tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cult movies review

23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart

LUKAS MOODYSSON

A Hole In My Heart

MovieCult movies
ArthouseExperimental

[74/100]   

Filmfreaks
23/12/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Maybe Lukas Moodysson went just a little too far for the average reader with his fourth film A Hole In My Heart. With titles like Fucking Amal, Tillsammans or the highly underrated Lilja 4-ever, the Swede was a real prodigy, but since he released A Hole In My Heart, there is hardly anyone around who speaks about him. Shame, because A Hole In My Heart is probably his most controversial and most difficult, but certainly his best one too.

The film was shot in secret with a minimal budget and a film crew consisting of six people. The half hour film is set in a tiny little flat, which creates a nearly untenable claustrophobic feeling. Rickard (Thorsten Flinck) and Geko (Goran Marjanovic) are two idlers who wants to make a porn movie with the riotous Tess (Sanna Brading). While the trio indulges its lust, s the unworldly son Eric (Björn Almroth) is sitting in the room next to them.

This contemporary arthouse drama was heavily criticized because of the very explicit pornographic images, but anyone who does that has not understood the purpose. Moodysson did not want to create something beautiful, the realistic images have a high Big Brother-content and are perhaps shocking, but at the same time the movie is also an indictment to nihilism that is typical for today’s society. The dialogues make no sense, just because the characters have nothing to say, even if they are the kind of people who are ruling our world. When one of the adult males vomits in the girl's mouth, you know Moodysson feels no affection for the protagonists. The style of this film is very unusual and is reminiscent to the current works of Godard: a collage of brief images that are constantly interrupted, with industrial noise sounds dded.

A Hole In My Heart is not exactly the movie to put on when your mother-in-law comes to teat (we know, but we simply could not find a better cliché!), that is however no reason not to watch it. In the Benelux the film is out on Filmfreaks, on DVD only.

Didier BECU
23/12/2014


NL

Misschien ging Lukas Moodysson met zijn vierde film A Hole In My Heart voor de doorsnee filmkijker net iets te ver. Met titels als Fucking Åmål, Tillsammans of het sterk onderschatte Lilja 4-ever was de Zweed een wonderkind, maar sinds het draaien van A Hole In My Heart is er nauwelijks nog iemand die over hem spreekt. Ten onrechte, want A Hole In My Heart is misschien wel zijn meest controversiële en moeilijkste, zeker ook zijn beste.

De film is in het geheim opgenomen en dat met een minimaal budget en een filmploeg die uit welgeteld zes mensen bestaat. De anderhalf uur durende productie speelt zich in een piepklein flatje af waardoor er een bijna onhoudbaar claustrofobisch gevoel ontstaat. Rickard (Thorsten Flinck) en Geko (Goran Marjanovic) zijn twee nietsnutten die met de losbandige Tess (Sanna Bråding) een pornofilm willen draaien. Terwijl het trio z'n lusten botviert, zit in het kamertje ernaast de wereldvreemde zoon Eric (Björn Almroth).

Dit eigentijdse arthousedrama werd zwaar bekritiseerd door de zeer expliciete pornografische beelden, maar wie dat doet heeft er natuurlijk alweer niets van begrepen. Moodysson wilde helemaal geen mooie cinema maken, de realistische beeldfragmenten (die een hoog Big Brother-gehalte hebben) choqueren misschien wel, maar zijn tegelijkertijd ook een aanklacht tegen het nihilisme waarvan onze huidige maatschappij meer en meer het slachtoffer is. De dialogen slaan op niets, gewoon omdat de personages niets te zeggen hebben, maar het zijn wel het soort mensen dat tegenwoordig de plak zwaait. Als één van de volwassen mannen in de mond van het meisje braakt, weet je dat Moodysson maar weinig affectie voelt voor de door hem opgevoerde protagonisten. Ook de stijl van deze film is zeer apart en doet denken aan de huidige werken van Godard: een collage van korte beelden die om de haverklap worden onderbroken door industriële noisegeluiden.

A Hole In My Heart is niet meteen de film die je bekijkt als je schoonmoeder op theevisite komt (we weten het, maar we konden nu eenmaal geen beter cliché vinden!), dat is evenwel geen reden om hem niet te bekijken. In de Benelux is deze film uit op Filmfreaks, alleen op dvd.

Didier BECU
23/12/2014


23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart 23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart 23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart 23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart 23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart 23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart 23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart 23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart 23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart 23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart 23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart 23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart 23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart 23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart 23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart 23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace