE HALLSTROM - The Hundred-Foot Journey 23/03/2015 : LASSE HALLSTROM - The Hundred-Foot Journey 23/03/2015 : LASSE HALLSTROM - The Hundred-Foot Journey 23/03/2015 : LASSE HALLSTROM - The Hundred-Foot Journey

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret